We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stupid regulations - will never return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amc Comforts @ Brigade Homestead
Ranked #42 of 818 Specialty Lodging in Bengaluru
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stupid regulations - will never return”
Reviewed May 27, 2010

On my second stay there i book junior suite for hole week.. was so unfortunately to break an ashtray on the floor. On checking out i was told to pay for this. I refused and mentioned that nowhere this is not common in a hotel that you have to pay for broken glassware.

The reception manager told me that regulations was like that and even called another staffmemember to convince me.

These guys simply dont have any clue about the hospitality business, and for sure i shall never return to this place. Get a grip guys - send your management to some hospitality seminar or close down business.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JesperM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrigadeHospitality, Manager at Amc Comforts @ Brigade Homestead, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear JesperM3,

We are extremely sorry to hear about this unfortunate incident. However do allow us to explain that as a policy we do charge for any damage to property in the room, also since we are a serviced apartments we provide cutlery, cooking pots and pans etc, we need to have these regulations in place in order to avoid misuse.

Considering this was your second visit we believe you must have liked Brigade homestead enough to book it again therefore we sincerely hope you will understand and give us a chance to serve you again!

With Warm Regards,
Anandan B
Resident Manager
Brigade Homestead Serviced Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    39
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
30
15
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

I along with my spouse and my extended faily had the privelege to stay at this wonderful home like hotel in the busy lavelle road area of Bangaore for a weekend. It is very reachabale to most of the hapenning places in the city like the M.G.Road, Brigade Road, Commercial Street, the Vidhana Soudha and Cubbon Park.
The hotel is mostly used for business purposes by executives who come on an official visit. The rooms are very elegantly designed with the latest bathroom accessories and all the facilities that you would expect from a star hotel. The rooms are provided with a large plasma TV, DVD player, airconditioner, fridge and telecom facility. The room service is excellent although they have a fairly small sized restaurant on the last floor of the building. You can also order from any of the nearby restaurants if you like-Pizza Corner, Empire Hotel etc. There is a kitchen in the room though that boasts of all you would need for cooking-MIcrowave Oven, Hotpot Chimney, Soda Maker, Coffee Maker, Cutlery...so that you can cook for yourself if you want.
The hotel is significantly located to the best of business centres around the city and give planty of accessibility to visit the trendiest places in Bangalore.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kunjanjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrigadeHospitality, Manager at Amc Comforts @ Brigade Homestead, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Kunjanjain,

Everyone at Brigade Homestead - Lavelle Road wishes to sincerely thank you for your highly appreciative review.

We are very glad you loved the apartment’s location, the rooms, the facilities and amenities provided.

These apartments have been converted into residential units now therefore we would love to welcome you to Brigade Homestead – Jayanagar on your next visit to Bangalore!

With Warm Regards,
Anandan B
Resident Manager
Brigade Homestead Serviced Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

I had the distinct pleasure of staying here for about 6 months when working for a big MNC. The place was well furnished and cleaned daily! The place was very expensive, but the expense was bore by the company. The deco is very tastefully done, and the people at the front desk are cordial and friendly.

The location is as prime as it gets... The place is in the heart of downtown and walking distance from everything!

Would definitely recommend this place for a long stay!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Technoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrigadeHospitality, Manager at Amc Comforts @ Brigade Homestead, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear Technoholic,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Brigade Homestead – Lavelle road along with posting this wonderful review. We are very happy to know that you loved the location and found the staff very hospitable.

Do stay with us again and give us a reason to make you smile yet another time!

With Warm Regards,
M Jayashankar
Resident Manager
Brigade Homestead Serviced Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Its actually high in rate for a single person but for 2 its almost affordable. 2 bedroom apartment for 4500 per night. Very spacious, with good service.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anagha555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrigadeHospitality, Manager at Amc Comforts @ Brigade Homestead, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear Anagha555,

Thank you for your review. We did notice that you reviewed us again; glad you took the time out to do it.

We wish to welcome you again so do visit us soon!

With Warm Regards,
M Jayashankar
Resident Manager
Brigade Homestead Serviced Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Let's start with reservation:
Do not book via the website as there is absolutely no coordination between actual bookings and the site bookings. I had booked a Standard suite for 2 nights and when I recahed, there was no booking even though I had a print out of their confirmation with me. Apparently, the internet booking people never informed the property and hence the confusion. To cover up, they put me in the Executive Suite @ the cost of Standard Suite.. This took approx 30-45 mins to settle down.

Accomodation: Appartments are decent, nothing great, executive suite was very run down. The geyser kept on leaking and even after repeated attempts to fix it, they could not. The kitchen chimey was broken. Mind you this was executive suite so I was expecting this to be a little better but of course I was wrong. Beds were comfortable yet squeaky. The living area has an LCD, DVD player, Refrigerator, Hot plate, microwave, chimey, utensils etc. All in decent shape.
Bathrooms were tiny and just had soap, no other toiletries. Towels were not very well bleached. And this was the executive suite.
Breakfast: Is included in the room tariff. Very basic but sufficient to fill up your stomach till lunch time. Next door is a small bakery which sells some very nice stuff.
The Front desk has a huge catalogue of all Take way and Restaurants which deliver food so that's also not a problem.

Gym is ok, nothing great.
Location: Excellent, very close to MG Road and UB City which is a luxury mall with stors like LV, Tiffany etc.

For the price they are charging, I would say they are good but for the brand they represent (Brigade group is a one of the leading developers in Bangalore), they are below average.

The apartments need a facelift instantly.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms need a facelift
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrigadeHospitality, Manager at Amc Comforts @ Brigade Homestead, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear Gary25,

Firstly we would like to thank you for all your feedback. We are glad you recognized the good location. I understand it’s a delayed response but hopefully will be able to address all your concerns.

Apologies for your trouble with the booking but we have improved our booking engine tremendously and there is much better co-ordination now. The property has undergone complete refurbishment and we assure you that none of these will be a bother in the future.

Brigade homestead – Lavelle road would love to welcome you again so you can walk away with a much pleasant experience!


With Warm Regards,
M Jayashankar
Resident Manager
Brigade Homestead Serviced Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2008

We traveled to Bangalore for a wedding in June 2008. With two small children and a friend in tow, we decided that an apartment (with a microwave, etc.) would serve us better than a 'regular' hotel room. We reserved a 3-bedroom apt. at the Lavelle Rd location.

At first, we were very unhappy with our choice: the apt was tucked way back in a corner of a cul-de-sac (we didn't feel safe) and was not at all as represented on the website. In fairness to Homestead, there weren't any photos of the 3-bedroom unit - we just assumed that they would all be similar. The furnishings were spartan and run down and the bathrooms were a fright. After the first two nights, we made plans to relocate to a nearby hotel (I hear from co-workers that the Atria Hotel is quite nice) at double the price we were paying per night at Homestead. Upon notice to the front desk, however, we were promptly shown some other rooms in the main bldg. They were only two bedrooms, but we decided that there wasn't much hope of getting our children out of our bed anyway. The rooms in the main building were MUCH nicer. They've been recently renovated with more modern bathrooms and nicer furniture. We had air conditioning, a refrigerator, a microwave, flat screen TV and DVD player. Breakfast is included in the price of the room. We decided to stay and were quite comfortable for the remainder of our time there. There is a lovely little boulangerie on the corner next door which has very nice bread and pastries and a good cup of coffee or tea - worth a visit.

By Western standards, there were still a few things we didn't like - but we found these issues the same in every place we stayed in India: poor septic system management ('smells' come back up through the pipes - they use little mothball like deodorizers on top of all the drains lending a lovely medicinal smell to even the nicest rooms. I guess it's better than the alternative, though), hard mattresses (not the Westin dream bed, that's for sure!), limited hot water for showering, and a 'patina' on the towels and linens (they did smell of bleach, though, so assume they were somewhat clean).

I'd recommend Homestead for families or anyone staying longer than a couple of days. Just be sure to ask for a room in the main building!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkuntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrigadeHospitality, Manager at Amc Comforts @ Brigade Homestead, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear Bkuntz,

We are happy that you wrote us a review here, thank you! We understand it’s a delayed response but with a re-assuring note. We have completely done away with the 3 bedroom units and now the main building is operational with only 2 bedroom units.

The entire place underwent a makeover at the end of the year in 2008 so the room quality has improved therefore we can assure you that on your next visit to Brigade Homestead – Lavelle road you will find it much more agreeable.

Please do visit us again and give us a chance to serve you!

With Warm Regards,
M Jayashankar
Resident Manager
Brigade Homestead Serviced Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American living in India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

I stayed at Homestead Lavelle Road on my first trip to India in 2006 and stayed there on subsequent visits. I even had my relatives stay there when they came for my wedding.

The above poster obviously doesn't have much experience with hotels in India. For the price you are paying in Bangalore, this place is actually quite good.

First of all it is clean. You have to remember that you're in India, so things might be a little different than you're used to. It's not the Leela Palace, so it's not chi-chi. But the maids come in and sweep, mop and clean every day. You won't battle roaches or rodents, which is a possibility anywhere you stay in India. And the apartments are huge and well furnished. The beds are hard, but welcome to India.. all beds are hard in India. It's the original home of the extra firm mattress.

All apartments have 2 bedrooms and at least one bath, well-appointed kitchenette, microwave, TV, DVD player... you name it.

The only kinda crappy thing about the Lavelle Road location is that you have to leave the area to get any good food. There are a couple OK places nearby like Sunny's and Shezan but not too much else, and breakfast is a big challenge. but if you tip properly and they have enough staff they will send someone out to get you a "bread omlette" (fried egg sandwich) or idles/dosa.

The prices have gone up significantly since I stayed there, but I still feel that it is probably worth the money. There are very few mid-range places to stay in bangalore.

Some issues I had with the place include that they are difficult to deal with when making a reservation. They prefer very long stays and will often put you off if you want to reserve for less than 2-3 weeks in one shot. Another issue is that some indian law requires them to have a record of your passport info, so they insist on photocopying your passport. then they store it in some notebook at the front desk, which is often just lying around in the open for anyone to grab. I was pretty mad about that. I also refused to let them photocopy my credit card, which they also wanted to do.

All in all, if you've done any kind of traveling in India you'll realize that this place is a gem... clean, affordable, good location (did I mention walking distance to MG Road?)

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, price
  • Disliked — Difficult to get a reservation, no on-site restaurant
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smallsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrigadeHospitality, Manager at Amc Comforts @ Brigade Homestead, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear Smallsquirrel,

We wish to convey our heartfelt thanks to you for taking the time to review us here. This is a delayed response but again you would be happy to know that we have now been accepting short stay bookings also. We do need a copy of your passport but are now storing it very carefully. The photocopying of credit card is not undertaken anymore, we just take the number to confirm the booking if required.

Thank you once again to noticing the positives including the value for money, location and facilities offered. We do not have a restaurant in the premise but have since then compiled a list of numerous menus of restaurants in the vicinity and if you order, it shall be delivered to your room.

We are extremely happy that you and your family had a pleasant stay and sincerely look forward to welcoming you once again at Brigade Homestead – Lavelle road!

With Warm Regards,
M Jayashankar
Resident Manager
Brigade Homestead Serviced Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Richmond Town
Melange Astris
Melange Astris
#147 of 665 in Bengaluru
179 reviews
Koramangala
Premium Serviced Apartments
Premium Serviced Apartments
#77 of 818 in Bengaluru
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ulsoor
Lake Habitat Serviced Apartments
Lilac
#15 of 570 in Bengaluru
45 reviews
Domlur
The Grand Serenity - Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amc Comforts @ Brigade Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amc Comforts @ Brigade Homestead

Property: Amc Comforts @ Brigade Homestead
Address: No 500 40th Cross, Bengaluru 560070, India (Formerly Brigade Homestead Serviced Apartments)
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 818 Specialty Lodging in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amc Comforts @ Brigade Homestead 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brigade Homestead is Bangalore's first professionally managed chain of serviced apartments, offering guests first-class, fully furnished, serviced accommodation in Lavelle Road and Jayanagar. All apartments are spacious and well equipped suitable for business and leisure travelers. Brigade Homestead is a smart, affordable and convenient alternative to hotel suites. We have had a steady flow of happy guests who have enjoyed the privacy, flexibility and comfort we offer. Welcome to Brigade Homestead! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Amc Comforts @ Brigade Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing