We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Riverwoods

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverwoods
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

By far one of the most enjoyable experiences in a long time. One of the main things you need on a holiday is not to get deeply involved in administrative experiences. At Riverwoods, we got the maximum time to ourselves, because everything else was taken care by the owner - and the Manager - Mr. Badruddin. He has to be, without doubt - the star attraction of this place - because he ensures that you do not have to worry about a thing.

We stayed in the independent guest house - which is quaint, tastefully decorated and maintained. The food was excellent - and stay was very comfortable. The owner, Ms. Mrinal took personal interest and helped us with maps and tips fro traveling. Recommended? DEFINITELY!

Room Tip: Ask for the independent cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atulsabnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    28
    6
    3
    10
See reviews for
33
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

It was a great and wonderful experience. The facilities offered is really good. The best part was the swim we had in Bhadra river which is just 5 minutes walk. The staff were very friendly and co-operative, food was just amazing. The place is very quiet, nature oriented and you can listen to humming sound of peacocks, and birds. We were lucky to see a spotted Deer in the resort.The restrooms and toilets were clean and the linens was very fresh.

Room Tip: Only small suggestion avoid travelling to any Western Ghats area during monsoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I travelled to Riverwoods for a 3-day, 2-night weekend stay with my family (self, wife, daughter-7 and son-3).
We made our booking with the owner's family a week ahead and paid the full charge upfront. A day before we left Bangalore, we were contacted by the resort manager, Badruddin for directions, plans, food, etc.

We left Bangalore Friday morning around 7AM and had a great drive through some really nice roads. Finally we reached Magundi around 2PM in time for lunch. Piping hot vegetarian food was waiting for us. After a good lunch, we rested a bit and towards the evening, Badruddin took us to the nearby river. There we spent a good hour in the water. The kids had a total blast, with little fishes nipping their toes, searching for beautiful stones in the cool, clean water. After over an hour, we returned to Riverwoods and happened to meet the nice owner. There was hot tea waiting for us on return and later, a good dinner before we hit the sack.

The next day, after a good breakfast of kadubu, dosa and idli, we headed out to Horanadu temple. Lovely drive through Chikmagalur's rural areas - then returned to Riverwoods at noon, had lunch and headed out again to Sringeri to the temple there. We got back at night tired but refreshed.

The third day, we had breakfast and went out for a nice long walk through the plantation and also visited the owner's century old cottage. Lovely place. Then after a coffee, we left Riverwoods and headed out to Belur. We spent a captivating two hours at Belur before having lunch and returning to Bangalore.

Couldn't ask for a better weekend - Riverwoods was a refreshing escape from daily routine. It is a good place for family. Given that we're vegetarian have small kids, we are very particular about simple/normal food and cleanliness - Riverwoods gave us both. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The cooks were very nice and provided us with regular meals that we enjoyed. I'd have loved to spend more time just lounging around the beautiful cottage and the estate. As a family getaway, if you want to chill out and enjoy a weekend, this is a great place. There were probably good places to go hiking, etc. but we didn't explore those options with the kids - also Bhadra sanctuary and other Chikmagalur spots were a bit far away from here. In any case, that wasn't on our agenda. Note: Magundi (and Riverwoods) are about 1.5 hours further drive from Chikmagalur town (about 60km) - though there is a better route via Mudigere to get there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m0gamb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2012

well as far as the place is concerned its fine(not great,just fine).before going to this place i had already read the reviews bt stiil wanted to give a try!!!!and guess wht i shudnt have come!but becoz ours was a huge group of 13 frends we managed to have fun....we dint have any problem wd the cleaniness of the rooms,it was neat but evrytime we went to have our bath,there was shortage of water,it hd to be pumped!!!then comes the actual problem,when v relax and start to enjoy our sourroundings(wich is what u can only do)we only wait n wait for the starters....and after a long wait we are served with burnt barbeque and when complained guess wht we got it raw n uncooked...the nonveg part ws really really horrible but u can still munch on the veggies,for breakfast ther was no fruits,just plain idli n sambar....
well even if u ignore the food part therz nothing interesting i can write about....okay ther is a river flowing nearby,again u cnt have a good swim b'coz its fiiled with small rocks here n ther wch is also slippery.....
altogether you can visit this place only... if you are not a foodie,if acccording to you relaxing is jst lay back n enjoy the scenary,n mainly if you dnt want anyone to disturb you then its the right place you are heading coz u hv only bsnl netwrk nothing else!!!!
anyways u can always try it for yourself coz u neednt share the same interest as mine,but once again if you are a foodie then its big NO!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ash554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This place is a rip off! I will explain...

We met the owner - a well spoken young lady I had interacted with regarding the booking and queries - as soon as we reached there. She sat with us while we waited for our coffee and I guess she was trying to make us feel comfortable. Trouble started when we started looking at the rooms, the photographer who clicked all those pics you see on their website has to be hired to shoot every ugly looking female one can find to make her feel like a bollywood star! Dinghy rooms with 'has been' linen is simply not my idea of a nice holiday. What irked me was that (I could be wrong here) but the main bungalow was quite a distance away and this looked like the estate farm hands' quarters or servants' quarters or something! A homestay means staying at a home doesnt it? I have seen enough estate bungalows and estate homes but none which is so downtrodden. Ancient furniture (note the word ancient and not antique) was used in the living room, hardly any books to read, average food, nothing much to do... Let me be a bit more organized for easy reading:

Location: Average - doesn't overlook a valley or river, elevation at the main cottage for a nice view of anything. A lot of trees, yes.

Rooms: Described above. They have other cottages but we met people from these cottages as well and they were equally cheesed off about the place especially for the rates being charged.

Food: Average. Have to say that the cook who lived in the kitchen of the same cottage that we had was very sweet.

STUFF TO DO:
Kayaking - This was fun. Charged separately I think.

Trek - I have definitely seen better. We knew more about the place than the manager who took us around.

Fishing - This is what takes the cake - I had specifically checked with the aforementioned lady about accessibility to the fishing area for someone using crutches and she specifically informed me that there was no issue. This whole trip was arranged for my father in law's bday and since he loved fishing and we were out of options we took it. Forget a person on crutches, a normal person has to take care for the TREK to the fishing area. We got someone from the resort to take us to a place where my father in law could get to the water easily and although we were told it was close by, we got there only with about 45 minutes of proper day light. Forget a relaxed fishing trip!

Pool - No such thing at Riverwoods!

Bat Sighting - Am not a bat person. Maybe others would have enjoyed it. By the time we got there for the bat sighting we were so let down about the fishing trip that we really didn't enjoy it.

Camp Fire - There was a fire and luckily for us, there was another family that was there and friendly so we got talking and the rest of the night was fun. Else, it would have been a boring camp fire.

Getting there: If you are travelling from Bangalore, please ensure you have enough time to get here and back. This is the outskirts of Chikmaglur and takes a considerable amount of time to reach from the main town.

Overall Experience: My in-laws and us (me and my husband) had separate bedrooms with a common bedroom. However, there was a loo with a door to our bedroom which was closed to us and open to a bedroom next door. We would wake up every time someone from that bedroom would use the loo! Terrible, terrible!! I am sure it was uncomfortable for the people using the loo as well, knowing there was a couple sleeping or awake on the other side of the door!

Value for money: For these kind of rooms, service, and nothing out of the ordinary experience, I would probably pay 800 bucks and not feel that it was a rip off! We were 5 adults sharing 1 decent sized bedroom and 1 small bedroom and one loo for 25 grand (not sure if it was 2500 a night or 3000) on the whole - totally not worth it! It is not about the amount, I have stayed in places that are much more expensive but come away feeling that every penny was worth it, this place was just smooth talking by a young lady trying to make money out of ill informed travellers reading the wrong forums!

Room Tip: Dont choose this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chikkamagalur hotels

Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Date Travelled : 6th / 7th August 2011
We were 20 of us and had booked "River Woods" for the weekend.
Their website is misleading, and the actual facilities they have are just pathetic.
This place can max accommodate about 14 folks as per their facilities available.

There is no extra activities to do in the resort, and if you want to do kayaking or river rafting you need to go further several kilometers.
The food served is just average, and in fact quite substandard for the cost they charge.
At night they had served a barbeque chicken and it was not even fully cooked.

At night power went off by 8PM, and they did not even have generator back up. We ended up staying the whole night in dark. And there was no power till the time we left back in the morning.

Even the rooms and bathrooms are just very average, in fact quite shady too.
This place offers no value for money, and it’s not all worth the 8-9 hours drive (it’s about 60 kms further from Chikmaglur).

And the lady owning the resort had made sure, unusual, that we made the 100% payment before we reached the resort. (Very clever of them, i feel now)

All in all, one of the worst outing experience, apart from the little fun we had in our cab during the to and fro journey, this resort experience was frustrating and just simply sick!!!
My Advice , Just avoid this place at any cost.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MithunMukundan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

we all had a great time .We were four couples and we had individual rooms for each of us.The rooms were very clean and well maintained.The food was very tasty & they gave us nonveg too(we hav to inform them prior for nonveg).We had my 3yr old nephew and my inlaws with us & were a bit worried abt the food & other facilities in such remote place.But the food there though simple was fresh cooked and hygenic.Also the helpers and manger there made our trip memorable by their hospitality.We also had fun in trecking ,fishing and kiyaking.There was many indoor games like carem,cards and we also played cricket.Really enjoyed the place.I would suggest this would be a pleasnt stay for a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thilagavathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chikkamagalur hotels
0.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
#2 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
768 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trivik Chikmagalur
Trivik Chikmagalur
#4 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captains Bungalow
Captains Bungalow
#23 of 97 in Chikkamagalur
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
#8 of 137 in Chikkamagalur
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Wood Resort
Green Wood Resort
#12 of 137 in Chikkamagalur
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malagar Valley Homestay
Malagar Valley Homestay
#60 of 97 in Chikkamagalur
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwoods

Property: Riverwoods
Address: Magundi Post | Chikmagalur District, Chikkamagalur 577160, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Chikkamagaluru District > Chikkamagalur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Chikkamagalur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverwoods is a HomeStay/Bed and Breakfast.It is nestled at the foot of a 360 acre Coffee Plantation and Surrounded by the River Bhadra. Rafting, Kayaking, Mountain Biking, Trekking, Fishing, Coffee Tours, Bird watching, Barbecue Campfires and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riverwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverwoods India/Karnataka - Chikkamagalur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing