We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Athithi Homestay Chikmagalur
Ranked #63 of 107 Chikkamagalur B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 25, 2013

location is excellent, away from clutter of the town, in the middle of coffee plantation. Food is fantastic. Krishna is a great cook. We must have gained a few pounds over the weekend. Hosts are very nice and accommodating. they made us feel just like home. overall a nice experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saurabh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Athithi Homestay Chikmagalur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 62 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

True to the homestay name, it was a wonderful stay.

We were there for 2 days, the rooms and bathroom were neat - the best you can expect for, the food as all other say - excellent. Everything served were good with lot of varieties and desserts for all 3 meals.

As its within coffee plantations, you can plan only once in a day to move out of this area and finish the trip and come back as its about 10kms far from the main town. In the evenings, can go for long walks within the plantations and by 6.30 you will have to get back to your stay.

We had a wonderful host along with her son who took us around the 150 acre coffee plantation and takes care of your basic needs and guides you to the places you can plan to go for. As its the harvest season - you get to go through the complete process of extracting the coffee seeds in the evening.

Its a good place for a group of families to go and enjoy, the rooms are spacious enough. As we were a single family we stayed in the outhouse portion which gives you more privacy.

Room Tip: If you are a group of families you can opt to stay in the house, else the rooms are best.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dibbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The title refers to the experience we had at Chikmagalur at the Athithi homestay. We were 4 family members and our pet dog and we stayed there for 2 days (25th - 27th December); we had a lovely time there and our dog will agree most vehemently!

It is an old cottage situated on a hill amidst a coffee estate adorned with tropical and pretty flowering plants all around it. The room we were given had a lovely view looking towards the slopes of the mountain and the blooming flowers in front were absolutely stunning. The room was big with a slanting ceiling and wooden beams, it was spacious and clean and so was the bathroom. The beds were single beds and comfortable and the sheets were clean, the amenities were all basic but it was all you needed. It is beautiful during the day with the brilliant weather but at night it can be a little dark because the generator only lights up the homestay and the porch while it is pitch dark all around. At first it can be a little unnerving, but soon you realize the thrill of it all - basically you are living in an isolated house in a forest on a hill! That's what suspense thrillers are made of. However it can be a little dull during the evening if you don't go with friends so make the most use of the day. The coffee trail is a nature lover's/birdwatcher's/wildlife enthusiasts dream come true, we used to go for long walks in the morning and our dog loved it.
Lets come to the food - it was overwhelming and the cook Krishna who seems to be quite famous on Tripadvisor lives up to his name. He dished up an enormous quantity of food everyday and I'm sure all of us put on some kilos. I especially loved the breakfast; expect different food at every meal and all of them were very tasty. And the best part he always a had a big smile on his face. P.S. The desserts are the ones you should look forward to.
Would also like to thank our host Mrs Sudha Rajashekhar for ensuring we had a great time there.

The only reason I give this place 4 stars is because I haven't seen the other rooms, but I am sure they will not disappoint.We would definitely be going back there and hopefully for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tba001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just returned from chikamagalur trip, stayed 2 nights in Athithi homestay, and it was overall a good experience. It was a old house with renovated bathrooms, everything in the room and the bathroom were clean, common area etc were also very good, spacious and clean. The environment around the place, totally covered by coffee plants, others plants and mountains, it was great.
The main thing was the food prepared by cook Krishna there, awesome idlis and other stuff he prepared for us, and great care he took care of us. Nice place, rainy season, and I was able to get tea whenever I wanted, all thanks to ever-smiling cook Krishna.
The only problem, I could feel is the last 2-3 kms to the estate, it was mud road. They can do something about it. Second thing was, the room we stayed in, there was some water leakage from the ceiling when it was raining. It was very cold and little damp during day or night, second night, they gave some burnt some coal in the room to make it little better.
Otherwise all other things were great while we stayed here.
I felt, it was a little overpriced, considering above feedback.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dvsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Was just like vacationing in the comfort of one's own home. Amazing food..especially the pineapple salad and coffee. We had a great time and no doubt we will go back during next visit to chickmaglaur.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank Prateek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is the most wonderful place to spend a holiday, awesome food, both Veg and non veg, wonderful facilities, peace of mind, awesome scenery and out of the world hospitality, will take care of your needs like at home...

Room Tip: Just adjust with the road for about a couple of kms or max 4 kms its a mud road and the direction to...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exploreralthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Athithi Homestay provided us an enriched expereiance. We visited here in june 3rd week.The climate was excellent and the ambience was also very good.Food is very much appreciable.the people in the estate are very good care takers and the timings are flexible as per our needs.I reccomend this homestay. :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExtentFeeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chikkamagalur hotels
4.7 mi away
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
#7 of 142 in Chikkamagalur
205 reviews
5.9 mi away
Malagar Valley Homestay
Malagar Valley Homestay
#62 of 107 in Chikkamagalur
17 reviews
7.0 mi away
Nature Nirvana
Nature Nirvana
#34 of 107 in Chikkamagalur
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Home
Holiday Inn Home
#64 of 142 in Chikkamagalur
11 reviews
12.9 mi away
Shanthi Kunnj Homestay
Shanthi Kunnj Homestay
#37 of 107 in Chikkamagalur
117 reviews
9.4 mi away
Guddadamane Homestay
Guddadamane Homestay
#29 of 107 in Chikkamagalur
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athithi Homestay Chikmagalur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athithi Homestay Chikmagalur

Address: Sanehadlu Estate, Herekolale Post, Chikkamagalur 577101, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Chikkamagaluru District > Chikkamagalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Chikkamagalur
Price Range: $61 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athithi Homestay in Chikmagalur, where Mother Nature has spread a loving carpet of green, is a tourist's delight. The verdant forests, gurgling streams and rolling hills, the cascading greenery and the antiquated monuments take the traveller to an entirely different world, a world filled with dreamy retreats and spectacular beauty spots. The spirit of innovation and adventure unfolds here. A virtual treasure trove opens up before the traveller to explore and find out about the glorious history and the vibrant present day pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Athithi Homestay Chikmagalur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athithi Homestay Chikmagalur India/Karnataka - Chikkamagalur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing