We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Moti Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Moti Mahal
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Mangalore
Bengaluru, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located. The staff are courteous and helpful but they can definitely be more straight forward.
Phone was not working in the room, and they repeatedly assured of a change every time I complained. But I discovered in the evening that there was water leak near the wall connector so changing the instrument would be of no use. They could have accepted this and shifted to another room or something.
Wi-Fi not available in Non Ac rooms. Rooms are strictly average for the price. I had made the booking through Makemytrip but the hotel staff demanded extra charges (some luxury tax, etc etc) during check out and it took 15 mins of arguments for them to accept whatever the Makemytrip receipt said.
Pool was out of service for half the day.
Multi cuisine restaurant has good ambience but on the expensive side. The soup was very bad, so much we decided to get out of there. It did not justify its cost.
South Indian restaurant is good.
Mangalore has sultry weather most of the time, so made me wish I had booked the AC room.
The hotel did seem empty and the restaurants too.
The pool is nice and is good for a splash in the late evening too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbow_Smiles99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    64
    50
    17
    19
See reviews for
61
34
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on 26th October. We reached Mangalore in the evening and it was raining. This was the first 'good-looking-from-outside' hotel we found on the way and decided to stay here in a hurry. The reception and lobby area are impressive. They have a swimming pool and some good restaurants. We took a standard AC room @2500 + 25% tax. Room is spacious, bed was comfortable. They provide complementary breakfast. The front desk and room service provide prompt response. Only downside is they charge 25% tax on everything. If you want to go for local sight seeing don't take cab from this hotel's recommended travel agent(Mr. Roy). It's way too expensive.

Room Tip: We took standard AC rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBhaskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Not value 4 money. Booked non a.c standard room. 950+tax.Though they said cp plan while booking, at the hotel they said breakfast was not included. No hot water n the room. No proper ventilation. No wifi n the room. People at reception were not responsive. No proper response when i enquired about tourist places.

Room Tip: Don,t opt non a.c rooms. Not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rajangam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is my second experience staying here. The last time i stayed i had gone with a ac standard room but this time i went with the executive double. Like with any place there are usually good and bad things so lets start with the positive.
- Room was good. Flat screen tv ( i am a big tv fan so this was important along with a study table a mini fridge and a sofa in the room.
- the shower was awesome. Hot water whenever i wanted compared to last time when i stayed in the standard ac it took a little big of time to come on.
-Nice pillows and bed to get a good night sleep on.
- Fantastic doorman and Security. There was always a smile on their face and always willing to help with the luggage. This is a big positive for me as these are the people you see first.
- Air conditioners worked very well and i always had good sleep or the room was nice and cold.
Now for the negative:
- i saw a board on the side that this place teaches hotel management but apart from the security and door man no one else bothered to smile or say good morning or good evening. I mean you would think a place teaching professional courses would stress on this. Many times there were 5 people at the desk but they were lost talking to each other mostly.
-When i booked the room i was paying for an executive double but staying alone. When i took my fiance for breakfast they actually charged me for it. When i told the receptionist at the desk why am i being charged considering i am actually paying for the double her answer was u booked it as a single. So i said change it to a double. After a bit of confusion she was like sorry sir we cannot do that. Since it was pointless to argue i left it at that. But this is very poor. I mean some flexibility should be allowed considering i was staying in a double room and paying same rates.
- the breakfast wasn't that great. For those of you who like English breakfast this is a big disappointment. After charging me for fiances breakfast they burned the omelet. Not only that they tried to pass it off by serving it folded and inside out which was so wrong on their part. I mean how do u make an omelet burnt and then serve it to people. For the people who like the idlis and vadas this was nice. They specialize in this being from south india so it was very good. Suffice to say I did not eat there again after that incident even though breakfast was free.
-The toilet seat was broken.
-The bedsheets when i removed it fully had stains which were hidden by the comforter. These were food marks and i did not eat in the room so i don't know how these got here.
- On the first night when checking in I was told they would move me into a room with a queen size bed. That did not happen. I was waiting to see if anyone bothered with this but no one made a note and i got the impression they just talk at check in to make you book.

Over all a good experience but with a hotel that teaches hotel management you would expect them to do a whole lot better

Room Tip: Stay in the pool facing rooms if its not wedding season. This way you avoid the road traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aviseq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

- In July 2012 we checked in at 6:00 am into a standard double AC room for 4 nights. This was pre-booked on the phone with Moti Mahal itself and not from any website. Got 15% off on phone.
- The room initially allocated had a moving/broken toilet seat so he we asked the bell boy to repair it. But he called the reception and changed our room. Not bad!
- Pics of the new room are attached. It was comfortable but i guess if we had paid Rs 400 more per night we could have moved into an executive AC room on a different floor. These i believe are refurbished with newer linen, beds, curtains, bathrooms etc
- The room service was good. The cleaners did the rooms well whilst away. A nice swimming pool at the back. The lounge/concierge areas were new and modern. Excellent restaurant (s) and and in-house bar/pub. In terms of facilities within the hotel.. i would rate it very good.
- People on tripadvisor keep harping about the location of this hotel. Although agreed it is in a prime location, Mangalore is just another big town (small city for mangy's) with 80-90% of the good hotels within 5km radius from the center of the city. And because of the rain, humidity, short distances needed to travel and also number of people, one would inevitably have to use the auto/buses to go places. So my point is it doesn't really matter in which hotel you stay in Mangalore. If you are getting a good deal at another place .. don't hesitate to take it as they will be newer and cheaper for similar A/C rooms.
- The down side of this hotel were the grumpy looking & behaving staff. No jokes. No one from the bell boy to 4-5 inefficient staff at concierge, the room cleaners to the room service staff and even the Manager himself seemed to find it very hard to smile. Some of the staff looked like they receive a battering everyday :-) There was just one efficient lady at the concierge who knew how to work out the system but looked severely stressed as the other 3-4 assisting her didn't seem to have a clue with the process, system and other expected duties. Considering this hotel teaches Hotel Management they need to refresh their syllabus. BTW the door man did always put on a smile and salute .. fake maybe but he got the much needed tip for that :-)
- Breakfast was really good. Although we did miss the first 2 mornings we made it a point to go the remaining 2 mornings. The spread had chicken sausages & boiled eggs for Nvegs. Crisp wadas, set dosas, Idlis, Upma (the best), cut fruits etc. Juices and coffee to finish it.
- On the last day we checked out at 09:30 am. So in terms of number of nights since we checked-in it was 4 nights & 3.5 hours. BUT .. BUT they charged us for 5 nights. I realized it after paying our bills which had a lots of +'s and -'s. When i discovered it and questioned the concierge they told me since i had stayed longer than 4 x 24 hours (extra by 3.5 hours) i had to pay for an extra night. WHAT THE?? I became a bit aggressive and called for the Manager whose logic was unfathomable. He showed me some rate card which says "24 hours check-in/check- out" and since we had overstayed the 24 hour cycle by 3.5 hours we had to pay an extra night. Hahaha. I was losing it at this point but his reasoning was so silly that even the people behind the concierge managed to break a smile (yes they smiled finally at their manager's logic!!). So i asked him if i were to to book 3 nights i.e. 72 hours and checked out at the 70th hour would i have to pay for 2 nights?? He was dumb·struck. I told him those lines on his rate card was meant for the convenience for travelers coming in and going out .. not to charge them on a 24 hour clock. Every hotel has a late checkout / early check-in pending availability of course and his logic was absurd. He finally reluctantly agreed to refund 60% of one night's tariff by cash, retaining 40%. So the 15% overall discount was nullified by this fiasco.

So overall 2.5 stars. There were just about more +'s then -'s.

Cheers. Hope this helped.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RPrabhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

moti mahal is located in the heart of the city. they have recently renowed the ambience of the holel. rooms have huge space. food quality is excellent. one of the old hotels in the city. it also has a swimming pool and a pub with disco. i love staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Praveen-Timken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

* Nice hotel in the middle of the city
* Staffs r good
* Booking experience is good and entry to rooms is smooth
* u will get Autos outside the hotel within seconds to roam around the city
* Two restaurants r there, check which one for Complimentary BF. I missed it , had in other restaurant & paid :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNANBLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangalore hotels
0.4 mi away
The Verda Saffron
The Verda Saffron
#8 of 36 in Mangalore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Old Port Rd Mangalore
0.6 mi away
The Prestige Hotel
The Prestige Hotel
#4 of 36 in Mangalore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Goldfinch Mangalore
Goldfinch Mangalore
#5 of 36 in Mangalore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Poonja International
Hotel Poonja International
#9 of 36 in Mangalore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ginger Hotel Mangalore
Ginger Hotel Mangalore
#6 of 36 in Mangalore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moti Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moti Mahal

Property: Hotel Moti Mahal
Address: Falnir Road, Mangalore, Mangalore 575001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mangalore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Mangalore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Moti Mahal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is situated in the heart of the city. Our hotel is 1 km to Railway Station, 13 Km to airport. Centrally air conditioned. Oridinary A/c, Standard Rooms, Deluxe Rooms, Suites. We have Multi cuisine Restaurant like Mangala (Continental), Taichien (Chinese and Thai), Madhuvan (Pure Veg), Mehfil (Inclusive Bar). We have Banquet Halls for Functions from 250 pax to 2500 pax. (Shalimar, Vajra & Heera, MKM Halls). Other facilities are Sheethal Swimming Pool, Health Club, Massage Center, Pool Side Bar-Be-Que Evening Restaurant. 24 Hrs Check out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Moti Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moti Mahal Mangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing