We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family home stay”
Review of Sajhome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sajhome
Ranked #4 of 207 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely family home stay”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Sajhome in September. Saj and his family were wonderful hosts. We were given a map of the area which was super useful, and Saj gave us an overview of his suggested walking tour and restaurants. Restaurant suggestions were great, we had some very tasty meals.

The rooms in the hotel we're spacious and clean. We stayed in two rooms (we returned to the hotel after a 4 day trip) one on the ground floor at the back which was nice and quite, and one on the 1st floor with a balcony which was a bit noisier but we enjoyed the balcony.

The breakfast was delicious. We were even offered breakfast before departure at 4am, very accommodating.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachaello_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for your precious time for this post and it is glad to read that you have enjoyed our rooms, hospitality. service, all the travel arrangements and homely food.

Hope that you would give me another oppurtunity to serve you again.

Cordially
Saj m fmly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    240
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
236
643
179
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Sajhome is run by Saj and his family who do a tip-top job at providing an excellent service for good value. My wife and I spent our first and last nights in Kerala at Sajhome, and it was a great place to stay, and somewhere we looked forward to going back to after our travels. The rooms are great, with clean en suite facilities and hot water (!!) as well as A/C. Saj knows the local area of course, and gives you an informative rundown on Fort Kochi when you have a minute, and the best places to visit. His family were a delight to meet and his youngest daughter Natasha sang a fantastic rendition of 'A Few of My Favourite Things' from Sound of Music, and if you're lucky, you might get to hear Saj sing ;-) Make sure you drink some of Saj's delicious mango (or other fruit) lassi as well, great way to start the day. Couldn't fault a thing.

Room Tip: Both the rooms on your left in reception/entrance were great, we stayed in each.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernesto_Perez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your valuable input and we are all delighted that you and partner have enjoyed our tiny accommodation, food, all the suggestions and tips.

Cordially
Saj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Sajhome is in a great location and easy walking distance to all the main sites. Be aware though the map of the area is slightly confusing and you may end up getting a little side tracked. The breakfast made by Saj's wife was delicious and it was great to be able to try different things each day. The rooms were clean(and cleaned each day) and the aircon worked great. The only thing is that the bathroom in the twin room was extremely small and this meant you had to get changed/dry in the room and if travelling with a non partner this was at times a little awkward.
There was great security out the front by way of the ATM security guy late at night and we organised our pick up from the airport and a tuk tuk to the train station through Saj at a reasonable price. This was one of the most expensive places we stayed and there are plenty of cheaper places in Kochi but felt the hospitality offered by Saj was fabulous and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunTan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for your precious time for this feedback and we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay, our homely food, all the suggestions and arrangements

Hope that you would give me another oppurtunity to serve you again in future

Kind regards
Saj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Saj and his family made us very welcome during our recent stay. The rooms are spotless and the hospitality is 1st class.
Taxis, tours and local eating guides were arranged (but not forced on us).
This guesthouse is doing everything right!


Ask for a rendition of "A few of my favourite things" by his talented daughter.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowdyraul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for your excellent post and for your precious time for this review. I am really glad to know that you have enjoyed every part of your stay, our food, suggestions and all the arrangements.

Hope that you would give another oppurtunity to serve you again in future

Cordially
Saj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late at night with a flight from Delhi and got a pickup from the airport. From that moment the staff of Saj Home took care of us very attentively and were reading our minds.
At the Homestay we found nicely furnished rooms, well prepared for our arrival. Everything is immaculately clean. In the morning we got a wonderful breakfast with fresh pineapple juice and whatever we wished for. The staff gave us some very helpful hints on were to go and recommended some nice places to us. Saj invited us for a charity event, which gave us a wonderful insight into daily life in Kochi. Things one can only experience when travelling individually.
We can highly recommend Saj Home. Great hospitality, very attentive service, a home away from home!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for your precious time for this feedback and we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay, our homely food, all the suggestions and arrangements

Hope that you would give me another oppurtunity to serve you again in future

Kind regards
Saj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Sajhome for three nights in late August from my first contact with Saji he was wonderful answered all my questions and organised our airport pickups etc Our flight was 4 hours late arriving at 2am and it was so lovely to see the fantastic spotlessly clean room that was awaiting us. The breakfast's were fantastic and we looked forward each morning to see what delicacies we were going to get. Would highly recommend this warm friendly place to everyone.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank katgregmky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for your precious time for this feedback and we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay, our homely food, all the suggestions and arrangements

Hope that you would give me another oppurtunity to serve you again in future

Kind regards
Saj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful homestay for 4 nights in early September and then returned for another night a week later. We decided on Saj Homestay after reading many other travellers reviews and were so happy we did. Saj and his family are beautiful hosts. The homestay is in a great location within easy walking distance to all the sights and rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We had a delicious different Keralan breakfast every morning on the balcony with fresh fruit juice. Nothing is too much trouble for Saj, he will guide you to the best safest places to eat, what to see, organise transport, tours and anything to make your experience in Kerala wonderful. He organised a very nice taxi driver to pick us up at the airport and when we returned a week later to do a 2 night tour to Munnar which Saj organised for us in a lovely homestay we requested Ramesh for our driver to Munnar. He is a lovely young guy and a really safe driver and we had 3 great days around Munnar with Ramesh who has great knowledge of the area and where to take you and what to see. Thankyou so much Saj and family for a wonderful first introduction to India leaving us with great memories.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for your precious time for this feedback and we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay, our homely food, all the suggestions and arrangements

Hope that you would give me another oppurtunity to serve you again in future

Kind regards
Saj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.6 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
207 reviews
5.8 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#3 of 30 in Ernakulam
417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#3 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#15 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sajhome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sajhome

Property: Sajhome
Address: Federal Bank ATM Building | Near Kunnumpuram Junction, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#10 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#16 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sajhome is located right at the heart of Fort Kochi. All the tourist attractions are 5-10 minutes walkable distance. You are staying with a Kerala family. So you can enjoy Kerala delicious food and provide genuine tour information, further travel assistance, Arrange taxis, flight tickets, Train tickets, Bus tickets, Cultural dances, Martial arts, Indian classical Music, Genuine Ayurvedic Massage, Accommodation in next destination, Kerala Package tour, 24 Hour overnite House boats in Alleppey or in Kumarakom, 3-7 hours Village backwaters cruise etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sajhome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sajhome Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Sajhome Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing