We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Homestay I have ever visited”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chikkamagalur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thotadhahalli Home Stay
Ranked #1 of 97 Chikkamagalur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Best Homestay I have ever visited”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Well we started our search for a good homestay close to bangalore, and found this(around 4 hrs 4m blore). We booked by seeing the gud reviews on this website. Most of the dates were booked though, finally we gt som date. We were around 11 guys for a Bachelors party, away from the crowd. We reached by noon and were tired of driving. Everyone wanted a gud plc to relax.
1st Impression of all my friends cin the rooms. "What the hell !!! Is it a homestay !!!, looks just like a 4 star hotel", we settled down and Prakash made the lunch arrangements. Food was great, best part was the amount of cleanliness they maintain, which i have never seen in any of the home stays which i have visited. They make awesum deserts, never miss that. I will summarize the Pros ans cons.
Pros:
1) Great location
2) Best collection of bonsai by Pallavi
3) Best room service and FOOD
4) Homely atmosphere
5) All possible indoor n outdoor games which can be played at a homestay
6) Great early morning walk amid the coffee estate
I can list more....
Cons:
Well we were finding what can we write !!, I can say nothing.
If you are looking for a homestay, this is the perfect place to relax and have fun...

Thank you Prakash and Pallavi for making such a place.

Room Tip: For couples, top room on left side, is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kishor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    59
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
335
151
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This place is a gem as I could not have been happier. Prakash / Pallavi are a warm and kind host with a friendly and helpful staff.
From the good reviews we were expecting a clean and well-appointed homestay and Thotadahalli is certainly beyond that. It is all the little extra touches that make this place truly special. Antique furniture, lovely cactus and awestruck bonsai collection were all scattered in the impeccable and gorgeous garden. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious, clean and cute. The food primarily the local Malnad cooking deserves a special mention as it is all freshly prepared and has a remarkable taste. The everyday menu consists of morning tea, breakfast, lunch, evening coffee, pre-dinner soup/snacks by the bonfire, followed by sumptuous dinner.
The standing, open jeep safari ride driven by Prakash himself at 8p.m. on a full moon night in his coffee estate was phenomenal. They also have facilities for games such as cricket, badminton, carrom, mini foosball table, board games, reading books etc to keep you busy.
Thanks again to Prakash, Pallavi and their efficient team for making it a memorable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KomalShah2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2014

When we looked up on the net for a place to stay in Chikmagalur, this showed up as the best! Thotadahalli home stay not only lives up to the tag but amazes you with brilliant architecture, the hospitality and the food!! The icing on cake was everything else we never expected - Bonsai, 75 acre coffee estate, night drive into the estate, star light sky, 3 cute dogs, feeling of being the first bikers to Thotadalli. We were awestruck with the attention to detail and the amount of planning that has gone into building this beautiful place. The hospitality that Prakash and his associates offered made us feel at home. Totally worth every penny you spend or even more!!

Room Tip: Just leave it upto Prakash and he will take care of you :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arun-bulleteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2014

visited on 13th march 2014, worth spending your time with your loved ones for a short vacation. me and my wife traveled from coimbatore to chickmangalur with lot of doubt whether the long travel will be worth or not, but it proved to be worth with the kind of artistic environment we were provided with and the amount of care and kindness Mr. prakash and Mrs Pallavi showed to us along with the excellent food served (especially the deserts) on time with a neat presentation. Thanks to the cook udhay and helper ravi for such a good food. we admired the antique collections of Mr.prakash and Mrs.pallavi and the bonsai work she has created around the homesatay . the entire ambiance and the landscape of the home stay will give you lot of positive energy, relaxing mood and will definitely rejuvenate us. house keeping superb, bed and clothing neat and clean, food woowwww, feel good factor awesome and complaints nothing ... jeep ride with Mr.prakash at night was fun and thrilling . we felt we were leaving our own home when we packed our things. Truly rated as winner by trip advisor.

Room Tip: all rooms are good, especially the separate room with swing on the front was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santhakumar24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I visited this place with my cousins in March 1st week and can tell without any 2nd thoughts that it is the best homestay I have been to. Attention to detail is what I would like to highlight, in all aspects from service, to the landscaping of the place and to the food that is served. The house amidst plantations has excellent landscaping with Bonsai's everywhere around. The food is very very good with all the delicacies that one cannot find at restaurants and all eat up more than usual. Prakash who runs the place gives enough time to make one comfortable and make sure all the guests are acquainted to each other. If you want to see Chikamagalur, don’t come here, you will never feel like getting out of this place :-). Finally not to forget: dont miss plantation walk, betel nut wine, hammock, night jeep ride and the food!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Balazins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Visited this place in last week of feb. As for any of my holidays did a lot of research before finalizing on this marvelous property and was not disappointed a bit. The place, the service, the food, the hospitality lived up to the rave reviews given by fellow reviewers on tripadvisor. I cant find a fault even if i tried very hard. All in all a must visit if you are planning a trip to Chikamagalur.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhi a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We visited this place for our first valentine's day after our marriage & believe me it was a rejuvenating experience. The hospitality , the food , the ambience & the location are way too good for spending an ideal vacation. Special mention of the night jeep ride which is a must and thanks to Mr. Prakash for taking us on this wonderful ride. Mrs.prakash is also very caring & makes sure that every guest feels comfortable during their stay. The food is just mesmerizing . Mr. Uday & Ravi are also very good and attend to the guest's needs whenever required. Kudos to all the staff of the home stay & special thanks to Mr & Mrs Prakash who are wonderful hosts. If you are looking for a peaceful vacation then this is the place guys. I would definitely visit this place for my vacation again n again. Its really worth the money you pay for guys. I haven't seen or experienced the hospitality & the food anywhere else other than this place. It's a must visit.---------
Manjunath Deshpande
Bangalore

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manjunath Deshpande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chikkamagalur hotels
6.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
#3 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
768 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trivik Chikmagalur
Trivik Chikmagalur
#4 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
66 reviews
1.7 mi away
Java Rain
Java Rain
#1 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel S.K. Regency
Hotel S.K. Regency
#9 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
90 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
#8 of 137 in Chikkamagalur
195 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Serai
The Serai
#2 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thotadhahalli Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thotadhahalli Home Stay

Property: Thotadhahalli Home Stay
Address: Thotadhahalli Estate | Kaimara, Chikkamagalur 577131, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Chikkamagaluru District > Chikkamagalur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Chikkamagalur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Thotadhahalli Home Stay India/Karnataka - Chikkamagalur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing