We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oys the best cafe in fort kochi”
Review of Oy's la Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oy's la Homestay
Ranked #279 of 437 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Kerala very soon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oys the best cafe in fort kochi”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I love oys cafe for so many reasons...the amazing italian coffees, the fresh food, the comfortable rooms, and most importantly the hospitality. The rooms are clean and reasonably priced between 600-800 rupees which is the best value for money that I found in Fort Kochi. The cafe is a bamboo style ambience with cushions and nice seating . there is wifi also! The boys who run the cafe are also super friendly and helped me to book my side trips in and around kochi such as the backwaters or munnar. Try to book in advance because the place is always full.. the warmth and welcoming nature can be given three cheers. Thanks Oys for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridhi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    9
    12
    12
See reviews for
5
18
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Did not stay in Oys as such. Stepped in for tea and snacks. The ambience is great. Have a good living room - where you can sip tea and chillax with a novel.
Lot of eat out options available in as well as around. Pretty close to the beach and Fort kochi action.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed in Oy's home stay (above Oy's cafe) for six nights. Taj home stay had taken our reservation, but was not even open anymore. After arrival they told us some story about maintenance work that needs to be done and took us to Oy's home stay.

We were there during off season. The service was just not existing since nobody was around or was sleeping in the cafe. After arrival we did not have towels and been told that we will get them tomorrow or so ... (!) we explained that we have to take a shower considering the temperatures in Cochin. We received two smelly towels for all nights.

The worst thing is the bathroom. It reminded us on the room in SAW 1, just cleaner. There is nothing to put your stuff on (we kept it on the floor). The toilet is clogged sometimes. The light did not work, we used candles.

The furniture is old and shabby and the bed cloth not really clean. The beds are hard and make noise.

The last day we have been ask if we could leave the room at 5 in the morning, because there are new guests coming. We refused to do so because check out is at 12 o'clock. The new guests did not show up in the morning.

All basic things are there in a below average condition. If you look for a place to only sleep and put your stuff, it is an option. Maybe in the main season it is better and not so left behind by the staff.

They organised a cap to the airport for us.

Room Tip: You get good food and excellent service at the Cafe Kashi Artcafe close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erbse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kochi (Cochin) hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at Oy's homestay around New Year's. The rooms were spacious and affordable, even while we were there during peak holiday season. The staff was really kind and welcoming, and the downstairs restaurant was a great place to hang out and get breakfast (also the milkshakes are delicious!). One memory from our stay that really sums up the character of the place was when, on a particularly warm night (we had opted for a non-ac room because it was a little cooler when we were there and a little cheaper) one of the owners asked us if we wanted to have AC, as the room already had a unit built in. We said we'd be alright, on a fairly tight backpacking budget we could pass, but when we went up to our rooms for the night we saw the unit had been turned on, free of charge, just in case we needed it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slimbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Oy's is located just across the road from Kachi's Art Cafe. It's a relaxing place and even has a library! Laid back and perhaps not as attentive as Kachi's it's definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SevernBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 633 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Wow, what a cool and chilled out place. Low seating with pillows so that you can kick back and drape yourself into a slumber. Really friendly staff. Food and drink prices were low. Fresh mint lime juice and ginger and lime juice were incredibly refreshing, and the cold coffee, the best I have ever had - runny enough to be a coffee, but just thick enough to be a creamy dream. The indian food was a little bland, but I think they held back on the spices as we are westerners. A real gem of a find.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krys_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We ended our five weeks in India at Oy's in Kochi. We really enjoyed our stay at this guesthouse, our room (a twin) was huge, with a sofa and TV! The bathroom was also large and clean. I think the rooms are usually around 800 rupees but we paid 600 (they were initially going to put us up in a different, cheaper building but changed their minds and gave us a discount on one of their normal rooms as they had space and we arrived at night).

The cafe downstairs serves excellent food at a very reasonable price, we had a delicious pumpkin curry here. They also provide wifi, although it's 100 rupees per day.

We were travelling on a budget and this was definitely the best place we stayed at in India, I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippy_flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
6.3 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 30 in Ernakulam
417 reviews
5.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kochi
Le Meridien Kochi
#2 of 3 in Maradu
1,005 reviews
20.5 mi away
The Hotel Elegance
The Hotel Elegance
#2 of 2 in Angamaly
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Sara Hotels and Apartments
7.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
635 reviews
17.0 mi away
Courtyard Kochi Airport
Courtyard Kochi Airport
#1 of 9 in Nedumbassery
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oy's la Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oy's la Homestay

Property: Oy's la Homestay
Address: K B Jacob Road | near Basilica Church, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 437 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Oy's La Homestay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing