We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly cradle of wind”
Review of WindHaven Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
WindHaven Resort
Ranked #4 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Idukki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Very nice interiors, excellent suite room (where we were staying), view was fantastic facing Mt. Kuruvan and open sky. Very warm and helpful staff and good cook. It is very well managed by Mini Pereira who really filled the place with warmth, positive and inspirational thoughts, and awesome place. She kept our son nicely engaged and gave us the best service. She and her staff kept us as comfortable as possible. I would describe the place as a luxurious homestay rather than a hotel. Probably daily cleaning of the rooms and the bins would help those who stay for longer duration.
Advice for travel: It is some 5-6 hours from Kochi and 2 hours from Thekkady. It is advisable to stay at Kochi on your day of arrival and start for Windhaven the next day, for that way you will be fresh and have spare time left for some activity like trekking to Mt Kuruvan or Ramakoti.
It is a place for those who want to just relax and take out time to enjoy nature. Surely not meant for one night stays at all. We stayed there for 3 days and leisurely covered the windmill farms(~5 kms), Mt. Kuruvan (can be trekked up or reached by car) and Ramakoti Rock. Trip to Periyar was not that fruitful if have to catch the first boat ride that starts at 7:00 am. Best is to stay in Thekkady which has lot of homestays and hotels of variable range.
Overall, we had a memorable stay in Wind Haven and really wish Mini Pereira best wishes for all her future endeavors.

Room Tip: The suites or the rooms facing Mt. Kuruvan are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaishrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 192 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

We were booked in the Wind Haven as part of a 5 day tour arranged by makemytrip and we just don't have any idea why they chose this place. It is about an hour by car from Thekkady and added a lot of extra travel to both our arrival and departure days so I was expecting that there must be something pretty special to make them choose it. I'm still baffled about what that could have been.

There's a hill nearby that offers spectacular views over the border into Tamil Nadu though if we'd arrived 20 minutes later we'd have missed it due to the clouds rolling in. There's also a rock that's supposed to have Rama's footprints but in November when it gets dark early we didn't have time to go and check that.

Our room was on the front of the hotel and benefited from great views (when the cloud wasn't there) and it was enormous with a separate sitting room and bedroom though the division of space was illogical - massive sitting room with a teeny tiny tv so far away that it was like taking an eye test and there wasn't really anywhere comfortable to sit. By contrast the bed (thin hard mattress) was in a tiny space with barely room to walk round the bed. The bathroom was 'strange' and when we arrived completely soaked due to a storm which seemed to have blown in through the mosquito netting - loo roll totally soggy.

There was only cold water for showers - I wondered if they'd got solar power and not gained any heat due to the awful weather. The curtains were clearly new but of such shocking colours and textures as to have us in fits of giggles.

Everything was however spotless and they have wi-fi though I couldn't make it work but they offered their computer in the lobby which helped a little.Staff were nice but had forgotten to put any towels in our room. When we asked for towels the (very nice) manageress said "Oh, you want EXTRA towels?" - "No, we just want SOME towels" - careless.

Once the sun goes down there's nothing to do here but watch TV or read in your room in between the power cuts. Dinner was supposed to be available from 8 but was delayed by half an hour due to the outages. Breakfast next morning was weird - not supposed to start until 8.30 but they rustled up toast and eggs for us at 7.30. There is nothing else nearby so you have no choice but to wait and eat in the hotel.

Our driver was furious - no facilities for him, no food, no washing place so we were delayed because he had to go and look for somewhere to wash and had to wait nearly an hour.

I can believe this might be a great place for trekking and perhaps it's the fault of makemytrip for not making clearer why we were put in such a place.

On the plus side it's astonishingly quiet, we met some nice people for chats on the stairs and hubby has a collection of photos of the hilarious inspirational posters that hang in every room. Remember "Winners don't do different things - but they do thinks differently'' - sadly the 'different' about this place isn't a winning strategy.

Room Tip: Unless you have a reason to be so far from the city, book a place in Thekkady instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koshkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitamani, Owner at WindHaven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Dear Madam,

Thanks very much indeed for the review! We will see what measures can be taken to improve from our side so that such complaints shall not be repeated! FYI: Ramakkal has it's own attractions and it is too short for one to see if they come from Thekkady in the evening. We recommend two nights of stay here to explore the beauty of Ramakkal and visiting Thekkady.
Our resort is proposed to live with the nature rather than staying in crowded place.

Our suite room is liked by all our guests. However, we will keep your suggestions in mind for our next project.

Driver's are given room along with our staff and we provide food free of cost! However, we cannot cater for individual demands of drivers. Our first priority is our guests! Drivers are given night allowance to find their own loading by tour operators.

Our aim is to promote Ramakkal as a tourist destination and the satisfaction out of that achievement alone is our winning strategy. We could have easily started a resort in Munnar or Thekkady, but someone had to pioneer in promoting a destination and we decided to do that for Ramakkal. Finally "be a Gold finder and you will not miss the point anywhere".

With Warm regards
Capt.Noble Pereira and Mrs.Anita Mani.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Either due to travel agent or Hotel agent, we don't know, but for 2 nights thekkady stay we were provided this hotel. This hotel is too far away(45-55Km) & one and half hour strenuous journey away from Thekkady. For 2 day visit we had to waste our 6 hrs. Though the location & ambience is good it is only suitable for who requires only relaxation & nearby site visits. That too we had to fore-go because of mist in morning & evening
Breakfast was manageable & food too was just Ok. Service, less said the better. We don't remember how many times we had to call for hot water & breakfast during checkout. Our next trip was delayed by almost two hours.
Moreover there are no enough sign boards for way to hotel as well as way to Thekkady from hotel.
Overall it was forgettable experience

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avikool11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitamani, Owner at WindHaven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank your for your review and we have taken measures to ensure that our guest's needs are taken care with priority. we do apologize for the inconvenience caused by our service! Ramakkal itself is fine destination and there are plenty to explore and enjoy at any time of the year. We have posted sign boards every 5 Km on the way to Munnar and Thekkady.
As you are rightly said, Wind Haven and Ramakkal is an ideal place to relax after a hectic day out from sightseeing of many attractions around Thekkady and Ramakkal.

With warm regards
Anita Mani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Beautiful Location and good resort.. Service is Excellent...

Room Tip: Beautiful rooms... Good Tree House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marketing C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Around 3 pm we reached the Wind Haven, most of the kids and dads and Moms ready to hit the bed. At the first sight, the hotel did not look very appealing to me since it was a typical concrete structure standing apart from the green hills ( i personally would really have loved it to be more in harmony with the serene hills)
This negative side was however counter balanced by the tranquility of the beautiful border-village, the courtesy of the staff and the facilities inside - the rooms and furniture were fresh and neat, spacious and airy and well laid out. Just about 2 years old, the interiors of Wind Haven were done clean and done in a matter-of-fact way, evident care being taken to ensure good quality hardware - Jaquar bathroom fittings, RAK sanitary ware, Havells electrical etc, some things overlooked in many such places. And expectedly, they were all problem-free and perfect. 24 hour warm clean water and toiletries were grt.
But what made all the difference in this trip was the staff at this place - Mini Periera, the hotel Manager, and her staff Abhilash and Dijo, who had arranged for us all ( we were 4 families, with 8 adults and 9 kids) an evening of fun and entertainment with games and songs all of us really enjoyed. Earlier , the trek to the facing mount with the slight evening drizzle cheered us all up making us forget the good rest we owed to ourselves. Their attention and company continued at the morning trek to the beautiful "Ramakkal" peak . The view from this mountain top is breath taking, something which you cannot afford to miss if you've come this far. You'll also get a good view of the windmills- something not seen at any where else in Kerala (as far as i know) - from this vantage point.
Overall the short stay at 'Wind Haven' at this beautiful, quiet village was something unforgettable and where we would like to return to and would unhesitatingly advise our friends to try out, if you're the ones like me, trying to run away from the maddening crowds of typical 'tourist' locations

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony Facing /with a view of the mountain in front would be the second in seq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank HafizCutis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Me and my wife stayed there for 2 nights in the month of May 2011. My travel agent has recommended me to go to Ramakkal and avail the only resort available there. We were not in a mood to go there as we never heard of this place before. But just because it was a part of the offer which I received I thought of availing it or else it would lapse. We started from Cochin in the morning by an India and it took 5 jours to reach the resort.

On reaching the resort we found very strong winds blowing. I thought may be its a stormy season but on checking with the resort staff we came to know that this is how it is all year round.

We were allotted a luxury room (Room # 208) in the 2nd floor from where you can have a very clear view of the statue.

Now the best part: We were bowled out by the level of service offered by the resort. Right from the owner(Ms. Mini Parera) to the house keeping guys(all can speak English) indeed a very strange phenomenon in Kerala. I being a north Indian, can vouch that even the food offered by them is very much comparable to what one gets in Delhi/NCR region.
The owner of the hotel even escorted us in the morning for a trekking tour to Rama Rock(the place is famous for). She also shared various stories behind this place.

I have been to many places in India starting from Himachal -Delhi -Maharastra-UP -Rajasthan but I never seen such a level of 'CLASS' service.

Thank you very much Ms. Mini for the out of the box hospitality which you and your staff exhibited.

Rgds,
Shouvonik Bhattacharjee

Room Tip: The hotel staff says the best season being Nov-Feb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SonaiCochin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

It has been nice stay in wind haven resort; . staff at resort are very friendly and provides prompt and efficient service. special thanks to mini.. she even accompanied us to the local trekking site, they arranged campfire for us and they also actively participated in the evening cultural program
ramakalmedu is a beautiful place in the kerala tamilnadu border. the view from the top of the mountain is breath taking..steep cliff and view of the green valley of tamilnadu...really beautiful, one thing to keep in mind is that it is far from thekkadi and munnar so u have to plan the trip accordingly , but one day stay at ramakkalmedu ..the untouched and less explored hill station in kerala is realy worth

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sameerla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idukki
8.3 mi away
Hotel Eletaria Resort
Hotel Eletaria Resort
#39 of 45 in Thekkady
164 reviews
15.2 mi away
Sterling Thekkady
Sterling Thekkady
#19 of 45 in Thekkady
427 reviews
24.9 mi away
Green Berg Holiday Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wind Valley Homestay
Wind Valley Homestay
#1 of 2 in Ramakkalmedu
27 reviews
1.1 mi away
Punarjani Resorts
Punarjani Resorts
#2 of 2 in Ramakkalmedu
34 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WindHaven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WindHaven Resort

Address: Ramakkal, Idukki 685552, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Idukki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Idukki
Price Range: $22 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WindHaven Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wind Haven is located at the heart of Ramakkal tourist center, a hill station close to Thekkady, in Idukki district of Kerala. The USP of Ramakkal is it's amazing winds that guests into strong breeze throughout the year. Wind Haven provides excellent service to the guests and offer a detailed tour plan to explore Periyar, Ramakkal and Cumbum of Tamil Nadu and also arranges transportation and guides. A multi-cuisine restaurant within the premises offers delicious Indian and Continental dishes. Ayurvedic massage is executed by qualified personnel. The resort is operated by Capt. Noble Pereira, Mrs. Anita Mani and Miss Mini and we go all the way out to do our best to have our guest a wonderful time in Kerala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your WindHaven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
WindHaven Resort Idukki, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing