We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for genuine Keralan food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malabar House

Malabar House
Ranked #49 of 926 Restaurants in Kochi (Cochin)
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, European, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not for genuine Keralan food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We've been fooled a little bit by the looks of the hotel and restaurant and the possibility of a good bottle of wine. The good bottle of wine we had, I give them that, but we were also hoping to get some good Indian food.
We should have known better and gone to the local around the corner.
It didn't start too badly with a pleasant dish, but as our main we had chosen the plate that was recommended, a trio of curries. The Jalfrezi on there must have been the mildest one I've eaten in my life and the kofta was very sweet, almost like a desert!

There were a lot of western type dishes available on the menu, so I really don't see why they had to make these so non-spicy, we even mentioned that we like spicy food.
So the staff is very friendly, but clearly they don't listen to your wishes.

With all these western dishes on the menu, his is probably a place where you want to be if you've come to India and want to avoid the local delicacies.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pladijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    120
    66
    31
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
363 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Aovely hotel with a nice dining area outside. However the food was very disappointing. We opted to try the 2 tasting menus ( 5 courses each) and only liked 2 of the 10 courses. The curries were the most bland we had tasted in India and some of the fusion courses just did not work. A pity as the ambiance and staff are very nice

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BurySt_EdmundsTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, just we made the wrong choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This place is good. It is also expensive (for Indian standards). However the only real issue here is that we choice the wrong items on the menu. Dont bother with the special selections where you get about 5 or 6 courses. Just stick with the main items from the menu as these are much better.

Otherwise, the place served very good food, it was very western which was a little disappointing as we were hoping to get some authentic food from Kerala but all in all, was good. Its significantly better than some of the other places we have visited.

I would recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ads1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Good ambiance. Excellent hospitality. Wonderful staff who made us feel 'at home'. Food was good. Simple and tasty. Sea food was great. The food and wine - both are costly (compared to other hotels in Kochi) - but we enjoyed the food. Guess that's what matters in the end....................

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorpy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Food, Awesome Ambience !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by a friend, and she was spot on ! We were a group of 5 people and enjoyed the lovely laid back atmosphere. The bar on the first floor and the restaurant on the ground floor , were tastefully designed... The tapas starters in the bar were good and the quality of the food was very good, except some of the lamb was tough - and that was the only letdown. The deserts were also good, and definitely a high recommend to anyone looking for a good dining experience in Fort Kochi.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Felix R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malabar House also viewed

Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Malabar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing