We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Walton's Home Stay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walton's Home Stay
Ranked #10 of 442 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A beautiful old colonial house in the heart of Fort Cochin, the homestay's rooms are nestled around a pretty and very secure courtyard. We stayed in two different rooms over four nights and both were clean and comfortable (the mattresses were a little too soft for us but that's just down to personal preference).
We loved our daily breakfast which is made freshly to order in the kitchen by Mama Walton - she makes the best fried eggs! And we loved that all the guests sit around one big table which makes breakfast a very sociable occasion.
Mr Walton is a fountain of knowledge and always happy to help.
Great stay and would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich and Anja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    49
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
166
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

very well placed, the owner Sir Walton is such a man, very well educated, passionated about books that can be shared in the entrance of the house, very nice garden, good breakfast. nice rooms.very quiet. Very good home stay compared with others, good price.

Sir Walton was very good in advising us on places to see, good restauramnts or not depending on our tastes, even supporting me with my personnal project provided me keys to meet the right people.

In life you may be lucky to meet character, he is one fo those you remind of!


Tres bon emplacement, belle maison, sens du service et de l accueil, aux petits soins, de beaux echanges. Des personnalites a rencontrer!

Room Tip: we had the bungalow, perfect for a home stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annasoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Walton's is a friendly, immaculately clean home stay with en-suite rooms of quiet simplicity around a leafy courtyard in the heart of Fort Cochin and within easy walking distance (two minutes) of a range of restaurants, coffee shops, books shops, and the waterfront decked in Chinese fishing nets. Breakfasts are not elaborate ... just simple fare of fruit in season, plenty of toast and jam, tea and coffee, and eggs. You won't run out of reading material as Walton's has its own book shop where books in several languages are for sale or swap. Excellent value for money and unbeatable convenience.

Room Tip: A few of the rooms have small verandahs looking onto the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annamagnussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was here for 3 days last December. I felt so much at home that I decided to stay here again. The correspondence prior to arrival was perfect. Mr.Walton is reliable, helpful and efficient. Although the time of arrival at the airport was rather late, the pick up was punctual and check in was smooth.
Last time I stayed in the "Garden Cottage",which was quite comfortable and quiet. This time"Suite" was provided. This room also faces the garden and even more spacious. Maybe the best room in this place.
Breakfast prepared by Mrs. Walton is always tasty and relaxing.
In this place even heavy rain you can enjoy!

So I was reassured that when I come to Cochin, there is always a home.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy sitting at the terrace and watching birds,both "Suite" and "Gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrottingloner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were very happy to accidentally end up in Mr. Walton's wonderful home stay. Our room was spacious, very clean and have private seats on a small balcony overlooking a beautiful walled in garden that was part of the property.

Mostly we enjoyed the friendliness of Mr. Walton and his wife, and his great service in providing us with some books about the history of fort Cochin, one even in our own language, Dutch, which opened our eyes to the traces of the Dutch VOC history here. Without his information we would have missed this part of our experience.

Room Tip: Room T4 was absolutely great. not sure about the other rooms since we only stayed in this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joris4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Insightful, tactful, thoughtful and helpful, Mr. Walton is a great host. His small hotel is clean, well-maintained and in the mix. We stayed 3 days and even enjoyed them despite being under the weather.

Room Tip: We liked being in the garden area on ground 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earl667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

...couldn't have been happier!
Booked a single and was given a double which is meant to become a writers room in the lovely garden. LOvely lottle reatreat also Mr Wakton provided excelent recommendations on Restaurants etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatabarbarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,409 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#38 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#27 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#17 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walton's Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walton's Home Stay

Property: Walton's Home Stay
Address: Princess Street, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 442 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This relaxing and serene home stay is run by a Catholic family in a Centuries old Dutch building. It is centrally located on Princes street - one of the earliest streets laid out in Fort Cochin, beside the many shops, the Cozy streets, cafe's and restaurant's which are conveniently located near by. In this family run home stay, we pride ourselves on a high standard of friendly cheerful service which caters to the needs of the whole family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Walton`s Home Stay Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Walton's Home Stay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing