We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best in Fort Kochi”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Walton's Home Stay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walton's Home Stay
Ranked #9 of 425 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Agropoli, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best in Fort Kochi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We arrived at Walton's by chance, after needing to change homestay. Christopher is a really nice guy. Very honest and fair. We stayed here for most of our holiday, also in-between trips to other places. He is always very helpful and accommodating. The rooms are excellent, well equipped, clean, and very importantly WORKING Air-con. There is a beautiful little garden to the rear with sun lounger, full of flowers, mango and banana trees and birds. The breakfasts are very generous, with very quick service. I can't say enough good things about this place, as we were very, very happy here. It's centrally located on Princess Street, so all the Rickshaw drivers know how to find it. It's very reasonably priced, too. In general the standards of some of the hotels in Fort Kochi are a bit ropey. Save yourself the hassle, and just book here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ_Carvell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    49
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
165
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I did not enjoy this experience which was a pity as Walton's has charm and is well located. The room, off the garden/courtyard, was a good size and apparently clean, unfortunately we shared it with cockroaches. The bedding was grubby and ill-fitting and we did not enjoy comfortable nights despite a good a/c. The bathroom was adequate with a good shower, but a mean sized piece of soap had to last us two nights. Breakfast was adequate and consisted of fruit, unfortunately some of it was underripe, followed by crisp toast and then scrambled egg was offered to be eaten off our plates already covered with watermelon juice, so this was declined.

It was a disappointment as it could be so much better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardPWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

A really lovely and unpretentious place to stay in Cochin a warm welcome will be given to all when staying at Walton’s. Our very pleasant room, clean and airy with the sound of song birds in the morning was a great place to enjoy exploring Fort Cochin. We enjoyed the communal breakfast it’s always a pleasure to meet new people in such pleasant surroundings.

Room Tip: Go for a garden room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet_Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

You always wonder why review the place be it good or bad but its the experience you share and cherish with the rest of the travellers .
Walton's being as perfect as it comes across through the website and the pictures .
We had an amazing time in and around the place , the Inn is located bang on the Princess Street ....the heart of the Fort Kochi .... Sir Walton himself is an amazing person you will come across .
The place is a grandeur to birds(& bird lover) enriching senses with flowers , plants and green in the backyard with a small pond filled with fishes . The place is an eco friendly in many ways using Solar powered equipment . All in all a wonderful stay .... wish for longer stay next time .....with the book library (thats a surprise for book worms)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltabhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We loved every minute of our stay in Fort Kochi, mostly because of our great accommodations. The location is the best, Mr. Walton and his wife the best hosts. The place is clean, well maintained, relaxing. Everything makes for a perfect stay. The breakfast in the big communal kitchen were lovely. I cant thank Mr. Walton enough for the wonderful time we had at his place.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden room, the birdsongs in the morning were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperTravelerWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here although it's a bit more like a B&B than a home stay. It's an old home with a central courtyard, and well located. Mr. Walton was extremely helpful with recommendations for sightseeing. Mrs. Walton prepared a nice breakfast and was warm and friendly. No meals are available other than the breakfast, and the rooms are separated from the family quarters.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mggs48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you do decide to stay in Fort Cochin, this place is very central, the shower is good, the owner is helpful & the place is immaculate. There's not much to do in Fort Cochin though and absolutely everything shuts down at 10pm (which is strange when you are on holidays!) Also there aren't many activities to do during the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Woods-Bethlehem
Green Woods-Bethlehem
#15 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fort Bungalow
The Fort Bungalow
#6 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Good Karma inn
Good Karma inn
#4 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fort Bridge View Homestay
Fort Bridge View Homestay
#24 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walton's Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walton's Home Stay

Property: Walton's Home Stay
Address: Princess Street, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 425 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This relaxing and serene home stay is run by a Catholic family in a Centuries old Dutch building. It is centrally located on Princes street - one of the earliest streets laid out in Fort Cochin, beside the many shops, the Cozy streets, cafe's and restaurant's which are conveniently located near by. In this family run home stay, we pride ourselves on a high standard of friendly cheerful service which caters to the needs of the whole family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Walton`s Home Stay Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Walton's Home Stay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing