We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best! Thank you Solaman and family!”
Review of Yogalife Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kerala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yogalife Homestay
Ranked #46 of 2,272 Specialty Lodging in Kerala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful wonderful two weeks, thanks to Solaman I've fallen in love with yoga and Kerala. When I arrived I had a stomach bug and solamans family really looked after me, felt at home instantly. Nothing is too much trouble for Solaman and he really goes out of his way to make your stay very special. I would recommend staying at Yogalife to anyone and it's fantastic value for what you get. Thank you again Solaman and Priya! I look forward to returning in the future xxx

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Yogalife Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 108 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

Me and my husband stayed with Soloman, Priya and the boys for a week just recently. As the only guests we got private tuition in our yoga practise! As beginners this was a good thing and although the twice a day practise took it's toll it was well worth it. We now have the means to practise wherever we go and intend to continue with yoga on our travel!
The repeating rhythm of the day was very soothing and we felt very relaxed and soothed by the end of the week. The smells, sounds and music of the village life made a wonderful background to the days.
The whole family is super sweet, the food just fabulous and Soloman a great teacher.
We felt that this was a very unique experience and very unlike anything you will find in the tourist areas! We would highly reccomend!

Room Tip: The rooms by the side of the house are cooler
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sini k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed a few days at Solaman's Yogalife Homestay and had a room in the main house right off the dining area. The meals were very delicious, Solaman's wife is an excellent cook and for us although we have been travelling in India a lot, it was one of the first times we enjoyed Indian food already at breakfast.
We enjoyed the yoga lessons in the mornings and evenings and also the company of Solaman who was always ready to talk about India, the surroundings, ecc.
Solaman even came with us on a two day trip (450 km) because we wanted to do some river rafting and Kodencherry was not so easy to reach with public transport. He's still a new driver but it will take only a year or two more experience and he'll take his guests everywhere.
Even when we were on the two day trip, he gave us Yoga lessons, he's never to tired to please his guests.
If you want to experience Indian life and a remote location, practise some yoga and learn about Indian culture, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 240Teresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Solamon's Yogalife Homestay for 2 days in August and it was a great experience. We thoroughly enjoyed lengthy yoga practice in the morning and the evening - geared towards aspects of yoga we were eager to practice and improve on. Solamon is a patient teacher and very experienced. It was lovely practicing on the roof of his house when the weather was good, surrounded by the sounds of birds and wildlife. The food was amazing and his lovely wife let me into their kitchen to show me the secrets to her yummy food. Solamon's family were all wonderful and we had a good time playing games with his sons. Apart from that, the room was spacious and comfortable and there was a lovely porch with cosy chairs on which to relax and read. My husband also went on an afternoon hike around the area where Solamon showed him interesting local plants and natural features. Overall we had an amazing time - I only wish we could have stayed longer to really improve our yoga practice. I highly recommend Yogalife homestay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed for 4 days with Solaman and his family and really enjoyed my time. I was the only guest staying and felt thoroughly welcomed into the family. Solaman took me on day trips with his sons to the river and the elephant training centre. He also arranged trips to Munnar and Cochin. Priya is an amazing cook and I thoroughly enjoyed her cooking.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hessie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed for a few days in February and had a wonderful time. Solaman was not only gracious host, but a worthy guide to the area too. We were both beginners in Yoga and he showed us a variety of exercises. We stayed in the main house in a room right off the dining area and it was perfectly comfortable. We were a little worried that it might be difficult to find, but we took a local bus and then had a TucTuc take us to the village where his house is. Solaman really had our best interest in mind during our entire stay. He took us to a local quarry, on a nature hike, and arranged to have drivers take us to a local swimming hole on the river and several other attractions. He even went as far as to reprimand one of our drivers for slightly overcharging us and the driver returned the overcharged portion. If you consider the fact that you have home-cooked meals, yoga instruction, a valuable guide, and enough side trips to keep you busy for days, this is a fantastic value. We plan on returning in the near future.

Jonas and Aga

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jones J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed with Solaman and his family for a couple of nights after a yoga holiday in Cherai Beach Resort and I am so happy I did! I stayed with four other ladies from the yoga holiday and we all had the most amazing time. Solaman could not do enough for us, taking us wherever we wanted to go, a Tuc Tuc would always be waiting for us, and one of us would get on the back of his motorbike!! The only way to travel in India and an experience in itself! We all enjoyed walking, swimming in the Periyar River, shopping in the local town for spices, incense and banana chips, watching elephants being washed at the elephant sanctuary, temples and much more in our short stay. We enjoyed the company of Solaman's two young boys on some of our trips and they were a delight to be with. In between all our amazing trips we enjoyed some lovely yoga on the roof at sunrise and sunset to the sound of bird song, and then, if it couldn't get any better, we were treated to the most tasty homecooked food by Solaman's amazing wife, Priya. Cooked just how we liked it! Solaman showed us how to make traditional Chai and gave us recipes for our favourite dishes. The rooms were comfortable, ensuite and had ceiling fans which kept the rooms cool enough to sleep. Thank you so much Solaman and family for the experience of a lifetime, I will be back! Kerry O x

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kerala hotels
4.1 mi away
Hotel Dewland
Hotel Dewland
#59 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
107 reviews
9.9 mi away
Reminiscence Ayurveda Yoga Retreat
4.5 mi away
Elephant Pass Ayurveda & Yoga Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Hinterland Village
Hinterland Village
#1 of 116 in Ernakulam
140 reviews
133.1 mi away
Poovar Island Resort
92.5 mi away
Aquasserenne
Aquasserenne
#1 of 1 in Paravur
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yogalife Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yogalife Homestay

Address: Aliyattukudy House,Mudakuzha P.O. | Perumbavoor,Ernakulam District, 683546, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 2,272 Specialty Lodging in Kerala
Price Range: $28 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoga life homestay is in a private exclusive farm house in the middle of the country side yet closer to many interesting places to visit, Cochin International Airport, Near to Aluva Railway station, and closer to Cochin Munnar high way.The day start with Herbal tea, Morning yoga class on the roof top.Yoga class is enjoyable facing the rising sun,and the beauty and sounds from the nature.After breakfast it is interesting to go for walk,cycling around the village or go to riverside even swimming!. Our one day tariff includes two yoga classes, breakfast,lunch and dinner. Food is prepared afresh each meal with a variety of south Indian cuisines by your friendly host.We like to welcome the guests to enjoy our retreat that combines the best of rural charm, unique tradition and hospitality of Kerala and a revitalising regimen of yoga. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing