We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dream Catcher Homestay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Home like stay
Dreamcatcher homestay in Fort Kochi is an excellent place to stay. The rooms are very clean, the beds comfortable, and the location is perfect. Bernard and his family are extremely accommodating and are happy to help plan trips which are a must. I will be back to stay next trip to Kerala!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richa22091990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 553 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

Look for a different place. My friend and I stayed here early June at the start of monsoon season because of the positive reviews we read. As two young women we booked an airport taxi with him for safety since we were arriving in kochi at night. The owner, Bernard, forgot to arrange us this taxi after multiple email and phone conversations. The room was kind of homely and smelled damp and there was no soap in our room. Breakfast was yummy but Bernard was no help in choosing food or places to go and was pushy about using his services. He also did not seem to understand our fears regarding safety and food sickness as tourists to the area. Overall there is nothing special about this place and it isn't especially close to the main areas of interest. In addition, there is no common area and be warned that you will pay extra for the water they push on you. Bargain for pricing during the off season.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eladwi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dreamcatcheronita, Owner at Dream Catcher Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

My Dear Sister Eladavi, Thanks for your comment due to off season you wrote we overpice to you How can you say, We gave you our triple cot suit room and your both are happy to stay with AIR CONDITION ROOM In Fort Cochin there is still with Indian guests season and there is no empty our home you all ready seen that you wrote for the pick up i will call you before six hours your departure ,After boarding the flight you phoned up me i am departure please send me the car to Cochin airport ,This time was six O clock if i drive with my car car wont reach in time i send SMS to the guest MOBILE number still with me you number 91,9952371058 i can prove any where our phone talk between us,What all the proof i dont delete , Your departuring from Chennai just one hour only my car cant pick up you both again i send One more SMS to you please i am arranging Airport Taxi and i given the information to the driver you reach safe 08,30 pm at my home this is the fact its not my mistake ,
I gave you two lux soaps why should you said you didnt get soap from us its not true ,
You wrote everything positive to us only the soap and pick up soap i gave you pick up i arrange with air port taxi , Air condition triple bed suite room with delicious breakfast for what you both paid me its not a big money , Your both always saying we are working in Chennai dont show any commission hotels and other activities we know we are working in Chennai this is what i gave you several economy,medium,and high class hotels and Restaurant name and i said you choose your self and have what you like. One thing you get angry the mineral water i charge you i am not getting FREE mineral water from the mineral water company , You said our train is 04 O clock could i keep our luggage till 02 O clock in our room i said ok its free of charge usually our check out 11,AM when your writing some thing please write only TRUE , Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Dreamcatcher homestay in Fort Kochi is an excellent place to stay. The rooms are very clean, the beds comfortable, and the location is perfect. Bernard and his family are extremely accommodating and are happy to help plan trips which are a must. I will be back to stay next trip to India!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My friends and I had two stints at the Dreamcatcher. The first being when we arrived in India and Bernardo was more than happy to stay up and wait for us to arrive in the middle of the night and show us to our rooms. We met Bernardo's family who were very warm and friendly, the room was basic but had aka hot shower which we later found out was something of a luxury in the region.

Bernardo organised a massage session as well as a yoga class and is very helpful when it comes to local knowledge.

Our second stint came when we returned to Kochin from Varkala and another Homestay had let us down. Dreamcatcher were more than happy to have us back in the same room with literally zero hours notice which really helped us out as there were Rickshaw drivers trying to take us to home stays we knew nothing about and we were beginning to panic slightly.

On our final night there was an incident where we were told we'd underpaid which we were adamant we hadn't done, but we took their word for it and paid. This was a minor negative point in what was otherwise a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We loved our staying in fort kochi at the dream catcher. It is a beautiful homestay with a very friendly family who are welcoming and always around to answer questions. The rooms are small and basic but is perfect and all you need. The location is perfect. Down a little backstreet so it is quiet but ten minutes walk to closest attractions and in walking distance to all attractions. It is handy too as they supply you with towels which not all hotels or guests stay in india do. The family are happy to recommend things to do and places to eat. You must do a houseboat trip in the backwaters. Book with it with the family.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegLovesTravel71192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Situated on a nice quiet lane away from the hustle and bustle, we found an available room at Dream Catcher after our 'first choice' of home stay was fully booked. This is in a good location, with a max 10 minute walk to the main sights in Fort Kochi. However, I argue against this being a 'homestay'- we were 'sold' the room, prior to a tax being added on to the cost of the room and being encouraged to visit a number of other attractions, do various activities (on commission?/ business of family members etc)- which was the last thing we wanted to think about after a 16 hour train from Goa. The room was more part of an expanding complex, and after being shown our rooms, we didn't see the owners again during our three day/ two night stay (no idea who we gave the keys to as we left!)- this was a shame as we'd have appreciated being able to talk to them on more than one occasion. Room was nice, as was the building, but we did share the room with cockroaches on a couple of occasions.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel is away from all the busy streets on a quiet lane. Charming guesthouse with a big balcony. The mattresses are so thin and old it's very uncomfortable. The pillows are very old and stinky. The sheets and towels are old too.The shower doesn't work well, no pressure and very hard to adjuste the temperature. No toilet paper nor soap. Wifi works on the balcony on top of office. We paid this kind of money for much more anywhere else. But Fort Cochin is very touristic so the prices are higher.

Room Tip: Look for another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missgreenpeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#13 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
158 reviews
6.1 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 30 in Ernakulam
439 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Good Karma inn
Good Karma inn
#3 of 459 in Kochi (Cochin)
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rampart Homestay
Rampart Homestay
#5 of 479 in Kochi (Cochin)
171 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort
Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort
#86 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Catcher Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Catcher Homestay

Address: CCEA Hall Road | Right side of Thamaraparambu School, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 479 Specialty Lodging in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $10 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dream Catcher Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream Catcher Homestay is in Fortcochin. we have SINGLE, DOUBLE,TRIPLE COT TRIPLE BED, FAMILY rooms with attached EN SUITE HIGH QUALITY toilets. Lots of common area. A roof top garden and landscape. Parking space for guests cars. we have 24hours reception with look after all your travel needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Dream Catcher Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Catcher Homestay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing