We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold beer, friendly people.”

Cochin Fort Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cold beer, friendly people.”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed next door to this restaurant at Fort Beach Service Apartments, and most afternoons found ourselves sharing a cold beer with other travellers in the outside seating area.
The food is OK but sometimes hit and miss. Staff great, prices average.
Great place to relax for a while off the busy streets.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusynRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    14
    5
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shalimar, Florida
Level Contributor
653 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Not bad, but nothing special”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant's food was good, but not remarkable either way. They do have wine and beer on the menu. The seating is all outdoor with ceiling fans for air movement. The staff is friendly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great flavour”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Situated 2 minutes walk from the vypin island ferry so it's great for a beer to cool down and get your bearings after arrival which is the purpose if our visit. On glancing at the menu there was just way too much temptation so the only way to deal with this was to give in to it after all we were on our holidays not on the run. Although not vegetarians we went for a couple of vegetarian dishes wit rice and naan all were absolutely delicious and oozing with flavour. There are tables inside and out portions are large reasonable priced and the serve ice cold beer and wine is available. We really enjoyed are time here one of those unplanned moments on our trip to Kerala that we will remember and will sustain us till our next trip.

Helpful?
Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good food, average hospitality”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were in Cochin in off-season (just as the monsoon struck actually). It is quite interesting to see a large tourism infrastructure (restaurants, hotels, cafes), but largely empty! Cochin Fort was one of the hotels we entered in the old Cochin town one evening, based on reviews on Tripadvisor. It was one-third full at peak evening hours (off-season being the reason perhaps). The menu is quite vast with a mix of continental, Kerala and north-indian dishes. There is a selection of Indian wines and 6 beers available. No hard liqour though. The waiter was friendly, but he appeared "busy" though, stricking loud conversations with his friends nearby. Food was quite good. We had Kerala chicken curry with Tandoor Paratha (he did not have Kerala parathas!). Not very expensive: dinner for two with one beer costing 500 INR.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daktre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“DONT GO!!!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This has to be the worst restaurant EVER. Ordered the tiger prawns and they were over cooked to the point of being rubber and completely uneatable. When we called the waiter to complain he got the chef to come down and said they were perfect and would not change them. We didn't want to stay there so got the bill and the prawn were on there which we didn't want to pay for so again got the waiter whom this time got the manager who agreed to reduce the bill. When he'd returned with the bill they had taken off 100 rupee (the prawns were 500) we didn't feel this was fair but we didn't want to make a scene so paid and left.
I will not recommend this place to my mortal enemy!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crille1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cochin Fort Restaurant also viewed

 
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Cochin Fort Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing