We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our temple trip made memorable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Goldfinch Mangalore
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Mangalore
Coimbatore
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Our temple trip made memorable”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had been planning to visit the various temples in and around Mangalore, for a long time. The GoldFinch was recommended to us by a close friend, mainly because it is just opposite to the Woodlands restaurant.

I was initially worried as we had to be in Mangalore for 5 days and what if the hotel is a disastor? Well, it was not to be. We had an extremely nice stay ., The staff were courteous and friendly. Room Service was prompt and good.

Perhaps the hotel must also have a good veg outlet.

Room Tip: Get a room in the NoSmoking zone but I think the hotel must enforce it also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SriCethar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    219
    102
    34
    25
See reviews for
142
78
32
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panjim, India
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is priced reasonably at around 4k per night. The rooms are well made and can be compared with any standard 4 star hotel. it has 24 hour room service which makes it pretty good place to stay in. Also, is very close to the shopping area and just opposite to famous Maharaja restaurant.

Overall experience was very good and the service, staff, parking and all areas as very good too.

Highly recommended hotel and I will surely stay here the next time I visit Mangalore.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giriraj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON, MA, USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks while traveling on business in Mangalore. I found the room was relatively clean and the bathroom was really nice. The bed was comfortable. I had a few issues with the room but the maintenance staff quickly fixed any problems. I allegedly had a non-smoking room but there was an ash tray and matches on the table.

As others indicated, you can hear the traffic outside since the rooms face the busy road. However, you get used to it. (The trucks are the worst with their loud horns)

I did not eat at the restaurants but did use room service a few times. Room service was quick and the food was very good but expensive. By the way, room service isn't available around the clock despite what it says on the menu -- "round the clock" which would indicate to me 24 hour availability. They seem to stop serving around mid-night or something like that.

I used my breakfast coupon once to access the free buffet in the Kabob Studio. They had plenty of food choices (veg and non-veg). I was impressed and regretted not using my other coupons but i typically slept through the morning because of my schedule.

The wifi worked OK but my coupon expired in the middle of my stay so I had to request another code the next day. The signal in my room was poor so I couldn't access the internet sometimes.

I used the laundry service twice. They were quick and did a good job cleaning/folding my clothes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2007sonata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Staff were all helpful.
Buffet meals in restaurant were very good with veg and non veg kebabs cooked over braziers on your table.
The rooms were comfortable with decent showers, a business desk, and large windows with a view.
The location is very convenient to business, medical, and shopping hubs. Because this is a busy area, the rooms are not sound-proof but the noise level is not obtrusive. We slept well.
The only thing that lets the Goldfinch down is the rucked-up, poorly laid carpet in the corridors, which looks horrible and makes it difficult to move luggage with wheels easily.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet non-smoking room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The size of the room was small. It seemed crammed with an additional bed in there. Was dissappointed with the cleanliness and decor of the room. The furniture needs to be upgraded. Had issues with the bathroom, but the maintenance staff were prompt in their response. The front office staff could be more friendlier and helpful in their interaction with guests. The restaurant staff were very courteous, the food was good and served hot. The breakfast buffet was sumptous serving local speciality dishes. The spa staff were helpful. The internet kept breaking.

Room Tip: enquire about the space available within the room before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliana_noronha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Rooms are a bit small but make up in the amenities provided. Offers package with break fast. Local bus stop is just opposite the hotel and has several eating joints nearby this property. The front office staff need to be more helpful with guests. Has 2 restaurants and a cafe,. The food is great.

Room Tip: Dont take the rooms facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranjalrajesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOA,india
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Goldfinch is on the bunts hostel road , and is in the heart of the city .. Rooms are plush with good and attentive staff.. The restaurants are also good , sana di ge , serves local cuisine , ghee roast chicken is my favoured there , and the other is kebab studio.. They also house CAFE MOJO, on the 1st floor, which is the 1st Indian chain of pubs with authentic English interiors and ebeer where one can put your own beer on the tangle itself .. Great concept.. I would recommend staying here when in mangalore and don't miss out cafe mojo if you are a pub lover

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the deck below .. Higher floors will give you better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajeshcounto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangalore hotels
1.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Old Port Rd Mangalore
0.6 mi away
The Ocean Pearl
The Ocean Pearl
#2 of 38 in Mangalore
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prestige Hotel
The Prestige Hotel
#6 of 38 in Mangalore
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ginger Hotel Mangalore
Ginger Hotel Mangalore
#8 of 38 in Mangalore
304 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel BMS
Hotel BMS
#3 of 38 in Mangalore
38 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Deepa Comforts
Hotel Deepa Comforts
#7 of 38 in Mangalore
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldfinch Mangalore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldfinch Mangalore

Property: Goldfinch Mangalore
Address: Bunts Hostel Road | Near Jyothi Circle, Mangalore 575003, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Dakshina Kannada District > Mangalore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Mangalore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goldfinch Mangalore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldfinch Mangalore is a true boutique hotel and the first of its class in Mangalore. Perched in the heart of the city, this 56 room luxury hotel meets all the standards as well as the facilities and amenities that guests can expect from a pioneering luxury boutique hotel. Walk in to savor a new world of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Goldfinch Mangalore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldfinch Hotel Mangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing