We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Mr. Walton”
Review of Walton's Home Stay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walton's Home Stay
Ranked #11 of 442 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Awesome Mr. Walton”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Lovely home-stay with several rooms but unfortunately most rooms were full and we had only 1 room available so no choice. Room was fine and Mr. Walton was super with lots of good info. Great place to stay in a very good location. Its more of a larger building than a single house with rooms.

Room Tip: Book ahead in high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hk-trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    49
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
166
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Mr.Walton, the hotel manager, couldn't be any more welcoming if he tried. He showed us a room and then when we wanted to stay he got us to sit down and gave us the low down on Ft.Cochin. He gave us a map on which he had marked numerous restaurants/cafes/attractions and even described how to get to each one, this he said would make our stay easier and cheaper - no auto-rickshaws needed!
All his recommendations were very good! He also offered us the laundry service which was very handy as that was first on our list to do! He gave us a laundry bag to put our washing in then we gave it back and then he returned the bag the next day with the clean washing, simple.
He also arranged both mine and my boyfriends taxis to the airport which we were charged the correct price for and not the 900IR my second hotel manager tried to charge me!

The hotel room it's self was lovely, very clean, smelt amazing - fresh lemons- and was cleaned every other day. Hot water, the travellers favourite comfort after 3 weeks solid travelling and cold showers. Breakfast was included in the price, simple but very nice - eggs cooked however you liked them and toast with the choice of butter and jam, tea and coffee.

I would definitely recommend Walton's to anyone who wants a nice, clean room with hot water, breakfast in a hotel with lovely hosts and in a central location. Oh and there is a bookshop too!

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are cooler so you save money on only having a fan and not AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelBH91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 weeks in the south of India.
We loved the people and stayed in some fantastic hotels but Mr Walton's homestay was the real star of the trip.
Clean, welcoming, safe, comfortable and homely.
Mr Walton is the perfect 'host' with his recommendations and professional manner.
You MUST stay here when in Fort Kochi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernLass1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hotel is managed by a charming old man that will explain to you all you can do in town by drawing on a map. His desk is in a middle of a library with book to sell or simply hire if you are a resident. Room I take was upstairs the lovely garden with banana tree. The room was 1000 rps without AC and the cleanest I have seen in India so far! The bathroom is immaculate and with real hot water. The hotel does no breakfast but you can have a nice one at 'teapot' nearby. We had really good rest there!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The owner Mr. Walton says that he was inspired by the lines of a poem by Sam Walter Foss “Let me live in a house by the side of the road and be a friend to man.” Friend he is. From the first call enquiring about availability to the last day of checking out, enjoyed every bit of it. At the time of check in Mr. Walton hands over a map and some pages with information in and around Fort Kochi which is of great help.
The striking aroma of lemon oil greets when you open the door of the room. That’s to keep the mosquitoes at bay we were told. They have 9 rooms, all with AC and attached bath. Most of the rooms open to a small well kept garden. It’s the chirping of birds that wake you up in the morning. Mr. Walton’s office is full of books which one can borrow or buy.
Wonderful location, the famous Chinese fishing nets, the cafes, the shops all just around the corner from this place.
As it was officially of season, we got the room at discounted rate. But we missed the home cooked breakfast also!
But whenever we are in Cochin next, this will be the address for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms opening to the backyard garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memayuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

While searching for places to stay in fort Kochi I came across this homestay and read many positive reviews about this place but most of them were from foreign people at that moment i decided I will surely write a Desi review of this place for all my Desi Brothers once I am back so here I am writiing the review...First things first the location of homestay is quite near to Beach its like 5mins walk so thats a plus point, the room we stayed in was very neat and clean and was spacious enough and the bathroom's were clean as well so again plus point...and now the best part the owner of the Homestay Mr.Walton he is such a generous person so soft-spoken always ready to go extra mile to help you out and his maps of the Fort Kochi are awesome..he has very good contacts as well the taxi guy he arranged for us and the Houseboat he arranged for us in Alleppy were amazing as well..so all in all a very fulfilling experience for me...so If you are in Fort Kochi you must try to stay here.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Travellingapassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We moved across from another hotel on Princess Street which we really did not enjoy. Despite the short notice, Christopher the owner fitted us into one room for a couple of nights and then we had to move for the last evening to a down graded room, but that was no problem. The rooms were spacious and well decorated with excellent air con that was needed. Breakfast was lovely with fresh fruit and eggs cooked how you wanted when you arrived. Delicious.

The main thing we loved about this hotel was Christopher himself, he gave us a great local map and told us all the fantastic places to check out. We literally filled every spare minute with great stuff thanks to his advice. He also advised us to go and see his friends George and Maria at the Fort Paradise Garden Cafe for a cookery lesson with Maria, which was by far the highlight of our trip. Much advised!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,409 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#37 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#26 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#14 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walton's Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walton's Home Stay

Property: Walton's Home Stay
Address: Princess Street, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 442 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This relaxing and serene home stay is run by a Catholic family in a Centuries old Dutch building. It is centrally located on Princes street - one of the earliest streets laid out in Fort Cochin, beside the many shops, the Cozy streets, cafe's and restaurant's which are conveniently located near by. In this family run home stay, we pride ourselves on a high standard of friendly cheerful service which caters to the needs of the whole family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Walton`s Home Stay Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Walton's Home Stay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing