We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Woods-Bethlehem
Ranked #15 of 202 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful atmosphere”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is our second trip to India and a return to Greenwoods which is a very special place for us, as well as our hosts Sheeba and Ashley. The house has a gentle colonial feel set amongst tropical vegetation. What could be better waking in the morning,listening to tropical birds calling and a kingfisher on a branch outside our window overlooking a small pool. Sheeba and Ashley are as special as their beautiful homestay. Chris and Saffron

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    79
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
50
197
53
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Everything about this place was wonderful. The owners were so friendly and kind, even giving us a piece of fruit cake when we arrived in the middle of the night. The breakfasts on the rooftop garden were lovely, and the rooms were homely and comfortable. The only problem was the large numbers of mosquitoes, I guess because there was such a lush garden and a little, stagnant pond. I know other guests had similar problems. I highly recommend this place, but take repellent and spray and a plug in to avoid being bitten!

Room Tip: The old ones attached to the house downstairs are very cute and homey
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Sheeba, Ashley and co. are among the nicest people you will ever meet. They are truly wonderful hosts who will bend over backwards to make your stay wonderful and full of memories. The setting is pretty cool and the rooftop breakfasts are a tasty, authentic, Indian smorgasbord. Their recommendations for restaurants, shopping, sight-seeing, massage or transport won't steer you wrong. And everything is done with giant smiles. Hugs are complimentary.

Be aware that Green Woods is simple accommodation. We were given a new room on the ground floor that hadn't had fly wire put over the vents yet. That got sorted on our second day, but it did mean that for the first couple of nights, the mosquitos were fairly rampant. In this price range, you might have thought that air-con and wifi were included. They're not. The nearest internet cafe is in the centre of town and quite a walk away. But it's not too inconvenient because you'll be down that way a lot.

We stayed for a week and wouldn't have stayed anywhere else. Can't wait to get back to this place. Green Woods has given us precious memories that we will never forget, and for that it can only get an excellent rating. Go in with an open mind, make yourself at home, buy yourself some good herbal mosquito repellent, and enjoy the great homely atmosphere and unrivalled hospitality of Sheeba and Ashley at Green Woods Bethlehem!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Such a beautiful location, really green as you can see from the photos. Sheeba was incredibly helpful, and made us feel totally at home from the moment we arrived. She really is an angel - and will not be forgotten in a hurry. Whenever I visit Fort Kochi again I will return to this place. It's a little out of the way, but it is so worth it for the place and the hosts. Massive recommendation, we stayed in Sept '11 and it has stayed warmly in my mind since then.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was a great place to stay if you want to go to Fort Cochin. The homestay was very homey, relaxing, and welcoming. It was tempting to just stay there all day. The hosts were very helpful and totally spoiled us by taking care of the logistics of booking our backwaters trip and transportation to our next destination (Thekkady). Also, it's quite close to the main part of town, just a 15 minute walk. If you can get a room here, definitely do so.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We started our trip in India with Fort Kochi and stayed and the Green Woods-Bethlehem for 3 nights. It has been a wonderful experience and we really felt at home from the beginning. We planned on staying 2 days only but kept on trying to stay longuer, even if there was no more place.

Sheeba and Ashley carefully look after their customers and really try to make your stay in Fort Kochi the best. They are always available and keen on helping with whatever you need.

It has been the perfect home for the start of our trip in India, and we have not felt like that anywhere else.

Looking forawrd to seing them again soon in the near future.

Jo & Barth

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the 1st floor in the main house, and the room was really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joachim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at Greenwoods for 2 nights and it was the most pleasant stay we have had in many months. The rooms are very clean and the terrace seating is the most amazing place during mornings and evenings. Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashutosh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
6.4 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#16 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Woods-Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Woods-Bethlehem

Property: Green Woods-Bethlehem
Address: 11/236A,Kurishingal House | 11/236A, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#24 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Green Woods-Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods-Bethlehem Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Green Woods-Bethlehem Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing