We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at Wind Haven”
Review of WindHaven Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
WindHaven Resort
Ranked #4 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Idukki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2014

After visiting Thekkady we reached the hotel in the evening and Ms.Mini and team gave us a warm welcome during that cold evening. After a nice spicy tea we went to explore Ramakkal rock and later to the tallest twin statue. Sadly, we couldn't see the night view of Tamil Nadu cities due to fog and mist caused by the monsoon rain.
The restaurant offered very good north Indian dishes and really loved it. Room is very spacious and was spotlessly clean.
Staff led by Ms.Mini was very helpful and friendly. Since our stay was only for one night and need to catch up the houseboat next morning, we missed Ramakkal top station (Strongly recommended by Ms.Mini). The extra distance traveled from Thekkady was really worth visiting Ramakkal and enjoying the hospitality of Wind haven staff.

Room Tip: The suite is arguably the best and if can't afford, then go for the luxury rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhishek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitamani, Owner at WindHaven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thanks for staying at Wind Haven and your excellent review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and the beauty of Ramakkal. sorry about the fog.
looking forward to welcoming you in a sunny season (Feb - May).

wishing you all the best.

Anita Mani.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 190 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have landed in Wind Haven resort as part of our Kerala tour and we were really looking forward a good break after a disappointing stay in Munnar. We decided to chill out our first day here and the people here (2 brothers and a sister runs this resort) were more than happy to make sure that we enjoy the stay at it's best. We were guided to a famous rock (Lord Ram Rock) and then taken to the wind farm and the spice farm. Thanks, we had a great day and just started to forget our bad days.
Day two came as a surprise as Capt.Noble led us to Ramakkal top station through the sandalwood forest and it was the most enchanting experience we had during our trip in Kerala. It is a must see spot.
Since June is a quite month for business in the hills, we had been lucky to have the presence of Capt.Noble's family as his two children stole the evening show with their keyboard and vocal talents.
The Trip to Thekkady was an enjoyable ride indeed though it takes about 45 - 50 minutes.
Food was again like an icing in the cake and we are very grateful to all at Wind Haven for making a wonderful stay like family.

Room Tip: Go for the Sunrise suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrethKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitamani, Owner at WindHaven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thanks for the excellent review and I am glad that you had enjoyed the trekking with my husband. I am also glad that you have liked the family atmosphere and our surroundings.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

With best wishes.

Anita Mani.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

WE had booked for 3 days.. This So called Resort is is nearly 30 to 40km away in a remote place from thekkady.. very difficult to travel after the sunset. We reached the Wind haven resort at 9.00pm that is after 2hrs. of journey. The resort was completely empty. Only 4 people are there to look after the place . They appear to be from one family husband , wife and 2 children. But they try there best to satisfy the customers. A group of 6 Men came to the resort at areound 11 pm. they left the resort . So we packed up next day early in the moring to Munnar and stayed at Green Regd near the market.

I would suggest people not to visit this resort as it is far away and no guest staying there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vivek301271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitamani, Owner at WindHaven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review about my resort.
1) During your stay we also had a group of 13 guest staying in 5 other rooms and your allegation is totally baseless. The reason you stated for early departure was "Your child do not like crowded resorts". Moreover, it is not your concern how many people are staying in the resort as long as we provide the service you deemed to deserve.
2) Your driver was very noxious and drunk on the night and you had demanded accommodation for him free of coast that was politely turned down my Ms.Mini and had guided you to provide at the nearest lodge at a coast of Rs.150. However, you had no intention of providing it and wanted us to provide it free of coast.
3) You had checked out of the resort on the very next morning without even bothering to look outside to see the beautiful place as your demand for the driver was your priority rather than enjoying your trip to Thekkady and Ramakkal. Ms.Mini tried her level best you to stay back explore the beautiful place, but in vain.

Sir, Please be honest in writing reviews as our hard work and sincere effort in serving people at the best possible way is being punished severely by such silly reviews.
I wish you all the very best in your future travel and life.

Best regards,
Anita Mani.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This so called resort was rated as number 1 in Idduki and we opted for it after trip advisor gave it top billing . However, the location is 36 km from thekkedy though resort claims to be in thekkedy.But, more than the distance it was the pathetic maintenance of the so called resort (no features of a resort).The room had a 22 inch TV placed at a distance as if planned for a 46 inch TV,the curtains were somehow hanging on top of rods, there were two pillows put inside single pillow cover to make it look bloating and the pillows were dirty beyond imagination.Also the locks of rooms were dysfunctional.Overall the rooms were messy and very disappointing.However, the icing on the cake was the food which was horrible and served even more horribly.The curd was stale..chapatis uneatable and a distinct bad smell in food.Overall it seemed as if the ones currently running the resort are trying to close it and probably resting on past laurels.Not worth the money even if you get it for less than a thousand.Avoid this so called resort if you are a serious traveller
Abhishek

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AbhishekSrivastava75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitamani, Owner at WindHaven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you fore your review. I strongly challenge that your accusations are exaggerated indeed.
Thekkady (Periyar reserve) is 350 square KM. and we have clearly indicated that it is about 40 minutes drive from the center.
There is no point in arguing about it as you found everything wrong in my resort. However, I will continue to provide the best service and maintain the cleanliness to keep our winning edge in he industry.
I wish you all the very best.

Anita Mani.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Sir,

On our trip to Ramakkalmedu we enquired all the way to locate a good resort. We visited a few resorts and ultimately settled for Wind Haven.

Our experience was wonderful. Not only did we get reasonable rates but also good clean and spacious rooms. The food was tasty, excellent in quality and sufficient in quantity.

Hats off to the staff who were very hospitable and informative.

Ultimately we decided to choose Wind haven for a company trip in the near future.

Yours faithfully,
For VISESH AYURVED (I) PVT LTD


Managing Director
(Tom Mathew)

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank viseshayurved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Location: Trek up to Rama Rock mountain. Visit Columbine park, Anchuruli Tunnel/Falls, Vineyards, Echo Point
Had a relaxing and pleasant stay at the hotel with family. Room had good views of the adjacent forest and mountains. In room entertainment included TV with set-top box. Bathroom had hot water available at all times. Breakfast and dinner menu were decent (had lunch outside). Staff organized campfire on request and were very knowledgeable about surrounding areas, places to visit/skip (based on season of year)

Pros: Hotel is easy to find on Google Maps, accessible from either sides (Tamilnadu/Kerala). Staff is courteous and facilities are aplenty.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hemanthsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We have landed in this amazing place after a few days of Indian Tour and it was our return trip to Kerala after exploring the beaches and backwaters. This hill station this small hotel with a set a of wonderful people made our stay a memorable one. First of all the smile of people in the front is so genuine and their body language was so positive and the eagerness to serve us was taken us by surprise. The team leader Ms.Mini took us to Ramakkal mount and the tallest statue on the first day and gave a good trip advice for our 2nd day for Periyar boating (We were disappointed as there was no tigers and just had to satisfy with some deers) and the vineyards of Cumbum.
We had our marvellous trip experience on the 3rd day morning when Ms.Mini led us through the sandalwood forest and ultimately reached the little known "Top Statio of Ramakkal". The beauty and the feeling is unspeakable and we spent our entire day there and returned only during tea-time.
The food was excellent as we tasted all their local dishes with less spices.
The hotel is well maintained and kept very clean indeed. sunrise view and the night view of adjoining state was a bonus for our trip.

Room Tip: The sunrise suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ClemyBpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idukki
20.8 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
968 reviews
10.7 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#22 of 43 in Thekkady
83 reviews
23.0 mi away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Green Berg Holiday Resorts
9.5 mi away
Edassery Resort Kattapana
22.8 mi away
Munnar Castle
Munnar Castle
#8 of 15 in Idukki
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WindHaven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WindHaven Resort

Address: Ramakkal, Idukki 685552, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Idukki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Idukki
Price Range: $26 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WindHaven Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wind Haven is located at the heart of Ramakkal tourist center, a hill station close to Thekkady, in Idukki district of Kerala. The USP of Ramakkal is it's amazing winds that guests into strong breeze throughout the year. Wind Haven provides excellent service to the guests and offer a detailed tour plan to explore Periyar, Ramakkal and Cumbum of Tamil Nadu and also arranges transportation and guides. A multi-cuisine restaurant within the premises offers delicious Indian and Continental dishes. Ayurvedic massage is executed by qualified personnel. The resort is operated by Capt. Noble Pereira, Mrs. Anita Mani and Miss Mini and we go all the way out to do our best to have our guest a wonderful time in Kerala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your WindHaven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
WindHaven Resort Idukki, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing