We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience to remember”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chikkamagalur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thotadhahalli Home Stay
Ranked #1 of 115 Chikkamagalur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Pallavi and Prakash were awaiting our arrival at the gates despite being considerably delayed and late too. That set the tone for an experience in hospitality that is truly unique and one of kind. They were committed to making us feel downright comfortable from the moment we set foot.

Ambience -wood works adorn the bungalow with home stay having its unique traditional architecture married with mandatory modern luxuries. The view of the mullayangiri peak from the lawn area was a delight. A really nice setting with birds chirping in the morning, lush coffee plantations around to perfectly seep out the stress and indulge into a different realm.

Food - simply a delight . mix of malnad cuisine that felt exquisite n tasty along with a mix of continental fares tries to serve the taste of a varied bunch of travellers. I wouldn't mind another visit purely for the food!

Overall , outstanding hospitality, very nice , clean , comfortable rooms to stay , with exquisite food. One of the few experiences that truly appeals to all your senses.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AjithVenkatraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

614 - 620 of 669 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

At thotadhahalli we experienced more than what we expected. It was a trip of two families to spend some time together. I could show my son many antique pieces and our olden times wet and dry stone grinders. Mr.Prakash family including wife, father and mother were all there to look into the arrangements and make us feel comfort. Food and snacks were really good both veg and non-veg. It was like a visit to a village with all modern facilities. We never felt that we are renting a home stay, it was like a visit to a relative place where u know everyone and be comfortable the minute u reach. The staff were also cooperative.
HOME STAY AWAY FROM HOME

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santgopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great food very natural i remember my grannys food very authentic,every ingredint used in the food is natural, we were two families of friends stayed in the homestay. the rooms were excellent and one thing my daughter loved was the terrace room which was very natural in the villages and i had my grannys house had the same replica. Prakash night drive in the plantation was a roller coaster experience and pallavis hospitality is the best. There are many places to visit and prakash
would be the best guide for the type of group people visit the homestay. Ask for the homemade wines which they serve is excellent. You regeret if you miss this is place, every part of this homestay is touching my heart.

Room Tip: small terrace room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vijiharish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

thotadahalli homestay is extraordinary. beautiful ambience over thr.best place for the family to check in.best part of the homestay is collection of the antique pieces and the style of the rooms decorated `coming to hospitality is good. food was delicious`people over thr r vry friendly.especialy pallavi's dessert was unforgetable.night drive with prakash was mindblowing.overall v had a great expiernce,a diffrnt experience from our normal hotels and resorts.mulayanagiri mountain view was beautiful .

Room Tip: all rooms r good and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anupama S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

probably this is one home stay that other property owners need to give a look in to experience what customers expect when they mean hospitality, cleanliness and the simple feeling of welcome. we were a bunch of guys wanting to spend some time together away from office and it was a real pleasure staying there. the garden and the property is immaculately looked after and professionally managed. we did not feel the need for anything during our stay and all i can say is kudos to providing a fabulous experience. worth visiting, worth recommending to others visiting Chickamagalur. i have traveled all over India and the south especially and probably this is one of the best stay that i have experienced.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunilAbraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Thotadahalli home stay is the best place to spend quality time with family and friends. I had gone there during dasara holidays and weather was very pleasant. Home stay is in perfect location. Lush greenery with mulayanagiri mountain view on the back yard is a perfect location to sip hot coffee. Great hospitality by Mr.Prakash & Family and excellent ambience makes you feel at home. Malnad delicacies was mouth watering. Drive to top of Mulayanagiri was Thrilling.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srikanthsuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I will forever cherish my stay at Thotadhahalli homestay, where I went during the Dussehra break 2 weeks back. Such a lovely and surprisingly cute place that I was found it hard to decide whether I should spend all my time at the homestay or go out to visit the other scenic places in Chikmaglur!! Cleanliness & cosiness are 2 attractive highpoints of this homestay.. The quality of service is just like one of the better resorts anywhere, promptness is even better.

Our host, Mr. Prakash & wife, Pallavi, were very warm & friendly... Their motto seemed to be to make the guests feel at home with the best comforts... It seemed as if they were enjoying keeping everybody happy without anyone asking...Just when we thought it couldn't get any better, they came up with some interesting new thing.
Mostly all the guests looked happy & contented during the stay... I was delighted with the beautiful garden, which Ms. Pallavi pays personal attention. It's a colorful place. It's food for the starved soul... Anyone who goes there should not miss the night "safari" as they call it. It's an experience to remember.
Food is decent, if you like Malnad cuisine, & they do comply with any dishes that you may want, although I don't think that would be a deterrent for anyone going there for the sheer beauty & tranquility of this place is outstanding. Imagine this... You come back from the coffee plantation trek breathing in the fresh air enjoying feasting your eyes on the flora & fauna, relax by the bonfire with light music playing in the background in the evening, hot pakodas with some wine, kids playing games available at the common area. Then retire with a book from the bookshelf in your room. Heaven!

A perfect getaway from the city life!! Go for it guys.. You will not regret it - that's a promise..

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. The best one is the one nearest the entrance gate of the homestay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanakiKrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chikkamagalur hotels
6.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
#4 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
846 reviews
3.2 mi away
Trivik Hotels & Resorts, Chikmagalur
1.7 mi away
Java Rain Resorts
Java Rain Resorts
#1 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
OYO 8496 Hotel SK Regency
OYO 8496 Hotel SK Regency
#10 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
92 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
#11 of 165 in Chikkamagalur
209 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Serai
The Serai
#3 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thotadhahalli Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thotadhahalli Home Stay

Address: Thotadhahalli Estate | Kaimara, Chikkamagalur 577131, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Chikkamagaluru District > Chikkamagalur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Chikkamagalur
Price Range: $35 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Thotadhahalli Home Stay India/Karnataka - Chikkamagalur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing