We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place for the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Orion Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orion Holidays
Ranked #62 of 424 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Vancouver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent place for the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I booked into this place on Clearstay. I booked at the "Sky Wings" but instead was roomed in the other building. I really just needed a place to stay for one night (before joining a group tour), and this was safe, clean enough, had A/C, and breakfast included. The location is OK - you can walk to the various places of interest in Fort Cochin.

Room Tip: You need AC in Fort Cochin, make sure your room isn't fan cooled!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BK_Vancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    39
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
79
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wardha, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I booked Hotel Orion Holidays through Cleartrip.com for 31st Dec.2013. The booking was made 2 months in advance and I was given confirmation of hotel booking. However when I contacted hotel for this confirmation 2 weeks before planned check in date, the Hotel informed me that they have shifted my room from Hotel Orion Holidays to Orion Skywings. I was never informed about this change. I requested them to retain my original booking to Orion Holidays but they refused to do so. I contacted Cleartrip.com but according to Cleartrip they were also not aware of this change. They also tried to convenience the Hotel to retain the original booking. But Hotel did not accept their request according to Cleartrip.com. The Hotel then assured me that they will provide me much better rooms with AC which will be more satisfactory than the original booking. However when I reached Hotel, there was significant difference in both the Hotels and Locations. The Hotel which they offered me against my booking was not a Hotel but a kind of Hostel/ lodge. The location was not good as it was in a narrow path. The Hotel which I booked was on main road and it was a good Bungalow type Home stay which was my basic choice. With this my stay at this Hotel was not a good experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anilhgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

You might not expect somewhere called Orion Holidays to be a lovely peaceful homestay in a very convenient but quiet area of Fort Cochin, but it is. Built on top of a large, modern house set back from the road, there are only four rooms, so there are never too many people crowding the cool, shady breakfast area. We had a room at the back which had no balcony, but all the other rooms have balconies and views out. Our room was fine, though, very clean and pleasant, with lovely comfortable mattresses, not the hard ones you so often get in India! I wouldn't really call this a homestay, in that there was no real contact with the family who lived below, but this is a great place to stay if you want to be based in Kochi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamsin_haggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Warmly welcomed. Very clean hotel,good service and food. Well situated,close to Santa Cruz Basilica. Transport easily available. Loads of restaurants nearby. You can try a new one everyday. Ask for a map at the reception,helped me a lot.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratna506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed with a friend at the Orion Sky Wings (part of the Orion Holidays Homestay) between Christmas and New Years. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a lovely balcony looking over a typical Fort Kochi street and the price was very decent.
Hari in reception is very kind and helpful and made our stay very comfortable. I would definitely like to come back and stay again when I am next in Kerala.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoniLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed for two days in Orion Home stay, in a deluxe room with balcony, at first floor. Situated right off from the main street, but in a quiet and tranquil neighborhood, this place is quite good for relaxing and enjoying serene atmosphere of Fort Kochi. Very clean rooms & bathroom at reasonable cost. Room is large with enough space and balcony had two wooden relax chairs. bathroom was quite good in size, hygienic and clean. Hot water was available, although we never felt like using it as the climate was quite hot. Free WiFi was available, although it did not work during our entire duration of stay.
Breakfast was included in our package which had toasted bread slices accompanied with jam/butter sachets, an omelette and tea/coffee. Quite good to start your day.
This home stay is very close to all the main attractions of Fort Kochi e.g. Vas Co Da Gama square, St Francis CSI Church, cemetery and the Basilica. All within walk able distance. The main shopping area 'Princess Street' is also very nearby, as the sea shore where you can see the Chinese fishing nets.
They have a small kitchen which is used to make breakfast and snacks on order. There are plenty of restaurants and shops nearby where one can go for lunch / dinner. No need to hire any car /auto rickshaw as everything can be explored by walk from this place. The host is friendly and very helpful. Always serves with a smile for little requests like bottled water/coffee even at late night. He helped us to arrange car hire for our next destination. We liked the hospitality very much and would definitely stay there again. The only thing we felt a bit of lacking were the towels in the room. They were not fresh as one would expect. Apart from that thingy, we thoroughly enjoyed staying at Orion Home stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in 201 as far I could recollect. It had a balcony with chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SujitR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed at Orion Holidays for a couple of nights and found it very clean and comfortable and very reasonably priced, it was situated in a little quiet street just off the main street and walking distance to a few nice restaurants, places of interest and a Cafe' Coffee Day. The room was a reasonable size with a good clean bathroom and a nice little veranda, we had breakfast in our room at a good price and pleasant. The host was very helpful in suggesting a few places of interest and was happy to help talk to the car hire company we were going to use to take us Munnar to arrange pick up times and directions. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Orion Skywings
Orion Skywings
#84 of 421 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elphinstone Residency
Elphinstone Residency
#70 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kevin's Placid Homestay
Kevin's Placid Homestay
#15 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maison Casero Home Stay
Maison Casero Home Stay
#44 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chiramel Residency
Chiramel Residency
#42 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aroma Homestay
Aroma Homestay
#7 of 421 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orion Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orion Holidays

Property: Orion Holidays
Address: 926 K L Barnad Master Road | Njaliparambu Junction, Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 424 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orion Holidays 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A versatile home stay at Fort Cochin. A place where many world civilizations rose and fell. Having its unforgettable and irresistible historical monuments. Rich with the adornments of the heaven crafted backwaters and plush greenery. Offers you tailor-made tour packages which fit your budget and cool off your soul, traditional and folklore art performances, backwater cruise lets you feel the lap of mother nature, trekking packages lets you feel the wilder side of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orion Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Holidays Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing