We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hospitality. worth the money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chikkamagalur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Spectrum Home Stay
Ranked #6 of 100 Chikkamagalur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome hospitality. worth the money”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We visited there on 1st Dec, 2012 and we fully enjoyed that weekend with their service and food quality. They are very much polite and friendly. I believe nobody will get a chance to complain about them. Yes, it could be better if they provide something to enjoy for adults (Like TT, Badminton, Vally ball and at least a swimming pool.). But as per the price they give their 100%.

I rate 4.7/5.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jyotirmaya2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spectrum_n, Owner at The Spectrum Home Stay, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thanks a lot hope to see you soon

Warm regards

Spectrum Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    115
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
113
45
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kochi
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I along with my family stayed at Spectrum homestay at Chikmagalur last week. Spectrum was one of the best experiences in our holiday trip and the host left no stones unturned to make us feel completely at home and comfortable. Whatever our needs were, those were met to very promptly and to complete satisfaction. We were even given guidelines, route maps and the schedule of places to visit were also charted for our convenience. The children's play area was a highlight and the walk around through the coffee plantations was delightful to say the least

The food was very tasty and was always served hot. I would defintely recommend this to anyone for a great experience of serene calm atmosphere and homely feeling

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhanushmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spectrum_n, Owner at The Spectrum Home Stay, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you so much

Warm regards

Spectrum Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have been to Chikmagalur many a times but this time I happened to stay at Spectrum during the Diwali holiday, it was just Great. The Host along with everyone who stayed that night Celebrated..you need to appreciate that. This a place you need to indulge yourself to. Peaceful and serene. Like the others have said... place, food, hospitality..thumbs up..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank immi_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I had been to Chikamagalur and opted for spectrum home stay. I want to share some experience with you all.. This is the best home stay which i found ever. Hospitality, food, cleanliness and ambiance is extremely gud. Thanks a lot spectrum for making our journey memorable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aniammu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2012

yearly once few riders from different parts of the country join in for a meet. This year the location was Chikmagalur. After initial round of search, we got a favorable reply from Spectrum which sent us the photographs of the location. generally the pics can be misleading to grab customers. but once we saw the property completely fell in love with it. It could easily accommodate 56 of us. Hospitality, location, parking, food and accommodation quality gets full marks from our side. Thank you for the memorable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phanikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spectrum is a very nice place to spend a week end. Good value for Money. Hospitality is also wonderful. Only thing is there are no activities for adults. If that is included, it's the best home stay in chickmagalur.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srividyakamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had to cut short our stay due to uncomfortable beds, very spicy food, limited choice of dishes, bad coffee, lack of timely supply of hot water in the bathroom.

very coutreous staff

Fans would shut off at night due to frequent power failure, no insect net for the windows, obnoxious exhaust smell from generator at night. Extremely hard, uncomfortable beds, unlike in any hotels! Very poorly lit kitchen and dining area at night attracting insects and lizards. Inaccessible, underlit, tiny parking area good for perhaps only 4-5 cars

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank photo_tour287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spectrum_n, Owner at The Spectrum Home Stay, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are located in the middle of the coffee estate and most the guest go to any home stay to experiences this.

one should understand insects are bound to come in the middle of the coffee estate, we also offer Room service if any guest does not like to dine in the open restaurant.

bright lighting attracts more insects. we sorry regarding the smoke smell form the generator, most of our guest are happy that we provide electricity back up.
we provide comfortable beds. we can not afford to provide 5 star quality beds for the home stay pricing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chikkamagalur hotels
5.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
#3 of 17 in Chikkamagalur
792 reviews
4.7 mi away
Trivik Chikmagalur
Trivik Chikmagalur
#2 of 17 in Chikkamagalur
82 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aadrika
Aadrika
#6 of 17 in Chikkamagalur
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Serai
The Serai
#4 of 17 in Chikkamagalur
432 reviews
13.5 mi away
Guddadamane Homestay
Guddadamane Homestay
#29 of 100 in Chikkamagalur
93 reviews
6.3 mi away
Gonakal Homestay
Gonakal Homestay
#4 of 100 in Chikkamagalur
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spectrum Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spectrum Home Stay

Property: The Spectrum Home Stay
Address: No 275 Erealla Survey | DasaraHalli Grama, Chikkamagalur, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Chikkamagaluru District > Chikkamagalur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Chikkamagalur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Spectrum Home Stay India/Karnataka - Chikkamagalur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing