We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow
Ranked #1 of 14 Idukki B&B and Inns
Ubud
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“mixed feelings”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We recently stayed at Kalarickal for 3 nights which felt like one night too long. A lovely setting
with beautiful flowers and a very short walk to the fascinating cardamom plantation. We paid what I think is a rather exorbitant $150 per day (meals included). The meals were only average. By contrast we had spent 4 nights on a houseboat just prior to arriving at Kalarickal that had a very small kitchen and were served veritable feasts of inventive and delicious Kerelan cuisine every day. I also found the mattresses not up to western standards so had uncomfortable sleeping and the room wasn't touched during our 3 days there. I think with some serious attention to detail and investing in proper mattresses and better food the place would benefit greatly but as I mentioned it's far too expensive for what they provide. It's also just off a busy road and there's a fair amount of traffic. Since it's at a curve in the road there is a great deal of honking that disturbs the peace.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joelasinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerinSam, Owner at Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking time out to give us your valuable feedback. We would like to take this opportunity to reply to your comments. Firstly, with regard to your comments about the tariff being exorbitant we would like to clarify that it was not us who charged you the sum of 150$. We deal with few well known Tour Operators in this field and we believe that they are highly professional in this field. We observed that they have different pricing policies on which we do not interfere. However, we believe that they will not quote such rates without strong ground reasons.Please feel free to check our tariff on the site as we believe it is far from exorbitant.
Secondly, as far as your grievance with regard to the mattress being uncomfortable is concerned we would like to inform you that it has been our constant endeavor to give our guests a true experience of Kerala hospitality. I’m sure you must have noticed this from the building, furniture, cuisine etc. Following the same theme we also use mattresses made from coir which is one of the few remaining cottage industries in the State. We have never had complaints about the same being uncomfortable and we can also make this statement from our own experience as they are the very same mattresses we sleep on while at the property. However kindly accept our apologies for the same.
Thirdly, with regard to your complaint that the food was average, I can promise you that this is the first time that we have ever had any complaint with regard to the food. Our team has always been able to satiate both Indian and western palates alike and therefore it is very surprising to hear these comments. It would be of great help if you could kindly elaborate on exactly why the food was average. Additionally, we had given you our personal mobile number in case something was not up to standard. I am certain we would have been able to solve any issue with the food had you given us a call.
With regard to the fact that the rooms were not touched during your stay again we offer our sincere apologies. Our property is more of a home away from home and not a hotel. We have informed our staff to give the guests their privacy and not to enter the bedrooms unless the guests have requested them to do so. Kindly let us know whether you had asked for your room to be cleaned and despite that request it was not done. If that is the case the staff will definitely be taken to task.
As far as the property being close to a busy road is concerned we can only say that it is always peaceful and quite and the traffic is only heard when one ventures close to the road. But we guess that is the small price that one has to pay in this day and age while staying at properties that are as easily accessible as ours. Thank you once again for you comments as they will go a long way in making sure everyone’s stay at Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow is a comfortable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    4
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I cannot say enough about our fantastic stay at Kalarickal. The grounds were beautifully maintained with glorious flowers everywhere, the front garden provided an excellent place for the children (two four year olds) to play and the verandas and hammock were ideal for relaxing and enjoying the quiet surroundings of the estate. The accommodation was ideal, we had the three rooms in the main house which provided us with comfortable bedrooms and room to relax inside. The staff at Kalarickal were wonderful. We had guided tours of the plantation and the cardamom drying house. The food was outstanding, we enjoyed every dish prepared and ate in excess, thank goodness for the hiking and walking. Our group stayed for five days and would gladly have stayed longer if we had the time! Thanks to everyone at Kalarickal for making our vacation so memorable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerinSam, Owner at Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking time out to give us your valuable feedback.We are so happy to hear that the whole group had a wonderful time at the bungalow.
We look forward to host you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I saw some beautiful pictures and had booked three rooms in this so called bungalow for two days. An advance payment of RS 10000 was asked and I paid.Due to personal reasons, I wanted to cancel this but after speaking to the owner Sam, I came to know that money cannot be refunded. It was mentioned in the email he had send earlier and hence I couldn't do much other than to request. Hence having paid the money I thought of going to this place.
Thekkady being the main attraction nearby my first disappointment came when I found that it is a 45 min drive to thekkady.i missed the boating on day one due to this. The accommodation was in a shed though we'll furnished. It reminded me of the cattle shed in front of my ancestral house from outside. Interiors were well done .very clean bathrooms. Breakfast though free is not useful as it gets ready only by nine am. The saddest part is the food.it costs 300 RS per head irrespective of what you take. I went out and bought food due to this. Overall this was a big disappointment for me. Not worth 3500 a day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manoj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerinSam, Owner at Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest thank you for your review. We would like to take this opportunity to reply to your comments.
Firstly, with regard to the refund as you have very fairly mentioned we inform all our guests at the time of booking that the advance paid will be refunded in the event the cancellation is made more that 7 days before the date of booking. Unfortunately, you wanted to cancel the booking with only three days remaining before you and your family were supposed to check in. Despite the fact that we had no obligation to make the refund, since you had informed us that you may not be able to make the trip for personal reasons we sent you a mail offering you a credit for 50% of the advance that could be used over the next 6 months. Kindly correct us if we are wrong in this regard.
Secondly, with regard to your comment that it was not brought to your notice that Thekaddy is 45 min from the property. We have always maintained and brought it to the notice of our guests that we are situated 30 kms away from Thekaddy which is a 45 min drive. Kindly go through our Facebook, Tripadvisor pages and also the initial mail that was sent to you along with the terms and conditions.
With regard to the fact that breakfast was served at 9 am we would like to clarify that unless informed otherwise by the customer this is the standard time that breakfast is served. In the event you had informed the staff that you wanted breakfast at an earlier time I can guarantee that they would have fulfilled your request.
We are a bit confused by your review of the accommodation since you describe it as " Interiors were well done .very clean bathrooms" and then compare it to a cowshed. We would definitely like your input on whether the rooms were not correctly depicted in the photos. In any case we have now recently updated ourselves on google maps and our customers can view our property on google360 which give the customers a 3D view of the accommodation and the property.
As regards your comments that lunch and dinner are charged at Rs 300 per head. Once again we inform all our guests about these charges in our initial mail at the time of booking. Additionally, we also make it clear that these meals will be prepared only upon request. Therefore there is no compulsion that the guest must eat at the property in the event he or she does not want to.
We sincerely hope the responses to your comments are adequate and would love to host you once again in the hope of changing your opinion and experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrissur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were a family of three adults and one child. Stayed on the property for one day(would have stayed longer if we had the time) .It is a 65 acre farm tucked away in the pristine beauty of the ghats, but easily accessible as it is on a main road, about 8 km from kattappana town. The property has 7-8 rooms and a lovely garden with a small lawn, all maintained very well. The estate manager,Mr Thankachan, assisted by Das cater to all your needs without being intrusive. Breakfast is included in your room rent, lunch and dinner are extra. The food is delicious and homely and cooked by Malar,Das's wife, We were accomodated in a large room in a building in front of the main house,and had our food in the dining room of the house. An extra cot and bed was placed with plenty of room to spare-ideal for three people. There are smaller rooms too, in the main house. All rooms and bathrooms are spotlessly clean and well fitted out. Das took us on long walks around the property and cleared all our queries about cardamom farming. They also showed us the rooms where cardamom is dried and explained the whole process.We were even gifted a small packet of estate fresh cardamom on our return- a very nice touch indeed,
The weather is cool and comfortable during day; nights are colder and you can have room heaters on request. The place we found is centrally located as far as all the major tourist attractions in Idukki are concerned. Idukki dam(30km), Thekkady(30km), Ramakkalmedu(18km) can all be reached inside an hour. And Idukki is one of the most beautiful districts in Kerala. So if you want a great holiday in Idukki at an affordable price tag,and feel like a welcome guest at
home rather than a tourist this is an ideal getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docveedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerinSam, Owner at Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time out to describe your experience at the Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow.It was indeed a pleasure to host you and your family.Looking forward to hosting all of you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Well, if you are used to exclusivity....and your shirt's hand cuff shows your initials, instead of some brand...and your Waterman in your pocket shows your initials....yes, then this place is for you.

A wonderful place with wonderful hosts !! Thankachan, Dasan and his wife Malar (who is a wonderful cook)...all of them will ensure that your stay at this place is a wonderful experience.

From this place to Idikki arch dam and other places is some 45 mins drive. Same time to Thekkady too. And Munar is 78km far. If you have GPS and a good car/suv, select some wired route as we did and explore/enjoy less seen/explored tea estates, waterfalls.

These ppl have a big pond and you can see fishes jumping !!! i think they will alow you to go for fishing as well, please check. Another attraction is, you can see how cardamom getting ready for the market.

I can say, this is a wonderful place to stay, relax, enjoy some yummy food and explore Thekkady and other places.

I think they can add a teapoy and a room heater (for winter) that would be better idea.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AkAshly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerinSam, Owner at Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You so much for taking time to give us your valuable feedback and for posting the pictures.
We will definitely consider your suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our family of 5 recently visited Munnar and stayed for one night at Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow. It was such a restful, beautiful, and peaceful stay. They place was immaculate, spacious, and well maintained. The grounds were stunning, with breathtaking gardens, lawns and colorful flowers lining every property. The food was really good and the staff was incredible. The staff was on top of everything, serving us with a smile and even anticipating our needs before we mentioned anything ourselves. Our children still say it was the highlight of their trip to India. We only wish our stay was longer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NirupaMathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerinSam, Owner at Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback.Glad that the whole family had a great time at the Bungalow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We absolutely loved this place. The grounds were breathtaking, the rooms were nicely appointed and clean, but probably the best part was the service. The meals were all excellently prepared by a very friendly and thoughtful staff. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting the area and looking for a wonderful resort experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nayanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idukki
23.4 mi away
Urumbi Hill Palace Plantation Resort
13.3 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
486 reviews
14.8 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 14 in Chithirapuram
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
18.6 mi away
Green Berg Holiday Resorts
7.2 mi away
WindHaven Resort
WindHaven Resort
#4 of 27 in Idukki
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow

Property: Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow
Address: off State Highway 19 | Puliyanmala town, Kattapana village, Idukki 685515, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Idukki
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Idukki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bungalow is almost a 100 years old and is situated off Thekkady-Munnar State highway-19, 30 kms from Thekkady and 70 kms from Munnar, Kerala. Surrounded by cardamom plantations, this homestay is a perfect getaway to get closer to nature. A walk in the cardamom plantation with the host,fishing at a nearby pond and bonfire are activities that can be arranged on request.Idukki Dam, Periyar Wildlife reserve, Munnar are some of the tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow Idukki, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing