We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An easy stay in kochi”
Review of Sajhome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sajhome
Ranked #4 of 219 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I had an easy stay at Sajhome. His correspondence leading up to the stay was very clear and i felt confident my small single room would be fine . it was and not at all small for one person. It had a verandah as well. It was very clean and hot water too. Breakfast was very nice and Saj tries hard to sort out your problems and send you in the right direction. I thought the location was great and that alone would encourage me to return.

Room Tip: Make sure you reconfirm before your stay and if you forget the address just remember its near the fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asiamate54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your valuable time for this post and I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay, homely breakfast and all the other arrangements

. Hope that you would come back again to Sajhome in future

Cordially Saj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

The trip advisor reviews made us choose this hotel/homestay above all others and we were not disappointed. Right from the moment of our arrival to our departure, we were well cared for. Welcome drinks, breakfasts and tea on request were perfect and healthy. Advice was spot on- from where to eat, to what to see, trips to go on, and where to get some tailoring done... We got brilliant seats to a really good cultural event, and were encouraged to go to the current Biennale art festival in town. Every recommended restaurant was brilliant!
When we forgot all our charger cables for cameras/phones etc, Saj arranged them to be sent to our next hotel. Wonderful service. Faultless over 4 days and nights.
To cap it all, he gave us a personal concert of his very professional singing.
His wife and daughter were a delight too. The small room was kept clean, and the bathroom whilst tiny,was fine. Excellent value for money.
Saj homestay certainly deserves all the accolades and awards it has won, and beats many 5* places hollow. A convenient place to wander around Fort Kochi from with 3 wheeler scooters . Easy walking distance to the Chinese fishing nets, as well as both ferry connection jetties.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arunrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Manager at Sajhome, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for your precious time for this post and I am really glad that I could provide few of my services to you and you are impressed and happy with all the arrangements and suggestions for your recent tour in Kerala. Hope that you would come back to Sajhome in future

Cordially
Saj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Sajhome for two nights in Jan, 2013 and had a great stay. Saj is a very generous host, helping us plan our stay in Kochi, getting us primo seats for performance we wanted to see (on day of), and always delivering more than promised.

For example, first morning we're there, I'd already finished my breakfast, and my wife asks for some hot chilies to complement our breakfast (Idli and Sambar, plus fresh fruit and fruit juice). Saj asked if anything was wrong with the food, and we commented that we really enjoyed spicy food and thought the food could use a bit more of a kick. Remember, I've already eaten -- it was a good breakfast, but toned down a bit for western palates. So Saj's wife (or their cook) makes us both a whole new batch of Sambar that's much spicier and ends up being the best breakfast of our 3 week trip! Second morning, our food shows up spicy and delicious again -- they definitely remember what you ask for!

Room Tip: Rooms off the street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveg_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for your precious time for this post and I am really glad that I could provide few of my services to you and you are impressed and happy with all the arrangements and suggestions for your recent tour in Kerala.

Hope that you would come back to Sajhome in future

Cordially
Saj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We chose Sajhome based on the tripadvisor reviews, and to be honest we did not get disappointed at all. The location was right in center of Fort Kochi and one can pretty much cover all the attractions by walking. Room was clean, and the Kerala breakfast with fresh pineapple juice was awesome. Saj himself was very open in guiding on what to do, where to go etc. We do hope to come back again in future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KalyanBh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for your precious time for this post and it is glad to read that you have enjoyed our rooms, hospitality. service, all the travel arrangements and homely food.

Hope that you would give me another oppurtunity to serve you again.

Cordially
Saj m fmly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in Fort Kochi with Saj/Ali and his family (and friends), staying there for 5 nights. Up front, Saj was very open in saying this is not a 5* luxury spa, which suited us perfectly. We were looking for somewhere more like a homestay, which would be a bit more relaxed, homely, friendly, and good value for money. Sajhome was a perfect fit, and we were very happy with our choice. They offer a wonderful all you can eat brekkie, continually offering more and trying to make sure you have all you could want. The rooms are simply but very effectively decorated, and we personally really liked the homeliness of it.

Things to note: They ask guests to remove shoes at the door, which is fine, and ensures it keeps the interior that bit cleaner. They don't offer food apart from breakfast, but are very helpful in recommending local restaurants, and we had a lovely dinner on the first night based on Saj's suggestion. Sajhome is also a dry establishment, so they ask that you don't drink on the premises. They offer a number of excursions, as well as transfers to/from the airport, which we took them up on, and proved very cost effective. It is based about a 15 minute walk out of the centre of Fort Kochi, which is a very pleasant stroll away, and they have a balcony where you can while time away. The whole of Fort Kochi suffered occasional power cuts while we were there, due to the monsoons, and general state of the slightly scary power lines.

During our time there we booked a number of activities with Saj, including:

- ayurvedic massage at a local hospital - very relaxing, surprisingly thorough(!?!), and a great local experience
- visiting the elephant sanctuary at Kodanad - wonderful!
- a houseboat trip and overnight stay on the backwaters of Kerala - lovely, but I was hoping for more fish/seafood, so was ever so slightly disappointed by the chicken curry (I have to say that this was exactly as advertised, I just didn't read the blurb properly)

All in all, a really pleasant stay, and I would certainly recommend Sajhome as a based in Fort Kochi.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for your precious time for this post and I am really glad that I could provide few of my services to you and you are impressed and happy with all the arrangements and suggestions for your recent tour in Kerala.

Hope that you would come back to Sajhome in future

Cordially
Saj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Sajhome is just as amazing as everybody writes!
Our Room was clean, (also according to european standards :-), the one and only time in our whole stay in India housekeeping incl. fresh towels was done every day.
You will get a very professional and personal explaination about what you can visit in the area.
At least the best of the best: THE BREAKFAST!!! - home-cooked Keralastyle food by Saj's wife.
Back home we miss the fresh pinapple juice at morning.
If we ever come to Kochi again we wouldn't stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monaco84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for your valuable time for this input and we are all glad to read that you had a wonderful time at our tiny accommodation.

Hope that you would give another chance to serve you again in future

Cordially
Saj n fly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Sajhome is affordable family run homestay.It's clean,comfortable and in easy walking distance to the sights in Fort Cochin. Saj, the proprietor, is very friendly, helpful and professional.His recommendation that I travel to Munnar was excellent. He kept my back pack for me while I was away.Saj arranged an airport pick up and drop off for me as well as a wonderful Ayruvedic massage. I really enjoyed the traditional breakfasts,as they were well prepared and tasty and made a change from the usual egg breakfasts that are offered by many other establishments. My room was simple and comfortable. I highly recommend this homestay to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for your precious time for this post and I am really glad that I could provide few of my services to you and you are impressed and happy with all the arrangements and suggestions for your recent tour in Kerala. Hope that you would come back to Sajhome in future

Cordially
Saj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.0 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#12 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,084 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#2 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#3 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,420 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#13 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
796 reviews
5.8 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 30 in Ernakulam
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sajhome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sajhome

Address: Federal Bank ATM Building | Near Kunnumpuram Junction, Fortkoch, Kerala, India, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#16 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $34 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sajhome is located right at the heart of Fort Kochi. All the tourist attractions are 5-10 minutes walkable distance. You are staying with a Kerala family. So you can enjoy Kerala delicious food and provide genuine tour information, further travel assistance, Arrange taxis, flight tickets, Train tickets, Bus tickets, Cultural dances, Martial arts, Indian classical Music, Genuine Ayurvedic Massage, Accommodation in next destination, Kerala Package tour, 24 Hour overnite House boats in Alleppey or in Kumarakom, 3-7 hours Village backwaters cruise etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sajhome Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Sajhome Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing