We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“God's own country with God's own people”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Heritage Homestay
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“God's own country with God's own people”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We, myself Minaal, wife Susan and mother in law Philomena Dsilva loved Riverside Heritage Homestay, Cochin and its owners Basil & Annie. We actually felt like home away from home and we loved the warm company of this loving couple along with their son Neel who is also a gentleman to the core...we spent just one night unfortunately because we had to leave to Munar next day but next time we will make sure that we spend atleast a week's time with Basil & Annie just for Annie's lovely breakfast menus and Basil's warm words of expereince. and to have more of the overall experience of a homestay...i will recommend this palce to more people for its uniqueness, warmth, cleanliness and above all food. Good Luck
Cheers
Minaal & Susan

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minaalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    20
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
19
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Riverside Heritage Homestay is located away from the hustle bustle of the city, next to a scenic river that makes for a stunning sunset view. We booked the cottage which is clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. The owner, Mr. Basil is friendly and resourceful. His wife, Mrs. Annie is pleasant and a wonderful cook. Do stay here to get spoiled by delicious local home cooked cuisine - generous servings at affordable prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunANDLORI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The rooms are newly made and amazingly clean. Sheets are crisp and everything works as promised. Basil uncle is helpful and energetic and Annie serves up delicious meals - we ate duck, prawns, fish and chicken as well as traditional kerala breakfast.

The main house is old, but lovingly maintained - and the 2 new rooms for homestay have been very well thought out and constructed.

Fort Cochin is approx 9km away and easy to get to. Basil helped us with whatever requirements we had - including getting a trustworthy driver to drive our car back to bangalore...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomaMukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Brilliant place! Basil uncle & Annie aunty truly represent the best spirit of Kerala. Though we had a very short stay there, however the time spend was truly memorable.
Their homestay has an artistic ambience with admirable woodwork furniture all over, moreover the entire house is surrounded by a beautiful garden with a large collection of orchids.The backwaters & Chinese nets in the backyard were worth watching during the sunset & sunrise.

Adding to this scenic beauty, was the tasty food cooked by Annie aunty & lovingly served by Mr Basil, until we relished everything on the platter. Everything was cooked in oure coconut oil extracted from their own garden coconuts & cooked in clay pots which we got to see (Wish had the time to enjoy more homemade delicacies!)

As we were heading to Laskshwadeep next day, Mr Basil guided us on the close by sight seeing options & ensured we caught the best of Cochin in whatever time we had on hands.
From food to accomodation,from transport to guidance, everything was managed so swiftly.

Their humble approach & warmth would certainly pull me back to this place again!!!
Keep this stay on your list when heading to Kerala !!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaArora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsport
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is an old family home that belongs to Basil and Annie Mylanthra. It is right on the river and they have their own Chinese fishing nets that they still use sometimes. It was just incredible to be able to sit by the river in the morning and have a cup of tea watching a fisherman moving silently in his canoe on the river. Basil is a well educated Kerala gentleman (speaks fluent English which made booking, check-in and stay smooth and comfortable.) Basil takes great pride in his home and great care in making his guests feel at home. He was a great help with tourist support also. Annie is an expert cook who produced some incredible Kerala curries (very lightly spiced). They make their own coconut oil and it is the quality of olive oil. She cooks in clay pots which gives her food that unique Kerala flavor. Annie's expertise produced meals that are a gourmet's delight. My wife is American and a Chef, cooks excellent Indian food too. I am Indian have lived in the US for 40 years and am a pretty good Indian chef). We are both die-hard foodies.
They have 2 rooms that are in the house itself and then a cottage that is separate. The 2 rooms are basic comfortable A/C rooms with mosquito nets so you do have a good night’s sleep and nice hot shower, great food and true Kerala hospitality.
Basil performs the duties of a front office Manager and Annie is the Master-Chef in the kitchen. Together they create a good home like feeling for all their guests who stay with them.
This place is unbelievable in its location and the food is true authentic Kerala home food (a rarity to find on the tourist routes). A 3 to 4 star accommodations but definitely a 5 star total experience. This should be a must stay on everyone’s Kerala journey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SafriReedsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is my favourite homestay, not only in Kerala but anywhere. I have visited several times and find that not only the accommodation, but also the welcome, truly represents the concept of a homestay. The house is simple and traditional but clean and comfortable. The warmth of the welcome and caring by Basil and his family have made me feel "at home" and part of the family. From the verandah to the backwaters is just a few steps. Basil's homour and endless supply of information and willing assistance, complemented by Annie's quiet hospitality and her welcome meals and treats make this homestay a jewel to cherish.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilesbrooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent experience! A highly pleasant stay spiced up by the ever modest Basil, raconteur ,friend and well wisher and ever helpful ever polite. no request too small for him and his Annie with her delightful cooking and smile and recipes shared with us! Accessible and old world charm! we can definitely recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sba12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kochi (Cochin)
8.6 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#3 of 30 in Ernakulam
424 reviews
4.6 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#14 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
134 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
210 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
4.3 mi away
Green Woods-Bethlehem
Green Woods-Bethlehem
#15 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Heritage Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Heritage Homestay

Property: Riverside Heritage Homestay
Address: Mylanthra House | Palluruthy | Perumpadappu | Konam, Kochi (Cochin) 682006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 449 Specialty Lodging in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mylanthra House "RIVERSIDE HERITAGE HOMESTAY" is approved and licensed as "GOLD GRADE" by Tourism department, Government of Kerala. RIVERSIDE HERITAGE HOMESTAY is located at Perumpadappu area in Cochin at the bank of Vembanad Lake backwaters. This Gold-graded homestay is an 80-year-old, well-maintained bungalow built of bricks, wooden ceilings and clay tile roofing. The flooring is also done with old clay tiles. The property covers an area of 1.25 Acres, which is full of trees like coconut, mango, chikku, guava, jack fruit etc. It also have a traditional pond, which is presently used for growing fish. The Guests will be thrilled when they feed these fishes. The homestay also have a Chinese fishing net in their beautiful backwaters, which the guests can operate themselves. Imagine catching fish and cooking them for dinner! Sitting beside this chinese fishing net & watching Sunset will be wonderful experience. Take a walk in the countryside or ride a bicycle thorough the village. The nearby islands in the backwaters have shrimp farms and paddy fields surrounded by evergreen mangroves. We can arrange Mechanized country boats (Semi House Boat) for backwater boating & visiting shrimp farms & paddy fields in the nearby islands The bird life here will simply command attention. The cool breeze from the Vembanad Lake backwaters behind the homestay along with the sweet sound of the various specious of birds visiting our property will not only enthrall you but also will be an experience of a lifetime. We also have a newly built Traditional Kerala style RIVER FACING COTTAGE. This cottage is constructed just behind our Heritage Home in the year 2011 in the traditional Kerala style. It can also be called as a miniature of our Heritage home, with modern amenities. The bed rooms have modern style bathroom attached. The host can also arrange for Ayurvedic Body Message, Ayurvedic treatments, Panchakarma, Yoga, Meditation, Counselling & Physical Fitness in an Ayurvedic Care Center in Cochin (4 Kms From Our Homestay) which is having experienced and qualified doctors and therapists. The homestay is very close to Kumbalanghi, Kerala's first model tourism village. You can visit Fort Cochin, Dutch Cemetery, Princess street, Kerala Kathakali centre, Folk dance, Indian Classical music, Indian Classical Dances & Marshal arts (Kalaripayat), St. Francis Church (Vasco Da Gama Church), Santa Cruz Basilica, Dutch Palace, Asia's oldest Synagogue (Jewish Synagogue), Spice Market, Jew Street & Jew Town, Dharmanath Jain temple at Mattancherry, Willingdon island, Hill palace, Ernakulam marine drive & Boating in Marine Drive, Vallarpadam Basilica, Mangalavanam Bird Sanctuary, Parikshith Thampuran Museum, Veega Land water theme Park, Cherai beach & Palliport (Pallipuram) Fort, Sri Sankara Math, Kodanad elephant training center from here. FACILITIES Complimentary Traditional Kerala style Breakfast for all our guests. Veg & non-Veg food available on request. Guest can operate our Chinese fishing net. Watch the Sunset & enjoy the cool breeze, sitting beside our Backwaters. Hot & Cold water available 24 Hrs. Free Wi-Fi internet usage. All rooms are Mosquito proof, very spacious with modern amenities and bath attached. Lovely garden & Lawn to soothe you. Sight-Seeing Tips. Car Parking Facility. We also Arrange upon our Guests request. 1. 24 Hours Air port, Railway Station Pick-Up & Drop. 2. Taxi or Auto rickshaw for sight seeing. 3. Houseboat tours (Day Cruise as well as Day and Night stay) at Alleppey backwaters. 4. Tickets for Kathakali Play & The Make-up, Martial Arts (Kalaripayat), Indian Classical music & Indian Classical Dances in a famous Kathakali centre in Cochin. 5. Ayurvedic Body Massage, Ayurvedic treatments, Panchakarma, Yoga, Meditation, Counselling Physical Fitness by Qualified Doctors at an Ayurvedic Care Center in Cochin (4 Kms From Homestay) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverside Heritage Homestay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing