We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell short of expectation”
Review of Samarkand

Samarkand
Ranked #131 of 10,965 Restaurants in Bengaluru
Cuisines: Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fell short of expectation”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We visited on jan 31 with lot of expectations.food was fair ....nothing out of ordinary .we had visited before in 2005 ....same look and ambience .but it failed to impress us.may be we eat out very often .

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TandonSap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    240
    74
    35
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have been visiting this restaurant for the last 8 years and surprisingly every time I visit I feel the same taste and food quality..amazing!!

Best afghani and kebabs in town!

Keep it up!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prithwiraj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“ITS NORTH WEST FRONTIER CUISINE -A RARE TREAT !”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Now looking for some awesome ,amazing Afghani food in heart of Bangalore -then bang on- on Infantry road we have SAMARKAND ! its always full so u will have to wait but I bet its worth the wait . Its an experience by itself -the tables are low seated and decor ethnic but one drawback is that the tables are not paced out well . As you sit you get aprons to wear if u want instead of the usual napkins , the menu card is in the form of a news paper... interesting stuff and the breadsticks are simply fun , long and muticolored which tastes ooh la la if u have them with the different kind of chutneys and aachar. !
Oh yes the drinks menu is in the form of a bottle so this is one place I take friends who come from outside Bangalore ! No spoons are given and u have to eat with your hands , watch the phirangs do that !
Order the malai kebas mostly all the kebabs are soft , well marinated and perfectly cooked and dig in to the ghost biriyani .here it iit is orginal biriyani the DUM style . i usually order naans with kebabs try it ...it goes very well
for sweet dish have kulfis . the most sought after dish the Sikandari Raan.... on the whole a memorable experience !

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReenaChowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed with both food and service”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is suppose to be one of the better restaurants in city, but we were quite disappointed with our experience yesterday. This was 3rd time that we were visiting this restaurant and our previous 2 experiences have been quite good. However, lately we have not been happy with all the BJN group restaurants. They are quite expensive, charge around whopping 30% of additional charges (VAT + Service charge + taxes) and above all they seem to care less for the guests.

Yesterday we visited Samarkhand for our marriage anniversary in hope to repeat our previous experiences. Our 3 year old son loves fig and just for him we wanted to order anjeer kebab. The describes it as kabab made of fig and cottage cheese and we confirmed with restaurant manager that it would be on a sweeter side. The manager insisted that it would be on a sweeter side and asked us to change the order. We informed that we are ordering for our son and he replied that then it would just be perfect!!! However, the kebab served were extremely spicy and it was not at all edible for kids. It was not made from cottage cheese at all, it was rather potato based kebab. We usually do not mind spicy food, but we ourselves found it too hot to complete the serving. When we complained to the manager he apologized and said that he would get one petty for my son. However, once again he informed that these kebabs are made from pre cooked preparations and it is not possible to cook separately without chilly!!! We certainly expect a better reply than this from restaurant of such repute!!! The managers should also know the content and ingredients of the food. And the menu must no misguide the guests.

We wanted to order Paneer subzi which was mildly spicy, and the manager recommended Paneer Makhani. I asked if it would be sweet and manager said it would be mildly spicy and would be just nice. Eventually the serving that was served was sweet (that is how Paneer Makhani should be), but once again we found the manager to be ignorant.

Khamiri ki roti and Phudina Kulcha were awesome.

We were too disappointed to have our customary kulfi after the fiasco with starters and main course and decided to leave.

Eventually, we gave our honest feedback in the feedback card and the manager / waiter (not sure) did not take it correctly and argued with us instead. If you have an option of taking feedback from the guests then you should also accept the correct and honest opinions.

We loved BJN group restaurants and have visited almost every restaurant multiple times. But lately their taking for granted attitude has disappointed us.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank neelshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“spoiled a special day”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I had visited this place earlier two years back and back then the taste of food served and quality was good. Lat night we went there for our anniversary and how i wished i had instead gone to a street food outlet. Atleast it would taste better.

Firstly, the person taking order had no clue how dishestaste in their restaurant. We had asked if anjeer kabab would be appropriate for our two year old and person said yes its sweet and not spicy. And then we get starter full of green chillies. Description said cottage cheese and figs. What was served potato tikki with anjeer decoration and amazingly spicy for us forget about our two year old.

Then we asked for medium spicy vegetable and we were suggested paneer makhni. It had no taste what so ever. It was sweet and yuk...

No choice in kulfi. Just malai..

Service was terrible. No motivation to serve you better as they have mandatory service charge. This is another reason why they are least interested in serving you better.

Complete no no for vegetarians. Might as well try booby ka dhaba :-)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Purvi2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samarkand also viewed

Bengaluru, Bangalore District
Bengaluru, Bangalore District
 
Bengaluru, Bangalore District
Bengaluru, Bangalore District
 
Bengaluru, Bangalore District
Bengaluru, Bangalore District
 

Been to Samarkand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing