We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service, Great Location, Affordable”
Review of Sonnetta Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonnetta Residency
Ranked #19 of 442 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Quadra Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly Service, Great Location, Affordable”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed with the friendly and helpful folks at Sonnetta Residency for 5 nights. The room had two double beds with thick, comfortable mattresses and a spotless bathroom with a great shower. They assisted us in finding bicycles to rent and provided secure indoor storage for them. We had good Indian breakfast and "western" breakfast was also available. The room was quiet even though Sonnetta is located in the heart of the restaurant and shop district of Fort Cochin. The overhead fan worked well and cooled the room sufficiently that we didn't require any A/C. As a result our room rate was only 1000 rupees/night. (1300 with A/C).

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't on the street side for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    85
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
41
94
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I concur with other reviewers that this is a great place to stay.
The facilities, cleanliness and extra mile service you get here is outstanding.
HOWEVER, I booked my room through Agoda - and when I presented my voucher the owner said he wasn't prepared to honour it, because apparently Agoda don't pass on enough of the tariff to them.
The proprietor initially said I should contact Agoda and tell them that I cannot use my pre-paid voucher here, or would have to pay an additional cash amount to "make up the difference".
After a quick fire negotiation, and having to uncomfortably stand my ground he relented to say that I am the innocent party, but should contact them anyway and say that they have created a bad situation for their customers. It seemed ridiculous to pass on such a "burden" to guests who have booked in good faith.
He watched me send an email... and then it was fine.
I got the distinct impression that the next person who presents an Agoda voucher will get the same treatment, so be warned!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoegazer_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Sparkling clean and beautifully decorated. Prime location with restaurants and sights within walking distance. The friendly staff is knowledgeable and helpful. Price is actually much lower than other hotels on the same street even though more amenities are offered such as a refrigerator, WiFi, tea & coffee, AC, fluffy towels, etc. I have been staying here for 7 years because every effort is made to make you feel " at home."

Room Tip: there are rooms on the ground floor if stairs are a problem all rooms are quiet and dark at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndiaSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The homestay is located in the heart of Fort Cochin. Although clean and relativly spacious they are overpriced. Cant really justify the price.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lloydbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed only one night but were very pleased with Sonnetta especially the clean rooms and helpful staff, who went out of their way to accomodate our needs (ground floor room for friend with walking difficulty, and an early breakfast on day of departure)
The situation is fine, near the sea and Chinese fishing nets)
Recommended if youre not looking for 4* luxury

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were very happy that we could stay at Sonnetta during our stay in Ford Cochin and we would like to recommend the place to travellers who are looking for a plain, stylish place, with great Indian atmosphere, excellent service and which is spotless clean. We felt completely at home because of the provided service. About all the details was thought off and taken care off. The plain room had many small and lovely surprises. Better than a more star accommodation. And the radiant smile of Sanjee gave every morning a most beautiful start.

Room Tip: Is good to book a few days in advance as the accommodation is very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celeste N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

This little gem of a place is situated right in the centre of Fort Cochin. Three of us shared a room with 3 really comfortable beds..... a good sized room that even had a fridge, safe and TV.....It was spotlessly clean and well maintained...
Bedlinen was perfect and changed every 3rd day..... The owner; Xavier, and his staff were incredibly accommodating and efficient..... organising sight seeing trips.. arranging taxis, etc.... Each morning complimentary tea was delivered to our room by the forever smiling Sanjee....even at 6 in the morning, no problem!!!!!!! Having moved around a lot in India staying in various guest houses/hotels, we rate Sonnetta as one of the best for value for money and friendly service....
Xavier takes great pride in his hotel and we thank him and his staff for making our stay in Fort Cochin so comfortable!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureenitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
5.8 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#3 of 30 in Ernakulam
424 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#37 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#14 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnetta Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnetta Residency

Property: Sonnetta Residency
Address: 1/387 Sonnetta Residency Princess Street, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 442 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonnetta Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a building built by the Portuguese in the 17th century. It is situated in the prime spot of Fort Cochin, just 2 minutes walkable distance to the beach and near to other surrounding tourist sights. We have 6 rooms. 5 among them are double rooms and the remaining one is a triple bedroom. All rooms are deluxe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Sonnetta Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnetta Residency Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing