We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place to stay”
Review of Hacienda Vargas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hacienda Vargas
Ranked #1 of 1 Algodones B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here and loved it. A very unique and historical site and a nice chance to stay outside of the city, but at the same time a very short drive away. The room was very comfortable, Spence was very accommodating, and the breakfast was delicious. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Vargas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 119 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was a part of a wedding party that had their reception at this venue. I would highly recommend brides-to-be to exhaust all other options prior to picking this location. First, the staff was extremely rude. They told all guests staying at the B&B that we are NOT allowed to let anyone into our room, not even to use the bathroom. All guest not staying there had to use designated restroom. For men that meant a porta potty and women it was a small room off the courtyard. In fact, the bridesmaid got "in trouble" for allowing the bride to use the restroom in a room that she was not staying in. Usually, the Bride gets whatever she wants on her wedding day especially when she spends thousands of dollars on the venue. Then, when we were escorted to our room, we discovered the beds were terrible. They have probably used the same mattress for 20 years or so. You could feel the springs! Then there were the bugs....everywhere. In the morning I woke up to shower and found three very large spiders in the corner of our room, one spider above the shower, and two more crawling up the side of the bathtub. Lastly, we were charged an additional $30 for our room without explanation. The room themselves are expensive, especially for what they offer, plus the unexplained up charge. Extremely unhappy! Don't entertain the idea of using this venue - not recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crystal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you are looking for a modern well appointed hotel this is not your place. There is no television, no phone, no Wi-Fi, no microwave, no refrigerator. What you do get is a room as it was over 60 years ago. The floors are wood plank and brick. The rooms are large with walls made of thick adobe. It was cool without air-conditioning. There is a wood fireplace which we did not need. Our rooms had a sitting room with a futon, a radio, table and chairs; a bedroom with reading lamps, a small closet and a dressing table; a large bath with Jacuzzi, separate shower, pedestal sink; a private enclosed patio off the bath. It was very spacious. We stayed 2 nights and 2 scrumptious breakfasts cooked by our host Spence. A large and unusual cuisine with a local twist. The first day we were served fresh fruit, pumpkin pancakes with pinon nuts and crisp bacon. The second morning fresh fruit, cheese omelets with sausages, English muffins and fried potatoes. Both mornings there were side tables with juice, coffee, yogurt, granola and muffins. Both days we left stuffed and satisfied. The final room charge was a steep $165.76/night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BethinLasCruces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hacvar, Owner at Hacienda Vargas, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for your review of Hacienda Vargas, we loved your title! It is true, we aren't modern; our most modern amenities are our jacuzzi tubs. We do try to provide a step back in time without too much inconvenience by placing microwaves, refrigerators, snacks, etc. in the common areas, not in the individual rooms.

What we do provide is a beautiful, peaceful and comfortable place to rest , retreat, recover or discover in - all in a convenient location that seems far away but isn't too far from all the hot spots in NM - complete with delicious breakfasts!

Our range of rooms ($89 - $149) each provide this in unique and different ways. Hope to see you on another trip North! Thank you, Hacienda Vargas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I got married on the premises, and it was truly a special and wonderful time for us! We didn't know what to expect, as we were from out of town, but the hospitality and thoughtfulness we were shown by Spence and Cynthia and all their staff was spot on, not to mention the WONDERFUL breakfasts Spence can crank out! We definitely plan on returning, and highly recommend the Hacienda Vargas to anyone looking to elope or simply get away from it all.
-Tomma & Katrina Duncan

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katrina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We got married in the old adobe chapel by candelight with Spence officiating and two neighbors as witnesses. It could not have been more perfect. The location between Albuquerque and Santa Fe gave us an opportunity to visit both cities during the day and enjoy the haciendda at night. Our suite had a double jacuzzi tub, old brick floors and something they called "cove" ceilings which was a curved plaster ceiling with wooden beams in between.

We spent 3 nights at Hacienda Vargas and Spence and Cynthia were the perfect hosts, helping us plan each day. One day we took the Jemez Trail from Bernalillo all the way to Santa Fe and then came back on the Turquoise Trail thru some old mining towns. We never would have stopped to eat the roadside food at Jemez Pueblo if they had not told us to be sure and stop.

There are two large standard poodles on property who always greet you with a ball in their mouths but are as gracious as the owners and the delightful young man that lives on property to tend the rooms and grounds. We're going back on our 1 year anniversary!

Room Tip: We were in the Santa Fe room which had a private courtyard, a small sitting room, and a private bath...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

In all of my experiances of staying at B&B's Hacienda Vargas was by far the best! The owners were extremely helpful and nice. Their dogs never left their side and didn't bother us a bit. The room was wonderfully set up and all of the areas around Hacienda Vargas were wonderfully scenic and beautiful. I would recommend Hacienda Vargas to anyone looking for a place to stay by the Albuquerque/Santa Fe area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We did not stay at the B&B so can't review that but did attend a wedding here in October of last year that was quite lovely, made moreso by the absolutely beautiful autumn weather. As with any wedding, there were probably minor glitches that the wedding party was aware of but that were not noticeable to us. The ceremony in the courtyard was delightful and the reception was very enjoyable.

No one wedding venue is perfect for everyone; that's why brides and grooms shop around. Hacienda Vargas would delight some folks and probably not work for others. Once you decide on a place it is important to make sure you understand the terms and conditions so as not to be surprised or disappointed.

As I said above, the weather was truly gorgeous (sunny, mid-70s, no wind) the entire week prior as well as the weekend of the wedding. Had this not been the case it could have meant a very different experience. When planning a wedding, consider this.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank Andy132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algodones
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
13.1 mi away
Sandia Resort & Casino
Sandia Resort & Casino
#38 of 144 in Albuquerque
500 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque
#43 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,035 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albuquerque North/I-25
14.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North
Comfort Inn & Suites North
#50 of 144 in Albuquerque
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Vargas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Vargas

Address: 1431 Highway 313, El Camino Real, Algodones, NM 87001-8011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Algodones
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Algodones
Price Range: $98 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Vargas 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Vargas Bed & Breakfast and Wedding Chapel offers the grace and elegance of historical New Mexico in the rural setting of Algodones. Hacienda Vargas is conveniently located in between Albuquerque and Santa Fe allowing for travelers to experience both easily. Visit our unique New Mexico Bed and Breakfast and experience the romance and history of New Mexico. All rooms have private entrances, private bathrooms, some with fireplace and jacuzzi tubs. A stay at Hacienda Vargas includes a delicious & bountiful breakfast each morning. Hacienda Vargas is the perfect spot for a local get-a-way, traveling the Turquoise Trail, the Jemez Trail, winter activities, a visit to many of NM's treasures and coming into or leaving the state. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hacienda Vargas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing