We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We like Sajhome”
Review of Sajhome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sajhome
Ranked #3 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We like Sajhome”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at Sajhome for 8 days just before Christmas to see the Cochin Biennale. We were there over Christmas 2011 as well. Both times it has been just right for us — very friendly and reliable with bookings and travel planing etc. The rooms are a good size and comfortable and India breakfast on the balcony a treat.

Room Tip: We like the rooms at the front with a balcony to watch the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for your vaulable input and it is really happy to know that you had a wonderful time at Sajhome and hope to meet you in future

Cordially
Saj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    240
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
235
643
178
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Saj homestay exceeded any expectations we had when booking a room at the last minute. Saj (the owner) was exceptionally accommodating, booking an extra room nearby for our additional family members due to all rooms being filled and inviting them over for breakfast free of charge. This place really embodies the concept of a homestay and we felt so welcome with the whole family offering their hospitality. Our meals were great, the rooms were clean, and all facilities were in working order. In addition, Saj offered up his local expertise and assisted us in booking the rest of our Kerala visit. Do yourself a favor and stay at Sajhome when visiting Fort Cochin.

Room Tip: Call ahead; they might justifiably lack any vacancies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your valuable input and we are all to read that you and family have enjoyed our tiny accommodation, food, all the suggestions and tips.

Cordially
Saj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at Sajhome - clean rooms, helpful staff and an interesting breakfast every morning...if you're interested then it's easy enough for the owner to hook you up with many of the daily excursions available to visitors to the area, and it's well positioned for one to wander the streets of Cochin too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBarbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your precious time for this post and happy to know that you had a good time with Sajhome

Sincerely
Saj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed with Saj and the family. As most people say the rooms arent luxurious but this is by far overtaken by the hospitality and service provided by Saj and the family. Our flight was delayed but someone was there to receive us and provided us with a very late breakfast which was much appreciated.

Breakfasts were varied and a choice of local Kerelan dishes or eggs in any format with toast and tea.

After 50+ emails Saj arranged all our needs for our whistle stop tour of Kerala including train to and hotel in Varkala, house boat in Alleppey, driver to and accommodation in Munnar as well as an overnight stay next door as he couldnt accommodate us on our return before our early departure to the airport.

Saj provided us with some good quality information for good restaurants (Oceanos is the best but doesnt sell alcohol) and some of the sites to see including the Jewish Synagogue, St Francis Basilica, Chinese Nets, Kathakali etc.

If you want to buy a local SIM card speak to Saj as he can arrange but do not go to the robbing gits on the crossroads who took my money and didnt deliver on the credit!!

We were fortunate with the weather and was able to walk everywhere including taking tea at the Fort Hotel every day :-)

I would be happy to provide any further advice on using Saj and his services.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigPaul9967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your valuable time for this post and I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay, homely breakfast and all the other arrangements.

Hope that you would come back again to Sajhome in future

Cordially
Saj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have only written about 3 reviews. This fully deserves recommendation.
From the moment we decided on a homestay Saj was fantastic. He helped us with all of our connections and booked a backwater overnight stay and a further homestay further south. The rooms are good, not luxurious but everything you need. We had a balcony which got the late afternoon sun (room 4). Breakfast is excellent. Western or Kerala style. Have the local is my advice.
The wifi is a bit hit and miss but the family are always on call and it resets in a minute.
We tried to book a cookery class through Saj but for very good reasons the usual lady was unavailable. Saj arranged for his family to do a special class for the two of us in his kitchen. It was excellent. And, because he had been unable to arrange the 'real one' he wouldn't accept any payment. Fantastic service.
I would suggest a visit to the beach at Cherai which takes about an hour by tuc tuc but is very clean and quiet (and has a good bar).
All in all an excellent stay.

Room Tip: We liked room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johoward17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and it is really happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay, our food and all the servies we have provided

Hope that you would give another oppurtunity to serve you again in future

Kind regards
Saj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The moment I entered Sajhome I was met with smiles. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They had good recommendations of what to do, where to go, where to eat, what to see, and how to get around. The breakfast on the patio was delicious in the morning and my room was clean and comfortable. When I left, I wished I could have stayed longer and will surely stay here when I visit Fort Kochi again some day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmilti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Sir & Madam,

It is really delighted to read your post in connection with your recent stay at Sajhome and I am really happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our tiny accommodation, in enjoying our breakfast and all the other arrangements.

Once again thank you very much for being with us.

Kind regards
Saj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Very nice place but most of all the owner is so friendly and helpful. We needed help to plan our three week stay travelling around Kerala and the owner told us very good places where to go and where to stay.
Breakfast was very nice and we loved the fresh pineapple shakes :)
If ever coming to Kochin again, for sure this is the place where we are going to stay :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dioris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for your glowing review and I do express all of our sincere gratitude for the same. It is really glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay, our homely breakfasts and all the suggestions and arrangements.

Look forward to meet you again in near future at Sajhome

Sincerely
Saj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.6 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,379 reviews
5.8 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
769 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#16 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sajhome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sajhome

Property: Sajhome
Address: Federal Bank ATM Building | Near Kunnumpuram Junction, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#9 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#16 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sajhome is located right at the heart of Fort Kochi. All the tourist attractions are 5-10 minutes walkable distance. You are staying with a Kerala family. So you can enjoy Kerala delicious food and provide genuine tour information, further travel assistance, Arrange taxis, flight tickets, Train tickets, Bus tickets, Cultural dances, Martial arts, Indian classical Music, Genuine Ayurvedic Massage, Accommodation in next destination, Kerala Package tour, 24 Hour overnite House boats in Alleppey or in Kumarakom, 3-7 hours Village backwaters cruise etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sajhome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sajhome Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Sajhome Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing