We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“But for the service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Poonja International

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Poonja International
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Mangalore
Cuddalore, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“But for the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We (2 adults and 6yr old kid) stayed at Hotel Poonja for 3 days from 25th Dec 2012. Its USP is its location. Thought it is an old building, it is well kept. They have efficient front desk personnel. Hotel was fully booked during our stay and I noticed, at times it takes more than 10 minutes to check in or check out.

All of them were acceptable and one could bear with.

What was not acceptable was their room service. It took atleast 30 to 40 minutes to get a cup of coffee. Same kind of service in their restaurant too.

Choose this hotel if you expect nothing room service. If you are with kids, toddlers and want to depend on room service, then this hotel is a NO, NO

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JP_On_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    64
    71
    31
    36
See reviews for
113
39
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Trivandrum, Kerala, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Hi....we checked into hotel poonja for a days stay, after an intial hunt for hotels in town, we finally settld in on poonja, initially was not sure how good or bad it was...but we found it good n functional..do not expect luxury, but neat and clean. rooms, toilets, air conditioners n tv are all old..but neverthless worth 1800 bucs...breakfast is simple,poonja can make it a better by offering a few more items - juice/oats/cornflakes/milk....it would have been really gr8!....
for those looking for a normal good stay at the heart of the city..i wud recommend ...cheers :)
in pic is our baby joanna @hotel poonja

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kiranbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I had stayed here last year in October when I went for a friends wedding and i really loved it. So I decided to go back here this June and what a disappointment it was. Right from the people at the help desk to the rooms. We initially had planned to stay here for 2 nights but we checked out the very same day we checked in. We checked in early in the morning and checked out the same evening. Firstly we reached Mangalore early in the morning at around 5. At the entrance, nobody helped us with our bags. The person at the reception acted like we disturbed him from his sleep. Secondly we had to go through 3-4 rooms before we finally closed on one. We felt we compromised with the room quality. It was an A/C room. But was very damp and smelly. We asked the service boy to get a room freshner which he did immediately. There was this flying cockroach in the room because of which my friend just could not sleep and it took me about half an hour to find it and bring peace to my friend. We had infact informed the service boy to get rid of it. He could not do it. So by the time all this was done, it was already 8 and we were really tired. The bed also was not that comfortable and within 3-4 hours, we were back up. We went around the city looking for other hotels and finally found on just across the street. Came back and checked out and checked in there. Don't remember the name of that hotel though. I was really disappointed with Poonja this time considering the last time room and service was simply awesome and this time, it was such a disappointment. Hopefully they get back to their old ways and keep up to repeat customers expectations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Savio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mangalore hotels

bangalore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel lodged in a commercial complex is just good for its location which otherwise is not worth the money being spent. The rooms are all old, smelly with creaking furnitures and window panes. Bathrooms are old fashioned and are smelly too. Ants run all over the place in the bathroom washbasin slab. Room service is good and in case you need to visit the restaurant yourself you need to run down to the basement of the complex where it is housed. Restaurant desperately needs an overhaul which is not at all attractive nor impressive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadhuG71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

It was a nice experience stayin in the hotel for 5 days. Breakfast is of a wide variety and a service is also worth. The hotel is located in the heart of the city which makes my work easy from shopping to business purpose. At the whole it was a pleasant stay at the hotel. Looking forward to coming back

Room Tip: Better to choose a room at higher floor to get the arial view of the city, and Arabian ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reethu1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is locted in heart of the city, just opposite to CityCenter which is best shopping mall in Mangalore & just a few yards away from Ideal Cafe the best Ice Cream Parlour
The reception is very good and check in is very quick. House kerping ok.Though the rooms are big they look outdated,the flooring and interiors sholuld be changed.Since the Hotel is almost 12-15 years old. The rates are little costlier when compared to the facilities provided.
The breakfast is good with very little options.
Inspite of drawbacks the location is excellent, which is most important.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sagarganesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

I have been to this hotel while entering at this hotel it gave me a warm ambience starting from reception staff to all the staff and while having my stay at this hotel i experienced this hotel has very great history of 24 years and each and every thing is personally taken care by the management that whenever i will visit mangalore i will stay at Poonja International also will suggest to my friends.

Room Tip: rooms on souther sides are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandhya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangalore hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mangalore International
0.2 mi away
The Verda Saffron
The Verda Saffron
#8 of 36 in Mangalore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Prestige Hotel
The Prestige Hotel
#5 of 36 in Mangalore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ginger Hotel Mangalore
Ginger Hotel Mangalore
#6 of 36 in Mangalore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Old Port Rd Mangalore
0.6 mi away
Goldfinch Mangalore
Goldfinch Mangalore
#4 of 36 in Mangalore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poonja International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poonja International

Property: Hotel Poonja International
Address: K S Rao Road | Hampankatta, Mangalore 575001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mangalore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Mangalore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Poonja International 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from Hotel Poonja International Mangalore . The booming west coast city with so many charming face. Imbued with a spirit all its own.A city bustling with commerce and industrial development. A center for education and banking. Abounding in cultural activity. Famous for its music and cuisine.Hotel Poonja International, located in the heart of downtown Mangalore, captures the essence of city and more. The grandeur and luxury of its appointments are a tribute to the Mangalore tradition of Hospitality. The 154 luxuries and well-appointed guest rooms at the Poonja International are tastefully furnished and designed to ensure your comfort. They include single and double rooms, non air conditioned or with individual air conditioning and deluxe suites as well. All the rooms are equipped with telephone and color television. YUVRAJ ( 11.00 – 15.00 & 19.00 – 24.00 )At YUVRAJ our multi-cuisine restaurant you can choose from a wide range of cuisine continental or Chinese, Mughalai or Vegetarian. The picturesque interior creates a unique ambience that will delight you while you dine.HIGH PLACE ( 11.00 – 15.00 & 19.00 – 24.00 ) The HIGH PLACE the bar houses a fine collection of exotic spirits. A cozy retreat at any time it has everything that just right to set you aglow.The hotels multi-cuisine restaurant offers the discerning diner a delectable choice from cuisine drawn from all over the world .The delightfully designed bar has just the right prescription to keep your spirits soaring.SABHA The SABHA our conference hall, comfortably house any gathering of up to 75. It is fully equipped with everything you will need for a successfully function. Fully flexible arrangements make it the perfect venuefor whatever you have in mind.Conferences get-together, parties, conventions and receptions take off to a great start with Poonja international’s well equipped conference facilities. Whatever your reason for visiting Mangalore, you will find there’s no better welcome than the one waits you at the Poonja International.The Hotel is just minutes from the bus stand and the railway station and within ambling distance of major shopping commercial and entertainment areas.Whether you arrive by air, road and train, you’ll find that all routes lead you to the Poonja International, the first choice of the discerning travelers.SAMRAT The SAMRAT, our banquet hall houses the gathering up to 300 Pax with all well equipped Banquet facilities.Bus Stand 0.5kmRailway Station 0.5kmAirport 17km ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Poonja International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing