We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Key component of BBBT : bangalore best breakfast tour :-))”

Brahmin's Coffee Bar
Ranked #1 of 69 Coffee & Tea in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Key component of BBBT : bangalore best breakfast tour :-))”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I know the title was mischevous and I have no intention of miffing the other breakfast guys ... I love food (veg) in most of its forms

Brahmin's coffee Bar is my favorite : every element of it. The Idlis are the best (next only to what comes out of our kitchen ;-)). The chutney that flows is awsome and so is the spirit of the guy sitting in one corner drowning your Idlis and Vadas in awsome chutney. It gets crowded but you wont feel it because of the way they manage the flow. The chap in his white Dhoti and an eternal smile does it amazingly well. So, crowd just flows through, order and pick up their food and do what they came for : enjoy the Idli, Vada, khara bath.

The BBBT by the way is : Brahmin Coffee bar (Idli), Veena Stores ( Vada), CTR (benne masala dosa), NKB ( ragi dose) .... do it all in one morning folks. Set aside 4-5 hours, have the 4 course break fast, get home and chill out with family with a cup of coffee ...

Only problem can be the parking space on a weekend. This is a small place at the corner of two roads, there is no sit down eating. But what the hell... that's a small issue given the Idlis and Chutney here ..

We keep going back all the time

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    286
    63
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dharmapuri, India
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“average taste poor service”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

i m regular to bangalore i had idlis at most of the restaurents like kamat a2b etc comparing to those this restaurent is average there is no dinning space no tables its very difficult to eat the food quality of food also very average

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DharmapuriAnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B'lore
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“nostalgic.. yes. best idlis...??? not really”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

i was first taken to this restaurant by a friend more than 2 years back as he told me it was one of the best places for idlis and in fact he grew up eating here..

the menu is very limited but since that first time, i been back there a few more times to try and figure out why people are so passionated about the idlis from here. i found it yes, soft and moist but also at times a tad salty and too brittle. the idlis does not hold well when eating with the coconut chutney provided, which by the way is really watered down

the vada are fresh and crisp better than the idlis actually. kara bath and kesari bath is forgetable. yes the coffee is nice but then all traditional filter kappi are always fantastic.

so my verdict is go once, but it's not the "wow" that every one thinks it is. the best part of the food here is that it's always fresh and the con is that it always crowded throughout the day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCezan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best idli in town!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

No offence to lots of other really great idli joints in bangalore, but this one my favorite. The idlis are just perfect. I am not sure about someone who has never tasted an idli before but if you have then I am sure you will not regret trying this on my recommendation. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BizTraveller-Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Amazing Idlis and a nostalgic expirience”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Menu has only 4 items - idli, vada, kara bath and kesari bath apart from coffee. Only coconut chatni and no sambar
But with all this one will still come out feeling extremely satisfied. Reason out of the world idlis, chatni that tastes superb and is served unlimited making it that much more enjoyable. Vada is good as well.
Overall its like one of those quick break fasts yet giving you a sense of satisfaction. Must visit for any food lover.
By the way eating has to be standing so watch out for kids if you are taking them

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Balajirajagopalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brahmin's Coffee Bar also viewed

Bengaluru, Bangalore District
Bengaluru, Bangalore District
 
Bengaluru, Bangalore District
Bengaluru, Bangalore District
 

Been to Brahmin's Coffee Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing