We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Stay.”
Review of Adams Wood House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adams Wood House
Ranked #180 of 451 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Got an experience of Traditional Home stay away from Home. Cool atmosphere and brezee of Fort Kochi make my stay worthy. Especially Tower Room states as the name itself by the 360 degree angle view of Fort Kochi Residential Area. Specially mentioning the good kindness of character of Hosts as well. Just adding some room amenities also required for the perfect enjoyment.

Room Tip: Avail the room of Kerala Traditional one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikeshPillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adamshomestaycochin, Manager at Adams Wood House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

mr. vikesh

thank your for writing your review.
we are glad to hear that we are doing good.

still working hard to reach on first page of trip advisor.

rgds,

firoz
cochin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 150 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

My stay at this place was for one night in April 2013.

I found Adams Wood House on TripAdvisor and called the owner at 11:00 in the night to check room availability for the next day. I was surprised that my call was even answered at that hour.

Firoz, the owner, was extremely accommodating at such short notice. He guided our cab driver and kept a close check on our arrival timing. They have few rooms, about 4 to 5, but they're all done up very differently. The one we stayed in was a very simple, clean room - they had preserved some features from when the room was built long ago which added personality to the room : for example, the old-fashioned light switch. The room had AC as well which was a relief as it was peak summer combined with the general humidity of coastal regions.

I was travelling with my Mother and having a trustworthy Homestay owner was important to us. Firoz was not only an excellent Onwer but comes with an interesting life stories. He is very friendly and easy to talk to - his passion for Yoga, his hospitality and his acceptance of people and they views as they are make spending time with him enjoyable. His wife was kind enough to cook us dinner and breakfast : simple Indian food which was delicious [ and I don't think he even charged us for it! ]. Firoz also arranged an Airport drop which was super convenient.

All in all, I had an excellent experience at Adams Wood House and it was my first time in a Homestay! I would definitely recommend it to whoever is looking for a place to stay close to Jew Street.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VidC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adamshomestaycochin, Owner at Adams Wood House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

thank you madam

you are always on at adams wood house.
you can call us any time.
we make sure your call is fulfilled.

it was very nice to host you and your mom
and thank you again for your kindful support by writing review in trip advisor.

we ask each and every guest to write their reviews
but only few people like you support us by writing their comments.

feel good energy while reading great reviews from our customers.

assure our best that we will deliver quality service always.

from firoz and family
cochin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Adam wood House has changed my perception on customer service. Firoz the owner of Adams Wood House was extremely helpful, thoughtful. He was kind enough to arrange the room, clean and ready well before my arrival. Rooms are spacious, well maintained. Rooms are ventilated enough without the need to have the AC on. Perfect environment, great hosting. I would recommend Adam Wood House to anybody who is going to Cochin.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonyJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adamshomestaycochin, Owner at Adams Wood House, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

thank u very much mr. jose.
it was nice to host u and family

have a great day.

firoz
adams wood house
cochin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

True Kerala. A great host and real ethnic living. When you are at Adam's, you soak in the real south India. In the 5 days that I have been here, it is more like staying at my home than being a tourist. A special word about Feroze, I hope i spell it correctly, his knowledge of this part of the country is outstanding. He has a great eye for beauty, rest assured he will guide you to the crest of nature. Cheers.. I loved it. While signing off, just remembered, this man is a yoga instructor. You can try it with him.

Room Tip: Try the first floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajitabhdutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adamshomestaycochin, Owner at Adams Wood House, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

thanks mr. dutta

thank you for staying with us
we hope we made your stay comfortable.

looks forward to meet u soon

rgds,

firoz khan
adams wood house
cochin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

They are located off the tourist attractions of Fort Cochin so you get a more local feel but its not too far from Fort Cochin - just a short bus ride away. The owner is a nice guy and very helpful. No wifi in the rooms though, you have to go to the ground floor. Rooms are pretty big depending on the ones you get although a bit dusty but then the whole town is dusty. Good value for the price. Lots of local eating spots nearby. Bring your ear plugs if you are a light sleeper because the place is near the road. Mosquitoes are not much of a problem unless you have to use their wifi in the common areas.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramlanha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adamshomestaycochin, Owner at Adams Wood House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

thank you very much sir.
you are always welcome to our hometay guesthouse.

looks forward for your next visit.

best rgds,

firoz khan
adams wood house

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at Adam's Wood house for 4 nights. After we finally found the place (it's a little hard even for the capdriver - he had to ask about 10 times for the right direction) we had nothing to complain about. The host is a perfectly nice and friendly man who helps you with everything. The rooms are clean and ok but sometimes a little loud (after 6 a.m. in the morning). Unfortunately the Wifi does not work everywhere just outside near the downstairs. To get into downtown you definately need a Tuktuk which costs around 30 rupees if you talk to the driver first.
We can definately recommend the place!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maischbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adamshomestaycochin, Owner at Adams Wood House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

we deeply thank you both from our heart.

appreciate your support and great review in trip advisor.
we assure we will try hard to be the best in cochin.

thank you

firoz
adams wood house
cochin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed back in February and it was a really great place to stay, but a little awkward to locate on first arrival, (until a neighbour pointed me in the right direction). I had the wonderful turret room right at the top, and would have stayed longer had I had longer in Kerala. The owner was a fantastic host, and he was able to provide excellent trips out at very reasonable costs, which greatly increased my enjoyment during my stay. It's a short rickshaw ride into Kochi, and as its situated away from the main roads, is pretty quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sprocketdog23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adamshomestaycochin, Owner at Adams Wood House, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

thank you very much for your great review.
we looks forward for your support.

have a nice weekend

rgds,

firoz khan
adams wood house
ph : 9895353782

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.5 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#181 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
479 reviews
1.3 mi away
ChristVille Homestay
ChristVille Homestay
#11 of 451 in Kochi (Cochin)
251 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elim Homestay
Elim Homestay
#23 of 451 in Kochi (Cochin)
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Caza Maria
Caza Maria
#98 of 451 in Kochi (Cochin)
25 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chiramel Residency
Chiramel Residency
#45 of 451 in Kochi (Cochin)
123 reviews
1.0 mi away
Honolulu Home HomeStay
Honolulu Home HomeStay
#26 of 451 in Kochi (Cochin)
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adams Wood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adams Wood House

Address: Andy Achari Road, near Saga | Paravana Junction, Kochi (Cochin) 682002, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 451 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $14 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adams Wood House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adams wood house is a small family run homestay located in a quiet residentail area between fort cochin and mattancherry. We are away from tourist crowd. 1 Km to jewish town and 2 kms to fort kochi beach. Easily reachable to tourist attractions by foot.At adams wood house we offer 3 a/c and 2 non a/c rooms for our guest.All our rooms have private entrance, ensuite bath and individual key to guest rooms. Assure total privacy of a hotel and homely atmosphere at our homestay in cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Adams Wood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adams Wood House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing