We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great homestay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Walton's Home Stay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walton's Home Stay
Ranked #10 of 424 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reutlingen, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great homestay”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Walton's Home stay.Mr Walton is a very nice,helpful and correct host.The homestay is well located in the center of Fort Cochin.Rooms and common homestay area are very neat and tidy.Breakfast is good with omelette,toast,butter,jam and bananas.The staff is very friendly as well as Mr Waltons wife who also prepared the breakfast.
Good value for money!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c2008p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    49
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
165
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is the best place we've stayed in our entire time in India, Mr Walton and his family are friendly and provide excellent service, nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are immaculately kept and thoroughly cleaned every day, linen and towels were spotless and breakfast was great, the location is excellent right in the centre of Princess street but the rooms are set in a courtyard arrangement at the back of the building which means they are quiet and relaxing. Nice extras like the map and local info Mr Walton provides and huge onsite book exchange are great bonuses. This place is great value for money, I would thoroughly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ground floor room in the garden has a TV while smaller upstairs one doesn't, if this is a desire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AKKL82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We faund Mr.Walton home stay via L. Planet .It was great experience ,very clean and great service I highly recommend Mr.Walton house.Our room was with AC with nice little garden around .We will defenly return to this magical place .

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1ABOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Lovely home-stay with several rooms but unfortunately most rooms were full and we had only 1 room available so no choice. Room was fine and Mr. Walton was super with lots of good info. Great place to stay in a very good location. Its more of a larger building than a single house with rooms.

Room Tip: Book ahead in high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hk-trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Mr.Walton, the hotel manager, couldn't be any more welcoming if he tried. He showed us a room and then when we wanted to stay he got us to sit down and gave us the low down on Ft.Cochin. He gave us a map on which he had marked numerous restaurants/cafes/attractions and even described how to get to each one, this he said would make our stay easier and cheaper - no auto-rickshaws needed!
All his recommendations were very good! He also offered us the laundry service which was very handy as that was first on our list to do! He gave us a laundry bag to put our washing in then we gave it back and then he returned the bag the next day with the clean washing, simple.
He also arranged both mine and my boyfriends taxis to the airport which we were charged the correct price for and not the 900IR my second hotel manager tried to charge me!

The hotel room it's self was lovely, very clean, smelt amazing - fresh lemons- and was cleaned every other day. Hot water, the travellers favourite comfort after 3 weeks solid travelling and cold showers. Breakfast was included in the price, simple but very nice - eggs cooked however you liked them and toast with the choice of butter and jam, tea and coffee.

I would definitely recommend Walton's to anyone who wants a nice, clean room with hot water, breakfast in a hotel with lovely hosts and in a central location. Oh and there is a bookshop too!

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are cooler so you save money on only having a fan and not AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelBH91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 weeks in the south of India.
We loved the people and stayed in some fantastic hotels but Mr Walton's homestay was the real star of the trip.
Clean, welcoming, safe, comfortable and homely.
Mr Walton is the perfect 'host' with his recommendations and professional manner.
You MUST stay here when in Fort Kochi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernLass1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hotel is managed by a charming old man that will explain to you all you can do in town by drawing on a map. His desk is in a middle of a library with book to sell or simply hire if you are a resident. Room I take was upstairs the lovely garden with banana tree. The room was 1000 rps without AC and the cleanest I have seen in India so far! The bathroom is immaculate and with real hot water. The hotel does no breakfast but you can have a nice one at 'teapot' nearby. We had really good rest there!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Woods-Bethlehem
Green Woods-Bethlehem
#15 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fort Bungalow
The Fort Bungalow
#6 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heavenly Home Stay
Heavenly Home Stay
#1 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Good Karma inn
Good Karma inn
#4 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walton's Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walton's Home Stay

Property: Walton's Home Stay
Address: Princess Street, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 424 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This relaxing and serene home stay is run by a Catholic family in a Centuries old Dutch building. It is centrally located on Princes street - one of the earliest streets laid out in Fort Cochin, beside the many shops, the Cozy streets, cafe's and restaurant's which are conveniently located near by. In this family run home stay, we pride ourselves on a high standard of friendly cheerful service which caters to the needs of the whole family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Walton`s Home Stay Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Walton's Home Stay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing