We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money...good for overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rajamahal Orchid Hotel
Ranked #76 of 111 Chikkamagalur B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Raj mahal is a decent budget hotel. Located in a heart of a city. Worth the money we paid. Staff were decent. No escalators. Thats the bad part if you get a room in the top floor. If you are looking for a budget inside the city with al access this is the best One. Paid 800 for a night for 3 in a room.worth so much.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amithvernekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 77 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were looking for an option of a cheap but decent hotel at Chikamagalur.
Hotel Rajmahal turned out to be a perfect option for us.
We were simply looking for a place where we will be able to sleep peacefully and the place should be neat and clean.
This place is very near to KSRTC bus stand and we reached at around 5 in the morning but had a hassle free check in.
Rooms are not spacious but good enough for a couple and neat and clean.Moreover hot water were available in the morning.
If you are looking for a decent shelter in night and want to roam around nearby places in day time this is a perfect choice for you.
They can arrange vehicle for sightseeing at good price. We had a nice experience.
But if you are looking for a luxury option this is not ideal place.

Room Tip: Suite would be a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

A good value for money hotel in Chikmaglur. Had booked an AC room. Room was clean and other services were good. There is no enclosed resturant but plenty around to eat at. Liked the place a lot. A good budget hotel to crash in evening after all the sightseeing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Protozoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This property is one of the worst hotels had ever visited. I stayed here in December last year and was utterly disappointed. We had plans to stay in Chikmagalur for 2 nights. We were informed that this hotel was a good option in the town Wow!! I feel that this is one of the worst options. We went here to the hotel. Found the rooms to be dingy. The bed was not comfortable. And add to this, there were bed bugs!! Irritated me all night long. Could barely sleep. Now it doesn't end here. What kind of a hotel does not have room service!! They said that they don't have room service!! Which means that even for a cup of tea, we had to go to the restaurant below. And imagine waking up in the morning and walking down to get yourself a cup of tea. Really bad experience and I definitely will not stay in this hotel again. We checked out the next morning itself and checked into another hotel which did not look that great, but at least there was room service and bed bug free. Forgot the name of the hotel though. Either ways, I am going to avoid this place completely.

Room Tip: I wish I knew what the room number was. I am not too sure about the other rooms because I checked ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is an economical lodge, ideal just for night stay. You get what you pay for - nothing more. Well located with all amenities nearby. The mattresses, rooms are clean, no cockroaches or mosquitoes or insects. Everything looks old and jaded in this lodge. The corridors are quite dusty and filled with discarded furniture. We paid about 750 rupees for a double room (no AC) - they also offer three, four and five beds.

Room Tip: cheap place for the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SriniGSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Very basic stay with basic facilities. Rooms and bathroom were reasonably clean and maintained. Well located in the chikmagalur town. Staff was helpful. If you are looking for a place for just over night stay this would be ideal for you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

The hotel is very near to KSRTC Bus Stand. We checked in @ 4:30 AM morning and it was real smooth. Mr. Prakash at the reception was very professional!

The hotel staff are ready to go the extra mile for you, be it bringing food from near by eateries, or cleaning your room. They help you for local sight seeing too.

One can just call them , block a room over the phone and phew...your room is booked! They will make your stay very comfortable, that's for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manchuray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chikkamagalur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel S.K. Regency
Hotel S.K. Regency
#10 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crystal Inn
Crystal Inn
#5 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rest Inn
Rest Inn
#13 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aadrika
Aadrika
#6 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
19 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
#3 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
827 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vishwas Residency
Vishwas Residency
#49 of 152 in Chikkamagalur
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rajamahal Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rajamahal Orchid Hotel

Address: I.G Cross, Chikkamagalur 577101, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Chikkamagaluru District > Chikkamagalur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Chikkamagalur
Price Range: $16 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchid is one of the best ever place in chikmagalur. It consists of a very spacious Party hall,rooms and excellent parking facilities, it also has restaurant attached.The best part of The Orchid is that it is located in the center of the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rajamahal Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rajamahal Orchid Hotel India/Karnataka - Chikkamagalur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing