We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, small, luxury”
Review of The Serai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Serai
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Chikkamagalur
Certificate of Excellence
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Relaxed, small, luxury”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in October - occupancy 6 out of 29 villas.
Spa was good.
Food was very good.
Staff were excellent.
Bar was good.
Villa had own plunge pool.
The setting in a coffee plantation is excellent - though it is a little way out of the town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    119
    33
    14
    9
See reviews for
192
130
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are at Chikmaglur for a getaway and if you are willing to shed the penny - This is the place to be. An experience in itself. Personal villas, with private pools/jaccuzi, well-furnished and lavish living describes the serai experience. Perfect place to spend time with your close ones. Might want to avoid incase you have people with you who might find it difficult to walk (since some villas may be quite far off from the main entrance).

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamannatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This place was amazing getaway from the busy Bangalore. Nestled among the coffee plantation it has a very relaxing effect. The villas were great. The hospitality too was good. Good place to spend time with family.

Room Tip: Rooms higher on the hill are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

As I'm a vivid traveler and privileged member of Taj group and Lalit hotels n resorts... Yet my first experience with Serai brought me and family a unique eternal bliss... This experience I could say is one of it first kind... I should say "Life at Serai-Chikmanglur is like hot aromatic cup of coffee sipped in the winter of mystic woods where the nature lovers bask... The perfect blend of Resort Architecture to that of roasted bean... The host of efficient staffs to that sugar sweet complimenting the aroma... The buffet of feast rouse up like the froth at it delicacies... Oh!!! we enjoyed every moment like that every sip till its last... "
My appreciation to all the staffs of Serai for their professional service with utmost care.. Some of them to be underlined specially are Ms.Deepthi of reception made the stay pleasurable with her prompt response to our requests apart from smooth check-in and check-out. Gagan of front office was supportive and friendly with all the fine guidance... The restaurant captain to all the service boys... Room up keeping is also to the class... And you Sunitha was truly impressive with your prompt and precise response.
Due to tight professional scheduling our stay was short but planning my next long summer holiday with Serai... Where... Life waits and so we... :-)

Thanks and regards,

Raghu
Principal Architect
Earthenhive Architects
Sent from BlackBerry® on Airtel

Room Tip: All the category of villas falls in premium segment with private pool, Gazzibo, Open to sky shower/B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raghu E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirupati, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I happen to be at Serai with family last year for 3 nights on Terrance Villa (I think thats what its called).

The experience from start was great. we were living banglore to chikmanglur and they called us, enquired about our position, suggested routes and said they are waiting for us. As we came close to the destination, received call and enquired about what we would like to have for lunch, as buffet closes by 3 pm and they wanted to make sure food is ready when we arrive there (great gesture).

Check-in was breeze, good welcome and straight to lunch, then other formalities (awesome). Room was fantastic, Private Pool was awesome and sufficient size (not like small plunge pool). The staff there were awesome, food though at start was bit short of expectation, but once we got this to notice of chef, he ensured we enjoyed all our meal.

Only thing I would like to add here is having a ATV and a dirt track :), it would be great adventure sports addition.

My kids love that place and will visit them again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abhsap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Nestled among the coffee plantations, this resort is an excellent getaway. Calm and serene with individual villas with private pools. Although it is priced a bit high, this kind of vast space is rare to get in an resort. The climate was very good and we as a team enjoyed a lot. Breakfast has a very good spread. Lunch can be better. The facilities are awesome and the surroudings are good for a long peaceful stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramugr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

A beautiful property with acres of coffee estate around you and a beautiful view of Chikmagalur town. The rooms are nice and spacious surrounded with glass to make you feel one with nature but at the same time provides you with a lot of privacy. Food can definitely improve. It was good but not great as I would have expected from a resort like this. Service and house keeping was average with the pool not clean, the breakfast plates not being cleared and service at the restaurant very slow. The spa was good but maybe a little overpriced. I went here with a bunch of girls and we had a blast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPallavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chikkamagalur
7.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
#3 of 17 in Chikkamagalur
792 reviews
8.6 mi away
Trivik Chikmagalur
Trivik Chikmagalur
#2 of 17 in Chikkamagalur
83 reviews
3.8 mi away
Aadrika
Aadrika
#6 of 17 in Chikkamagalur
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hotel Mayura Velapuri Belur
7.8 mi away
Guddadamane Homestay
Guddadamane Homestay
#29 of 100 in Chikkamagalur
93 reviews
29.7 mi away
River Tern Lodge
River Tern Lodge
#1 of 140 in Chikkamagalur
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Serai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Serai

Property: The Serai
Address: B.M. Road | Mugthihalli Post, Chikkamagalur 577133, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Chikkamagaluru District > Chikkamagalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chikkamagalur
#4 Spa Hotel in Chikkamagalur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Serai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Serai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Serai Hotel Chikamagalur
The Serai India/Karnataka - Chikkamagalur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing