We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, but not my first choice”
Review of The Monarch Luxur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Monarch Luxur
Ranked #23 of 662 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Well located, but not my first choice”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is well located, but on a 1 way road, so if you need to go the other way - its a pretty long trek. The check in is smooth, the Rooms upkeep could have been better- but they are otherwise restful & quite. Don't try to look out of the window !
the complimentary breakfast spred is Ok , But the Ala-carte selection was awful. i had ordered a checken Waldorf salad salad, and I got a plate full of lettuce with a Ton of Salt & a sprinkling of paneer on it. I returned it with a complaint, they took it back, - but had the audacity to charge it to my Bill. the Gym is pathetic, almost nothing works.
All in all, OK - but would not like to stay again, if I could get a booking elsewhere in the same area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DolaRoyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    176
    40
    8
    4
See reviews for
103
40
23
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surat, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was there for business , and the staff was really helpful. Needed early check in and they agreed at no extra cost. The gym is outdated and unusable, but apart from that foodwise , cleanliness was pretty decent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sashu527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel has some pluses to it. Generally quiet and the staff is helpful. But, some real negatives. You may not get hot water early in the morning. Have to renew your internet access every day. How silly! Restaurant is below par for all meals. Haven't done any remodeling in a long time so things are dated. Will not accept anything but rupees and credit cards.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoosterTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed for just one night.
Reached in the afternoon. Very close to Safina Plaza (but dont reach the Plaza since it is a one way from safina plaza to the hotel)
Check in was OK. The staff had my reservation but did not have the rate at which I was to be accommodated for. Had to give them a copy of the email
Room was nice and well equipped.
Location - Good. Walking distance to Brigade Road (takes about ten minutes- with me carrying my younger one).
Two cons -
(a) The bathroom had a lock with key. It got locked (luckily the kids were with me). The staff was prompt and sent two maintenance people. It took them about half an hour to finally break the lock since the keys they had could not open the lock

(b) Breakfast(though part of the deal) was really pathetic.

Wi-fi was complimentary, speed was less than expected. The room price was excessive, considering it is a purely business hotel(no swimming pool or other similar facilities)
The staff allowed us for a late checkout by 1400h.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schungath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Was in B'lore for an overnight trip and stayed at The Monarch Luxur.

Friendly staff, good room and decent food. Complimentary Wi-Fi is an added plus.
Had a good experience and would surely recommend to others.

Good value for money. And location wise it's very much within the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sendsanjeev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leh, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Located very close to the MG Road and the Brigade road, this hotel gives you best in hospitality and service. Grant it to the competition from the other hotels in the vicinity, the rooms are reasonably priced and are a good bargain. Rooms are spacious and well stocked. Food is very good. The options of exploring MG road and brigade road, which are a stone throw away distance, for it's restaurants and pubs makes it worth the stay. There's an adequately stocked gym but a good pool could've made it the shining star. Still, it's my personal choice for stay, every time i head for bangalore.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rishabh_Kalra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

As the VP of India operation for my company, I visit our 100% owned Bangalore subsidy once every quarter. Our office is on Infantry Road, and so far I tried to stay within walkable distance from the office because Bangalore traffic is a nuisance. Having got tired of those hotels, this time I ventured a little bit further away and stayed in Monarch Luxur. I asked the hotel to arrange a daily pickup and drop-off from the office.

Those intimately familiar with Bangalore will probably recognize if I say Monarch is right after what seems like a nearly endless array of furniture stores on Infantry Road. The hotel is well decorated and the amenities are nice. My room was quite spacious and had a nice desk also that I used for my work. The AC didn't have an auto shutoff in my room, which was a bit of a bother. But to my utter surprise, Bangalore in January was almost as warm as a California summer, so the AC was on the whole night and I didn't have to go and turn it off!

When I come back from office, it is usually late and I am exhausted as well as jet-lagged. So my dinner was exclusively room service. Hotel's room service food is quite tasty and very reasonably priced (unlike another place that I stayed in Bangalore where once I had a plate of Biriyani for 1000 Rs!) However, if one does get tired of room service, Monarch Luxur is right next to what I consider one of the best restaurants in Bangalore and that's Samarkhand. And next to Samarkhand is one of the best beer joints in Bangalore. So, Monarch Luxur has an almost perfect location.

I enjoyed the breakfast buffet every day. Both food and service were very good.

My experience was quite good and I am looking forward to my next stay there.

Room Tip: I think there is not much to choose between. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffets are served in the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fremont_ca_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Richmond Town
The Monarch Hotel
The Monarch Hotel
#60 of 662 in Bengaluru
201 reviews
Trinity Suites
#8 of 662 in Bengaluru
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Elanza Hotel
#58 of 662 in Bengaluru
565 reviews
The Pride Hotel
#40 of 662 in Bengaluru
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monarch Luxur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monarch Luxur

Property: The Monarch Luxur
Address: 67 Infantry Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#38 Best Value Hotel in Bengaluru
#45 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Monarch Luxur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city's commercial district. Close to all the major shopping destinations and entertainment centres of Bangalore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Monarch Luxur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Monarch Luxur Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing