We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the River Side Heritage!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Heritage Homestay
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We couldn't recommend the Riverside Heritage highly enough.

We were looked after so well by Basil & Annie in their lovely home. Basil was the perfect host while Annie made the most amazing food every morning & evening.

We also found there was plenty to see & do within the local area from bird sanctuaries to elephant training centres to marvellous hill palaces & quaint towns.

We had lots of laughs at the Riverside Heritage & we miss it a lot.

Thankyou so much Basil & Annie!!!

Paul & Jane

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PaulJavascripting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 94 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2011

Uncle Basil and Aunty Annie made our stay in Cochin comfortable, and it was perfect for we got a comfortable dose of Kerala cuisine, and culture while feeling safe at home. They are amazing hosts and gave helpful tips and organised things for us well. The room was comfortable and it was nice to have a home to come home to after busy days of traveling in a foreign place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RainaNws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We have been part of the family during our stay with Basil and Annie. A great couple. Basil helped us in organising our backwater trip and Cochi tour and airport pick up. Our kids felt like home and us too. Annie made us simple but delicious kerala meals and she took care about spices for our daughter (5 years old little girl). It is sure if we should go back one day in Cochin, we will stay at Riverside Guest House.
Thank you Basil and Annie!
Elena & Michel

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Famille_escargot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

This is a gold grade homestay approved by the Kerala govt of tourism. It is a heritage bunglow with hut type tiled roofs & the typical red sand tiles. They have a very big courtyard in the front & back of the house. The owners of this house mr. & mrs. Basil Mylanthara are very sweet people. Basil sir helped us a lot in designing our sigthseeing trip in & around Cochin in the most economical & enjoyable way. We travelled by local buses, boat jetties, rickshaws just like a localite. Basil sir helped us booking a private cab for our excursion trip to Kodanad & athirappaly waterfalls at very resonable rates. We also got a chance to meet Neil (Basil sirs son), he is a lovely & down to earth man. We were given a AC room. The room, linens, washroom were basic but very clean. A huge bathroom was a welcome surprise for mumbaites like us who live in cramped spaces till eternity :-))
There is a working chinese fishing net at their backyard with a lovely view of the backwaters. There is a big wooden jhula in the verandah. it is a home where you feel like one of them & not outsiders. I was freely moving in thier kitchen, hall... Annie aunty is a bit shy but that adds to her sweetness. She made lovely chicken & patato veggies for us. Me & my husband thoroughly enjoyed this first time experience of staying in a homestay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Rasika_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

We, absolutely, loved our stay in Mr. Basil's home, The Riverside Heritage, also referred to as Mylnthra House. I had gone there with my wife, and my in laws. The experience was of visiting a close relative, after a looong time. Uncle and Aunty are amazing hosts.

The house is in a very quiet and lovely setting. and the food is awesome.

Our stay here deserved a much more lengthy review and you can find it here http://djbasumatari.posterous.com/cochin-homestay-at-the-mylanthra-house.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BoltedHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
Thank jean-chri87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: deux chambres presque identiques, une troisieme dans la maison principale
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atesubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversideHomestay, Owner at Riverside Heritage Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
3.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kochi
Le Meridien Kochi
#2 of 3 in Maradu
1,181 reviews
9.1 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 36 in Ernakulam
1,087 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 36 in Ernakulam
457 reviews
19.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kochi Airport
5.1 mi away
The Classik Fort Hotel
The Classik Fort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tripunithura
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Heritage Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Heritage Homestay

Address: Mylanthra House | Palluruthy | Perumpadappu | Konam, Kochi (Cochin) 682006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 508 Specialty Lodging in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $32 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mylanthra House "RIVERSIDE HERITAGE HOMESTAY" is approved and licensed as "GOLD GRADE" by Tourism department, Government of Kerala. RIVERSIDE HERITAGE HOMESTAY is located at Perumpadappu area in Cochin at the bank of Vembanad Lake backwaters. This Gold-graded homestay is an 80-year-old, well-maintained bungalow built of bricks, wooden ceilings and clay tile roofing. The flooring is also done with old clay tiles. The property covers an area of 1.25 Acres, which is full of trees like coconut, mango, chikku, guava, jack fruit etc. It also have a traditional pond, which is presently used for growing fish. The Guests will be thrilled when they feed these fishes. The homestay also have a Chinese fishing net in their beautiful backwaters, which the guests can operate themselves. Imagine catching fish and cooking them for dinner! Sitting beside this chinese fishing net & watching Sunset will be wonderful experience. Take a walk in the countryside or ride a bicycle thorough the village. The nearby islands in the backwaters have shrimp farms and paddy fields surrounded by evergreen mangroves. We can arrange Mechanized country boats (Semi House Boat) for backwater boating & visiting shrimp farms & paddy fields in the nearby islands The bird life here will simply command attention. The cool breeze from the Vembanad Lake backwaters behind the homestay along with the sweet sound of the various specious of birds visiting our property will not only enthrall you but also will be an experience of a lifetime. We also have a newly built Traditional Kerala style RIVER FACING COTTAGE. This cottage is constructed just behind our Heritage Home in the year 2011 in the traditional Kerala style. It can also be called as a miniature of our Heritage home, with modern amenities. The bed rooms have modern style bathroom attached. The host can also arrange for Ayurvedic Body Message, Ayurvedic treatments, Panchakarma, Yoga, Meditation, Counselling & Physical Fitness in an Ayurvedic Care Center in Cochin (4 Kms From Our Homestay) which is having experienced and qualified doctors and therapists. The homestay is very close to Kumbalanghi, Kerala's first model tourism village. You can visit Fort Cochin, Dutch Cemetery, Princess street, Kerala Kathakali centre, Folk dance, Indian Classical music, Indian Classical Dances & Marshal arts (Kalaripayat), St. Francis Church (Vasco Da Gama Church), Santa Cruz Basilica, Dutch Palace, Asia's oldest Synagogue (Jewish Synagogue), Spice Market, Jew Street & Jew Town, Dharmanath Jain temple at Mattancherry, Willingdon island, Hill palace, Ernakulam marine drive & Boating in Marine Drive, Vallarpadam Basilica, Mangalavanam Bird Sanctuary, Parikshith Thampuran Museum, Veega Land water theme Park, Cherai beach & Palliport (Pallipuram) Fort, Sri Sankara Math, Kodanad elephant training center from here. FACILITIES Complimentary Traditional Kerala style Breakfast for all our guests. Veg & non-Veg food available on request. Guest can operate our Chinese fishing net. Watch the Sunset & enjoy the cool breeze, sitting beside our Backwaters. Hot & Cold water available 24 Hrs. Free Wi-Fi internet usage. All rooms are Mosquito proof, very spacious with modern amenities and bath attached. Lovely garden & Lawn to soothe you. Sight-Seeing Tips. Car Parking Facility. We also Arrange upon our Guests request. 1. 24 Hours Air port, Railway Station Pick-Up & Drop. 2. Taxi or Auto rickshaw for sight seeing. 3. Houseboat tours (Day Cruise as well as Day and Night stay) at Alleppey backwaters. 4. Tickets for Kathakali Play & The Make-up, Martial Arts (Kalaripayat), Indian Classical music & Indian Classical Dances in a famous Kathakali centre in Cochin. 5. Ayurvedic Body Massage, Ayurvedic treatments, Panchakarma, Yoga, Meditation, Counselling Physical Fitness by Qualified Doctors at an Ayurvedic Care Center in Cochin (4 Kms From Homestay) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverside Heritage Homestay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing