We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, but thats all!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chikkamagalur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eagle Eye Holiday Homes
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great view, but thats all!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The home stay/resort boasts of a great view and it certainly has one. But except for that nothing justifies the pricing of 2k per person per day. The rooms are forgettable, the food tasteless and usually served cold. They arranged a bon fire at night which was decent and the coracle was memorable. But apart from these it was all forgettable.

The receptionist was not helpful at all. We had lost our way about 10 km from the place and called her up for directions repeatedly. Each time she said I will text and that text never arrived. The main reason for us choosing the place was the coffee plantation tour but the receptionist could not arrange one for us even after arguing for a good half hour.

We saw many other homestays on the way which seemed much better than this. I suggest you try all the other options before going here.

Room Tip: Choose the room right on the 1st floor infront of the reception area. It has a beautiful view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitesh577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    68
    46
    34
    39
See reviews for
85
40
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

They charge you 2.5K per person but in room you will find spider, lizard and Ant. its not worth it at all...Even they not refund you any money on cancellation...we found the spider and ant in water fall and its scary...we have upgraded the room to glass house. Even on pool we find spider. Even there on nights spider and ants and mosquitos comes to your room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit_kol0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chikkamagalur hotels

Bangalore
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

No facilities in the room, like room service, phone, TV etc, as you would expect in a Forest. The resort didn't inform that no vehicles will be available due to Ayudha puja. It is so far off from everywhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Akshay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We as a group of four families( eight people ) visited/ stayed at this holiday home for three nights /four days during end sept 2013.Our experience was great & fully satisfactory.Located nearly 10 kms from the main road, on 130 acres of plantation land, overlooking the expansive mountain range and thick forestary,the very look is awe inspiring for any one.It is a fantastic experience to be with the nature.The cottages where we stayed were neat & clean & ofcourse a few insects to give company .They have other types of accommodation also. This is to be expected considering the location .Tariff includes morning coffee, breakfast , lunch ,evening tea & dinner.food basically veg with one or two non veg preparation was good .There are a number of activities to keep oneself active/busy or one can just sit & be one with the nature.For BIRD WATCHER'S /PHOTOGRAHERS IT IS an excellent place.There are a few places of interest with in a radius of 100 kms .Evenings are made pleasent with bonfire, where one dance away into the night,

It is place where one can have excellent time with family & friends.

.

Room Tip: Select the rooms /cottages which gives the panoramic view of the mountains & forests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkalgudnagaraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 2N/3D in Nov 2012. We chose the glass house, which has the best view in the resort. It also has a private pool, though we were not able to use it because of insects. They had cleaned the pool when we checked in, but the next morning the pool was full of insects again as it had rained whole night. However, we did not have any complaints, mainly due to the excellent view. As the glass house is located at the edge of the resort, you get a feeling of complete seclusion and tranquility, with no noise / disturbance whatsoever.

Food was also good - great taste, quality and variety.

There were few good activities available near the resort - Rafting was one of them. They also have a private pond close to the resort, where we got to spend some time fishing.

Overall great place for people who want to spend some time in nature's lap.

Room Tip: Choose the glass house for the best view in the resort. But, it is not suitable for groups with old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajay_Anju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The rooms are good.. We took a glasshouse, but the water in pool was very cold. So unusable. People are very good. Service is excellent. We'll within deep forest, this is really a home away from home. The tariff is costly as there are no much activities as part of package. Road to get here is not the best but manageable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VreddhiBhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The place is beautiful as all of Chikmagalur is. However, the resort is managed badly. There is 0 flexibility with the meal timings and the food served is not good at all. To top it all, there are no shops nearby where you can buy what you need.

The rooms are badly maintained, and almost everybody just does a shoddy job. There is no room service, and you have to walk to one restaurant, at fixed times, irrespective of weather or mood.

There is nobody who cares about the guests. I picked this resort after good feedback from my colleagues - they had visited in a team of 60 and had felt well looked after. I am not sure if that was because it was a big corporate group and this was a family outing.

There is much which can be done at the resort, but there is almost 0 interest for the same.

I will agree 100% with anish916 review here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EktaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chikkamagalur hotels
17.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
#3 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
774 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trivik Chikmagalur
Trivik Chikmagalur
#4 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
73 reviews
15.0 mi away
Crystal Inn
Crystal Inn
#5 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Aadrika
Aadrika
#6 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
12 reviews
11.5 mi away
Java Rain
Java Rain
#1 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captains Bungalow
Captains Bungalow
#25 of 99 in Chikkamagalur
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Eye Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Eye Holiday Homes

Property: Eagle Eye Holiday Homes
Address: Hoscodu Estate, Kadavanthi Village, Chikkamagalur 577136, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Chikkamagaluru District > Chikkamagalur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Chikkamagalur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eagle Eye Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Eagle Eye Holiday Homes India/Karnataka - Chikkamagalur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing