We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never ever stay in this home stay ... waste of money” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coffee County Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chikamagalur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coffee County Homestay
Ranked #32 of 95 Chikamagalur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Never ever stay in this home stay ... waste of money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Me and my friend went to chikmagalur on 24th december 2012 and booked this homestay. They were not many reviews but as this is a peak season I didn't get any bookings in other homestays so decided to give this a try as although there were only few reviews they weren't bad either. And for the price they were charging(3500/- per night) its not at all worth.

I will start from the beginning(There are only cons)

We reached chikmagalur at aroung 6PM after visiting halebid and belur. This homestay is little inside and the road is quite bad for aound 2KM stretch. Mr Mubin took us to this homestay from the main road.

1) After we reached there the room that was given to me had broken floors which was covered with mats but not all of them , we could quite easily have got ourselves injured we had one kid as well, how could one give such a room to the guests. We told them to change our room but there was no room available. When I called reshma(owner) and told her about this , her response was that as you were two families thats why we have given rooms side by side. She was not at all apologetic, that really pissed me off.

2) There was no handwash kept in the bathroom. They gave one soap after we asked for it as they didn't had any liquid soap with them. the towels were also given to us after we asked for it. These things should already have been kept before we had come, very unprofessional.

3) In the dinner we were served with only one veg dish and that too after telling them bofore hand that we will be having only veg and when we we asked them why they have only one dish, they gave us some excuse and told to adjust , they will make more than one dish tomorrow.

4)The fridge was not in working condition so if you buy anything from outside which needs to be kept in fridge you are screwed.

5)The next day as well we were served with the same one veg item in the dinner and they had no answer when we asked why they have made only one veg item again. Really pathetic. They were not even apologetic. They were giving us all lame excuses.

When we checked out I gave them 2500/- per night instead of 3500/- . Reshma was asking us why we are giving so less. After all these things she was still expecting 3500/-. I told her that with the kind of service that was given to us 2500/- is also quite a lot. She didn't even say sorry, this was least that she could have done but she was more interested in the money rather than providing better customer service.

So all the people who will be reading this review please stay away at this homestay. Dont spoil your vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rishi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    17
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
2
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We went here in May 2012. the location is splendid. You really are in the midst of wilderness. the homestay is in a coffee estate, very beautiful, serene and peaceful. Your views are of the tallest peak in karnataka, mullyangiri and babubhudangiri. You have a spectacular view of these mountains, and in fact, can see cars snaking up the roads very close to the top of the mountain. The evenings, spent gazing at the clouds drifting past the mountains and descending on the plains, while drinking coffee and eating snacks are idyllic. The folks there also did their best to accomodate most of our requests. They arranged jeeps to take us to various places, made the simple kind of food that we requested.

And oh the birds. There are so many varieties of birds that you can see right from your room- even to our untrained eyes, we could identify the malabar parikeet, rose ringed parakeet, 2-3 kinds of bulbuls, hoopoes, sunbirds, wagtails, magpie robins, white-eyes, warblers. tonnes and tonnes of bulbus. That was just amazing to see. Some people even claim to have seen a peacock.

The main issue is that they over-estimate the number of people who can stay in a room. we got the annexe because we booked late and it has 2 tiny rooms and a bathroom and was too small for 4 adults and the kid. And the bathroom had a permanent stink that made it difficult to stay in the room. We did take a look at the main room and it was much better furnished with an amazing view of the mountains right from the bed, and a lovely terrace/balcony. If we had gotten that room, i would have been much happier. However, they mention on their website that main room can accomodate 8 people. This is only if these are 8 college students used to having no personal space or freedom. for families, this can accomodate only one family at a time. Remember, it is just one large room with various pieces of furniture thrown in to double as beds. and only one bathroom again. So if you have 8 people here, they are likely to be waiting to use the bathroom for most of the time.

The location of this place compensates for the poor room. Its quite tough to find the place, so they send a guy on a two-wheeler who leads you to the estate. The service was good enough, but it is one man running the show, so you better be nice to him!
Oh and they serve instant coffee! what kind of a coffee estate doesn;t even give you freshly brewed coffee!
They advertise a lot of activities on their website, but hardly have any. you can walk around the estate, that's about it. the Bhadra wildlife sanctuary was closed due to the impending monsoon, thats; something we would have liked. We went to Kemmangundi, a quaint hill-station there, that was very nice with great views. We got a jeep drive down to Hebbe falls, a real fun experiment, even if it realigns the bones in your body. There is hardly any road, so the Jeep is pretty much bumping along stones and rocks the entire time. There are some rivers to ford to reach the falls, but that just adds to the fun. And leeches give the place character.Get enough leeches to stick on you, and you can make some leechi juice too.

Definitely plan on going back, it is a fairly convenient drive from Bangalore, just 5-6 hours, and they seem to be making the entire road a 4-lane divided highway, so the drive will become easier. Hope to stay in coffee county again, but only if I book well in advance and get the main room, and don't have to share it. Highly highly recommend Chikmagalur to people as it is unbelivably beautiful and the western ghats that fringe it are a world biodiversity hotspot. See it now before it becomes crowded and commericalized.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I made a biggest mistake by choosing this accommodation. I faced lot of trouble in eating their food and sleeping in the house, it is neither clean nor calm.
This place is only suitable for the people who want spend time in drinking and making noise in a lonely place all over the night, who doesn't care about other things.
I understood one thing, If the tariff is little less than the average tariff in surrounding places, then quality of the accommodation has to be very poor/terrible.
There is no taste in the food they prepare.. no salt, no spice. Potato is the only vegetable they use for cooking!. There is no maintenance of the home stay or outside of the house.
The hosts, they don't know any thing about hospitality, only business minded, just want to make money by providing food and shelter to sleep. When i called, they said they will only give it to families. Probably they don't know exactly what is family means.
In the first day there were some(2 couples, not married couples!) people who were working in the call centers, probably couldn't sleep in the night! were drinking, shouting all over the night.
On the second day, At around 9PM, a bunch of people(drinkers, with loads of bottles! ) came and there was only one room available. Hosts(I don't want to calls them hosts) some how adjusted by vacating rooms of maids!.
Then the game started... eating..smoking..drinking.. singing(actually not singing)..shouting.. playing till 4AM! I tried to complaint, but the person(he is the manager, his name is Mubeen, he is the manager, he is the head cook!) switched the off the phone.. don't know where he was sleeping. This group with 3 men and 3 women(cultureless) and few kids.. is a family, who doesn't have any kind of common sense. They didn't even think that other guests are getting disturbed. one of the woman in the group drunk so much.. she was rolling on the ground, out side the house!.. one of the woman was being forced to drink. My parents, who couldn't sleep and watched all these things, were scared, what if some thing goes wrong and police has to come!

They are telling they will increase the price, what a joke!
Friends, never think of going here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Santhoshbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Coffee County home stay is a very warm and welcoming place. It has 3 rooms in the main house and 2 rooms in the outhouse. The place is well maintained and clean. The hosts make you feel very comfortable and the food is by par the best that I have had anywhere outside my home in terms of quality and taste. They have the option of a bon fire at night provided it doesn't rain. The view from this place is breath taking and is quiet close to the tourist attractions like mullayyanagiri and kaimara. All in all this is place is value for miful view is money and the beautiful view is free of cost.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pruthvi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chikamagalur hotels
6.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
#2 of 16 in Chikamagalur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel S.K. Regency
Hotel S.K. Regency
#7 of 16 in Chikamagalur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
#4 of 129 in Chikamagalur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Guddadamane Homestay
Guddadamane Homestay
#33 of 95 in Chikamagalur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captains Bungalow
Captains Bungalow
#24 of 95 in Chikamagalur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
3.0 mi away
Athithi Homestay Chikmagalur
Athithi Homestay Chikmagalur
#51 of 95 in Chikamagalur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coffee County Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coffee County Homestay

Property: Coffee County Homestay
Address: Kalledevarapura, Chikamagalur, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Chikamagalur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Chikamagalur
Also Known As:
Coffee County Homestay India/Karnataka - Chikamagalur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing