We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Welcome Surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chutney

Chutney
Ranked #17 of 339 Restaurants in Mangalore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Welcome Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

After driving for 4 hours, at around 3 pm on 10 Jan 13, we were looking for a decent place for lunch when my son pointed out Chutney's, as we were late , thought of trying it, warm reception,excellant ambience, hygienic , and awesome food specially Daal Tadka and north indian thalli , all this at preety regular price. Visit was worth it. will visit it again whenever in mangalore.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    41
    16
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manipal, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Living up to its name !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Visiting chutney has become an integral part of every visit to Mlore. The ambiance is very good. It is usually crowded, which goes a lot towards revealing its popularity. The restaurant is clean and spacious. The food is excellent. The tea there is a real "pick-me -up" and the snacks going with it are equally good. The restaurant serves two to three varieties of mouth watering chutneys with its dosas, idlis etc, truly living up to its name ! But apart form this, their plate meals are also very good, with tangy rasam, tasty vegetable preparations and a decent sweet dish. For those who love the Kushmund halwa of these parts, Chutney is certainly a don't miss !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller1982_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A popular restaurant in heart of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We visited this restaurant for dinner. Located in a very good locality ; Need to climb stairs to reach it. Has seating in 2 levels. If you have a senior citizen with you and no seats are available at level 1, need to climb stairs again.

Food is more than average but local people love this restaurant. Prices very normal and hence possibly attract a large clientele.

One of the many choices for vegetarians.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Relgemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Loved the chutneys here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We visited this restaurant last month for lunch. We had to wait for around 15 minutes in the lobby as the restaurant was packed. Clearly a very popular restaurant.

The decor is functional, not a fine dining restaurant but a place to enjoy wholesome South Indian food. The menu also has north Indian dishes.

We ordered baby corn ghee roast as an appetiser - came after a 15 minutes, good but cannot call it yummy. We had ordered a set Dosa for our son, that was really superb. The chutneys and sambar were just too good. My wife chose the South Indian thali, simple and tasty. I got ambitious and ordered their Special Deepa Comfort thali, an amalgam of their South and North Indian Thalis. I could hardly eat or do justice, the variety was just huge. Some of the dishes served with this thali were really good. Finally they served one ice cream with it as well.

Would I go again, certainly. I will however eat their snacks as I can eat the yummy chutneys...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PrashRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Experience of ur tastebuds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

if you want a complete break from all the non-veg and the spices, chutney is the place to be. The vegetarian dishes are excellently prepared and since they serve that only, its excellently served as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ishita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chutney also viewed

Mangalore, Karnataka
 
Mangalore, Karnataka
Mangalore, Karnataka
 

Been to Chutney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing