We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elite Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Old Courtyard(Kochi (Cochin))
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rasa Hotel(Kochi (Cochin))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arches(Kochi (Cochin))
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Park Avenue(Kochi (Cochin))
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Brisbane Lodge(Kochi (Cochin))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Crystalica Residency(Kochi (Cochin))
View Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel(Kochi (Cochin))
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Koder House(Kochi (Cochin))
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Neemrana's Le Colonial(Kochi (Cochin))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Victory Dawn(Kochi (Cochin))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveler rating
18
26
12
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
26
12
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprincess streetbakery cafean internet cafefort cochintravel agentspicy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 61 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

In the heart of Fort Cochin this is a place for hearty breackfast,although you will not find anything exquisite muffing and croissants are palatable and they serve also good idly in the morning.The look is casual retro and this is nice.A caratheristic place.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
Thank josephcastellino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Lived in Fort Cochin for a couple of months late 2011. Did not stay here but used the bakery numerous times and the restaurant for snacks and "meals ready" lunches. Bakery had best bread in town and yummy creative tarts and pastries all at reasonable prices. Freshly baked daily for the most part. Chai served after 3:00 pm. "Meals ready" fare at lunch is a feast and reasonably cheap if you don't add on a meat dish that is not part of the meals ready for that day. One of the few places in the the tourist hub that gets local business folks for lunch. Food in our experience was clean and tasty. Service can be ok but sometimes indifferent. Have never used the menu so can't comment on the regular menu food items. Have never used the garden dining area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RheaGray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for approximately 1 week during May 2012, many positives impressions that I recall: rooms are clean and taken well care of and owner Joy is very friendly and even goes out of his way for guests which surprised me. Due to a 30 minute power outage the streets were extremely dark and I was unable to find a saloon for a shave, so owner made the surprising effort to DRIVE me in his car to the saloon..I did not expect this!
Regarding the hotel itself, I stayed during late May and non-AC rooms are priced very fairly at 500rs for singles and 600rs for doubles. Cable tv with good reception in rooms. Beds are comfortable, ceiling fan was excellent, bathrooms were clean. Occassionally some noise in the morning from downstairs bakery (I am a light sleeper) which was a slight issue for sleeping in late. Another plus worth mentioning was that numerous times my friends and I arrived late at night after main hotel entrance was closed but Joy and his wife never had problems letting us into hotel through the back entrance by simply ringing the outside bell. German bakery (the apple tart is quite good) is located in front lobby of hotel which gives it a unique feel and cold drinks, bottled water and snacks are available in small lobby shop til late night. There is also a garden restaurant which we didn't happen to try...all in all a very nice stay, recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johndillani2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This place isn't a bad choice in itself. Location is great, staff very friendly, comfortable and clean beds. Only thing that ruined my stay here was the disgusting smell of the bathroom in room 101. When I was showed the room, the fan was turned on at full speed so I didn't think anything of it. Once the fan went off the smell from the bathroom was very overwhelming. Checkout the other rooms. Minus the bathroom situation this place is actually very convenient.

Room Tip: Smell from the bathroom in room 101 was disgusting! Check out other rooms!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

After many years coming to Fort Cochin, I decided to stay at the long running Elite Hotel on Princess Street. My wife and I arrived early in the morning by the first ferry from Ernakulam and despite persistent pleas by commission seeking rickshaw drivers insisted on being deposited at the Elite. It had been 21 years since I last stayed on Princess Street and wanted the central location, close to what passes as action in this still sleepy town.

Our room was clean and spacious and reasonably priced, especially considering its location. Every morning the staff in the restaurant were happy to make up a pot of good (not Nescafe) coffee and a chai for my wife. The second generation owner tells me he never pays commission and is able to keep his prices down because of this.

The restaurant is OK, though meal timings are a little perplexing with many menu items not available until after 7:00pm. Especially good is the bakery with its wide assortment of cakes, cookies, and if you're early enough, hot out of the fryer jelly donuts. Their south Indian dishes are good,and the prices lower than any other place in town.

All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for great location and budget prices.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Head_Teaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews