We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my Favourite Hotel In Bangalore”
Review of Hotel Chalukya

Hotel Chalukya
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Chalukya
Ranked #204 of 681 Hotels in Bengaluru
Reviewed March 23, 2012

if you want to stay in a "real indian hotel" then this is your place. Chalukya is lovely and traditional, yet at the same time there is wifi, three excellent restaurants, a superb staff, a lively location that is NOT on the tourist trail, butin a lovely part of the city near a golf course and a horse racetrack. This is such a fun neighborhood to walk in, but you have to be careful of traffic as the city has become increasingly crowded with auto traffic since i began staying at Chalukya ten years ago.
Do not be afraid to make special requests, or to have room changed or re cleaned. all of the staff are happy to spring to attention to make everything perfect for your stay. i have stayed at Chalukya nine times, and I cannot ever imagine staying elsewhere while visiting Bangalore.
Expect the usual quirky stuff like traffic noise, cooking odors, and pesky pigeons. i love Hotel Chalukya and I think you will too.
it is not near the airport, why would you want to stay near the airport anyway, ick!

Stayed: January 2012
Thank SusielovesIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 85 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2012

I am from vizag and keep vsiting bangalore very frequently (once in a month).
These are my ratings about the hotel

plus points:
1) near to railway & bus station
2) price normal for official visit ( 3000 for double room)
(but little it more for personal visit)
3) Nice south Indian breakfast
4) Very good restaurant attached ( 1 veg budget restaurant + 1 non-veg restaurant)
5) Wi-Fi
6) reception people are very good
7) near to mantri mall ( < 4 KMS)
minus points:
1) Far away for normal shopping centers

overall , i can say that its the best hotel located in a quite environment and i rate it as 4.5 of 4

Room Tip: budget, wifi, near to railwaystation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank ravinstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed in this hotel in end of September 2011. Hotel is very good, economic and at prime location. They offer complementary break fast and a good room service also. Room is very spacious and comfortable. Room has all facility and quick service. In case of food you have three choices. You can ask food at your room or at AC restaurant or at economic restaurant. However the choice of food is mainly south Indian dishes. One thing I like is that for small work they allow internet free of charge.

Room Tip: higher floor towards main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jalendu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Hey guys,
I went and stayed with my family at this budgeted hotel,old but still good in my sence,well morning we had masala dosa & followed by coffee at a restaurant in their building,its called as Samrat Restaurant,take my word,dosa was out of the world and coffee was excellent,i would prefer my next stay here again and try out few more dishes as i have heard all the food stuff are good

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suraj s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Centrally located, old property. clean rooms. simple stay. quiet hotel nice for a days stay. Simple breakfast. Food at restaurant is good. Try the prawns, they were well made. The check in and check out was smooth. Good travel desk facility

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorporateSud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I stayed in this hotel with my colleague.. I want to say that only 3 advantage you have when you stayed in this hotel...
1. It is in the center of the city.. M.G. Road, secretariat is just near to this hotel..
2. FreeParking
3. Helpful staff
4. VERY VERY reasonable room tariff.
and problem is ..
1. You have to cross the heavy traffic to reach here...
2. Food is not good
3. Very old amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashishmittal28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We were in Bangalore to attend a wedding and stayed here two nights. Clean and tidy rooms and easy access to public transport. Located off race course road, it made commute very easy to the wedding venue located in Gandhinagar and also to attractions in the city like Cubbon Park, shopping centres on MG Road and Commerical Street.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank devdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Vasanth Nagar
Hotel Paraag
Hotel Paraag
#298 of 681 in Bengaluru
38 reviews
Atlaantic Inn
#311 of 681 in Bengaluru
17 reviews
Young Island Comforts
#254 of 681 in Bengaluru
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Signature Inn
#125 of 681 in Bengaluru
169 reviews
Holiday Village
#163 of 681 in Bengaluru
161 reviews
The Elanza Hotel
#58 of 681 in Bengaluru
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chalukya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalukya

Address: 44 Race Course Road | Basaveshwara Circle, Bengaluru 560001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > Vasanth Nagar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 681 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range: $21 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Chalukya 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Chalukya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing