We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money you pay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silent Valley Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chikamagalur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silent Valley Resort
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Chikamagalur
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not worth the money you pay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I had been to this resort last year on 15th August (during the rains). Not quite satisfied with the arrangements.
Negatives:- 1. High price 2. Dingy rooms (wet rooms during rains) 3. No water/tap in one of the cottages 4. Full of cement/sand due to repair work 5. Swimming pool not usable (not cleaned & frogs swimming). 6. Food is average
Positives:- 1. location 2. Hospitable staff
I had to pay the whole booking amount at one go to confirm the booking. Moreover, it was really sad that they agreed to give us cottages knowing that plumbing work was not proper in one of the cottages (it was not informed earlier).
Overall not satisfied - not worth the money they ask. Thankfully we had only 1 day booking.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AvidTraveller083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenplanetresorts, Manager at Silent Valley Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Sir, you are writing your comments after one year of booking whereas the situation is entirely different now. Please note that, we being situated in Hill Station, avoiding the dampness to the full extent is highly difficult. Due to expansion and rennovation work you might have faced the problem of mud and sand. However, now we have resolved all the issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    45
    24
    13
    37
See reviews for
88
21
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

After searching for several options, we zeroed with ‘Silent Valley’ for our team outing of 80
members. I saw some negative reviews in the travel portal which was brought to my notice by
my colleagues. But, we didn’t find any other property nearby to accommodate our group of 80
members. Hence I called up the resort people and had lengthy talk with regard to food and
service to be provided to our team. Though I got the convincing answers from the resort people,
I finally decided to go for a personal inspection with my colleague as I was answerable to the
whole team. To my surprise, I found the place much better than what I expected. The resort in
charge Mr.Umesh was a very nice person who took us to all the corners of the resort and we
ensured that everything is in order and firmed up with this pace for our team outing.

The resort staffs had arranged treasure hunt, pulling the rope, breaking the pot kind of small
activities for us which we enjoyed with full spirit. The Swimming pool was the centre point of
attraction over there. Plenty of Indoor/ out door games are available. Food was really good with
wide variety. They took well care of us and house keeping part as well.

We enjoyed the trek and morning walk to the nearby tea plantation which really rocks our mind.
Mr.Umesh guided us properly with regard to sight seeing places with a rough route map.

Overall we had nice time over there and would love to visit again in near future with family.

Room Tip: If its a group of 10-15 choose dormitory....you can have loads of fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron Albert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenplanetresorts, Manager at Silent Valley Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your great experiences with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Great location, Hospitality, food and service. Staffs are very humble and curtsies . Great place to spend time with Family

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharanu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenplanetresorts, Manager at Silent Valley Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for sharing your opion about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

1. No signage on the way for you to locate the resort
2. Dont just get fooled by the pics shown for the resort because these pics wont tell you about the poor cleanliness, cable not working, damp bed sheets n foul smell in the cottages.
3. Although they say they have indoor/outdoor games but dont have a proper place or equipment. 4. No mobile coverage & you have hunt for spots to get even a weak signal.
5. Our driver was made to sleep in the car only although they said they have a dormitory for him. 6. Food was tolerable.
7. Only positive was that couple of staff members were friendly & helpful

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnkurBahri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenplanetresorts, Manager at Silent Valley Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Silent Valley is located in a hill station and avoiding the dampness to the full extent during monsoon is not that easy. We are not responsible for the non-coverage of mobile signals as it is not within our control. In case of prior intimation, we could have provided accommodation for driver; but the guest requested for the same on his way to resort. Due to full booking we were not in a position to provide accommodation and it was not our fault.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chikamagalur hotels

Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Staff and facility was good during my stay. excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anil992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenplanetresorts, Manager at Silent Valley Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks a lot for your complements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

I just finished my vacation here. its very nice Resort and very good hospitality. Before I am going there I thought its expensive. But its worth every Rupee. After we had our bed tea we went for Trekking. It s really nice to trek in the early morning and we enjoyed the beauty of sunrise also. After we come back to resort and freshen up a wide spread of breakfast was waiting for us. The breakfast was simply great. Also the lunch and dinner were too good.
As we were there for 3 days, decided the first day to spend in resort itself to come out of the tiredness of long journey. We really enjoyed the calm and scenic surroundings of the resort. The swimming pool was crystal clear and was inviting. All of us had good time in the pool and the pool has a separation for kids with lesser depth. The whole day we spent with pool, games and hammocks. In the evening we went to Hornadu Temple which was just around 10-11 kms from the resort.
The next two days we spent on sight seeing and the two days passed away within the blink of eyes. We must thank the team of the resort for making our stay a memorable one. They made us to feel comfortable, attended our needs with no time and treated us like their family members rather than guests. This team is the real asset of that resort. Keep it up….!

Room Tip: The tree house is really awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nelisha_pinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenplanetresorts, Manager at Silent Valley Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hello Madam,

Nice to have you at our place for the second time. You enjoyed both of your stay with your corporate team as well as your family with us. Your satisfaction is our real reward.

Thank you once again and look forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed in resort for 3N 2D and experience was horrible 14/6/2012 to 17/6/2012
1. No room service if we need any thing we need to walk all the way from our room to restaurant by our self which is 500mts away from rooms.
2. No bar lounge we were asked to drink in our rooms with out room service.
3. No playing area they say we can use games like Carom but in restaurant, they say we can play Badminton with broken rackets and cricket with out proper place. Swimming pool is very badly maintained, actually it a place to hatch eggs for Frogs and filled with insects.
4. They have manager, who doesn’t have proper manners to speak to visitors.
5. Good place for couples who badly want rooms. The experience was horrible, please do not visit if your are visiting with your friends and family especially with children’s not suitable.

by,
Shiva
uc.iamshiva@gmail.com

Room Tip: do not visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiva82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenplanetresorts, Manager at Silent Valley Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Infact guest has given good feed back at resort and just because they were not allowed to drink on pool side they built up this story that, pool is not maintained properly. As we are well aware of how to maintain the pool we didn't allowed them to drink there. For overdrunken people the proper rackets will also look like broken one. Can't help it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chikamagalur
33.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
#2 of 16 in Chikamagalur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
29.6 mi away
Crystal Inn
Crystal Inn
#6 of 16 in Chikamagalur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
29.9 mi away
Hotel S.K. Regency
Hotel S.K. Regency
#7 of 16 in Chikamagalur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Flora Prakruth Resort
La Flora Prakruth Resort
#22 of 44 in Kodagu (Coorg)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
26.5 mi away
The Serai
The Serai
#1 of 16 in Chikamagalur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
29.9 mi away
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
#4 of 129 in Chikamagalur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silent Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silent Valley Resort

Property: Silent Valley Resort
Address: Thodlu, Kalasa-Kudremukh Road | Kudremukh Road, Chikamagalur 577124, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Chikamagalur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Chikamagalur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful strip of land lying at the foothills of Kuduremukh Reserve Forests, 2400 feet above the sea level with vast stretches of green pastures, paddy fields, areca trees, waterfalls, lush green forests, huge mist clad mountains, hillocks with rivers and rivulets, makes the Silent Valley Resort fascinating and enchanting. Silent Valley Resorts is a well maintained resort with 26 cottages taking you back to a village type of an atmosphere where simplicity and harmony reigned supreme. We have a Restauarant,Conference Hall,Swimming Pool, Spacious parking area and Indoor/Outdoor games which provides an ideal environment for Family/ Corporate outings, meetings, seminars, trainings, yoga, meditation and social events. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silent Valley Chikamagalur
Silent Valley Resort India/Karnataka - Chikamagalur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing