We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fort Cochin best kept secret!”

Cochin Heritage Home
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cochin Heritage Home
Ranked #282 of 446 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We found Cochin Heritage by chance as we were strolling around the village looking for a nice place to stay. The building is a typical Keralan house with lovely woodwork that has been nicely restored. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with air con and mosquito nets in all windows and nice wooden furniture. The are is nice and quiet, just a stroll away from the main streets but away from the hustle and buzzle of the most touristy areas.
Breakfast is good, we stayed for four nights and got to taste different things each morning, including a typical keralan breakfast on our last day.
The staff are really nice , Albin and his brother made our stay a pleasure, they are caring and very helpful. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Fort Cochin. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marta c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Cochin Heritage Home
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 33 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2011

There was a air about this hotel which said that you are in Kerala. Right from entering the hotel to the lobby to the rooms. The food, well.. everything smelt of coconut. However, it tasted good. The location was good. Centraslly located yet everything was quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashish36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

When we checked in to the Cochin Heritage we had already stayed in two other homestays in Kochi-Ernakulam. We were looking for a new place that was within easy striking distance of the sights and old-school colonial ambience of Fort Kochi, yet still airy and secluded and above all, beautiful. Lucky for us the helpful folks at Delite—which was booked up—steered us towards this gem. The Cochin Heritage is a meticulously restored Kerala home that has been in the proprietor Ajit’s house for generations: hand carved wood furnishings throughout, polished red floors and the most perfect wraparound porch overlooking the garden. The bathrooms, linens and towels are impeccably clean and comfortable. The breakfasts, served with REAL pressed coffee at the porch under fans, are fresh n’ tasty. The Heritage somehow feels luxurious and simple at the same time. But the real reason to stay is the wonderful folks that make this a “true homestay”. Ajit is lovely and thoughtful and did everything to make our stay with two small children easy as can be. Albin and Joby, two brothers who work at the homestay, are always on hand with a smile and a cold drink. Suffice it to say we wish that everyone we met on our travels was this smart, nice & great. We will continue to travel back to wonderful Kochi and enjoy the affordable comforts of Cochin Heritage Homestay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyfieldwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed at this Hotel for two days and enjoyed it a lot. It is located central but quiet in Cochin Fort. The rooms are nice, although they appeared to be a bit dark. The service was great, they helped us with laundry and showed us a good restaurant (Oceano restaurant, see other review), we would not have discovered without them. The breakfast was good. For Cochin this might be a good recommendation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThaiRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in this place. The rooms are spacious, well furnished and quiet. The bathroom is spacious and clean. The common living room, where we took breakfast is really beautiful, typical old keralese house well renovated.
The staff is very kind and helpful. We'll come back for sure !

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank formicaangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

The Cochin Heritage is a well appointed and recently updated place to stay in Fort Cochin. The room we stayed in was pretty spacious, with the bathroom a decent size, as far as Indian hotels go anyway. The room was very clean, with the sheets changed and room tidied every day, which was actually unexpected, staying in other places of a similar nature throughout India, as we had, where this had not been done.

The Cochin Heritage caters for those wanting breakfast, which, although minimal, was enough to start the day. They do light refreshments too, but there's better food in the main part of town. Having said that, they do have a kitchen which could be used if you wanted to prepare your own food, such as the fresh fish brought to the esplanade every morning direct from the boat.

Although a little way from the hotel, Fort Cochin itself is probably no more than a 15 minute stroll, meaning The Cochin Heritage is a quiet place to stay, with little traffic or noise from nearby. The decor of the hotel is quite nice and, as mentioned, it seems that the whole hotel has recently been renovated, which gives it a nice spacious feel. I'm not sure whether we were the only people staying, but we didn't see any other guests at the hotel during our stay, which kind of made my wife and I feel that we'd found a bit of a gem that others hadn't cottoned on to yet.

The price we paid for the room was a little more than we had expected to part with, but it was probably worth it, especially when we were the only ones there. There's cheaper places to stay in Fort Cochin, but for the space, peace and quiet and nice surrounds we had at The Cochin Heritage, I'd say it was worth it.

One more thing: the couple of mornings that we had breakfast there, we were brought papers to read, free of charge, which I thought was a really nice touch. OK, they cost next to nothing to buy, but it was the intent that impressed me. If you're after a nice quiet place, with good, attentive service, then The Cochin Heritage could be the place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gusmao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

We had arranged to stay in Delight but when we arrived the owner was not aware of our booking - even though I had emailed 4 times confirming dates and times of arrival. He had even arranged for airport pick up! The owner of Sajhome had called his cousin who was the owner of the Heritage, and arranged a room for us here.

The Heritatage was very nice, in a good quiet location. Unfortunately there were no mosquito nets, which in Kerela is really essential. Otherwise, the room was very nice, clean and the staff were very helpful. AC in all rooms.

We went to the Hotel Abad Plaza during the day to use the pool. The hotel looked very nice, but expensive - not sure if it is worth the prices. The pool was lovely, and a nice place to hang out during the day. The restaurant in the hotel was very good, good value also.

If you're going to go out for a meal, go to the restaurant in Fort House. It's a great location, great view and food was excellent. There was a lovely atmosphere in the place also.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tanlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.9 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#15 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,412 reviews
6.1 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 30 in Ernakulam
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kochi
Le Meridien Kochi
#2 of 3 in Maradu
1,037 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Classik Fort Hotel
The Classik Fort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tripunithura
92 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Surya, Luxury Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cochin Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cochin Heritage Home

Address: Vadathazha Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 446 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $59 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cochin Heritage Home Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing