We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sahib Sindh Sultan - CLOSED

Sahib Sindh Sultan
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The restaurant is really beautiful, the light in the restaurant gives a very good feel, people who want to smoke also have good option. I ordered for couple of Draught beer and a platter of Non veg which was amazing, after a long time i had mustard souse with perfect ingredients. Only one thing which was fishy was i asked for cheese fingers and the Bar man told me there is no cheese but when i looked in the menu again, he said "sir you can order for cheese chilly toasts". I am not b=very sure how did they get the cheese now.......

But all in all it was really a great evening where i went to celebrate my friends birthday......the people working there are really very understanding and innovative.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jammer2130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    128
    67
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The old english engines chug on....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Always had heard of the place and was intrigued by the name. Its interesting to those who seek trivia and enjoy little snippets from the past. The restaurant's theme has the look and feel of a railway station and platform from the days when the first train pulled out of Bombay's stations, with an orient express coach decor for a more private seating and the rest of the restaurant as the common platform. The ushers and head steward welcome you in their sola hats and forest ranger outfits from another time.....complete with whiskers et al!!!
We ordered a dak bungalow roast chicken...cooked the way it was back in those days. Indian breads and cucumber curd salad. All of it was tasty and well made and enough for us but the lemonade was a disappointment. It was over priced, and very average in taste and a complete waste of money. On the whole, a good experience, menu is not varied but were happy with what we ordered. Our systems didn't break-down either the next day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnieBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

When a friend took us for lunch inside a mall, I could not imagine going back in time and place and get a feel of life and times of passe. The decor, music, sounds and the uniforms of the staff immediately take us down the memory lane to the good old trains with bogeys for travelling Rajas & Maharajas! Welcomed inside the train like royalty, we felt like royalty ourselves!

The food was befitting the decor and the Mogul cuisine was good & so was the modern innovative variations reminding us that most royals studied in England in those days. Amused by the Gulab Jamun Flambe!

A place where we would love to spend a leisurely time with family and friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank khuku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Among the few places to retain its charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have been visiting Firangi Paani for about 7 years now and I have to admit it is one of the few places in Bangalore to have retained its charm (read quality of service). The staff are courteous, the food is great and the drinks are pretty good if you ask for the right mix. Not many restaurants in India understand customer service and Firangi Paani is definitely among the few who do. It is a must visit if you are in Bangalore.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kc3981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sucks at that price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Summary: There are several other better places!
- customer server sucks, they are all on almost mute mode. go there with 2 hours to spare.
- ambiance is so noisy since there are more tables that what a restaurant of this grade (actually its 2 levels below that but price is no match) should allow.
- some of the parent guests dont control their kid, so its not really a place for dates. even if you were on a date people will stare at you in 6D view.
- congested enough that 6 tables around can see what you are eating. the table from the train-line window, get a top view of what and how one is eating.
- tiny tables so eat your stuff fast or the servers clear it w/o any warning
- lastly extremely overpriced for all the above nonsense.

Final note: just go somewhere else.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank treep_advizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sahib Sindh Sultan also viewed

Bengaluru, Karnataka
Bengaluru, Karnataka
 
Bengaluru, Karnataka
Bengaluru, Karnataka
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing