We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nostalgic...A journey to the past”
Review of Our Native Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Our Native Village
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nostalgic...A journey to the past”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

It was a weekend trip..My parents , wife & kids....This time we want to try something really different..The choice was Our Native Village...As the name suggests , we really had a feel of our home town...We reached there by 12pm...While checking in we were given a list of things which we can try in the course of our stay...I must say that with great enthusiasm & excitement , the kids & even my parents tried most of them....The activities really took us to our own childhood...We did kite flying....played Gilli Danda...in place of using Gun for shooting , we used catapult..The most exciting thing was tyre racing...( After coming back i was forced to remove the tyre of the old bicycle!!!).. Evening we went for a short bullock cart ride..( Thanks to His Highness Basavanna..The Bullock)...Once we were back we watched kabadi match with a cup of tea & boiled peanuts....There was yakshagana performance before Dinner...The next day started with a nature walk followed by some pottery making( the items which we "tried" making is a part of our showcase now...)It was a complete village experience rather a journey into our childhood...The rooms were cozy enough & the best part was there was no TV in the rooms....The food was excellent( Homely) and the staff was very courteous .....Overall one of the best places in the outskirts of Bangalore for a weekend...We sincerely acknowledge the efforts put by Mr Ramkumar & Team ....Thanks & Best Wishes...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManojIyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBramkumar, Owner at Our Native Village, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for your review Manoj. I am glad your caught he essence of what we are trying to do- to take you to the past and reminisce! We often feel that what is in the past is what is precious, which is the case with village activities. Our kids these days are growing up on electronic games, Face Book and cell phone games. They have no clue about the simple village games, which I am so glad you all enjoyed. It is so flattering to see that you now 'own' an old cycle tyre for your kids to race around with! God bless you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    122
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
175
53
6
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Had a great stay with during our visit to ONV during the weekend. The place is secluded, rooms are spacious and down to earth and just what we are looking for relaxation. Our puppy pug loved the place and really got good treatment from the staff.

I particularly liked the food, healthy and yummy - not the typical restaurant food. Although food is on expensive side, I would not mind that since we hardly get quality home style cooked food otherwise and me being vegan was a plus.

Staff were cheerful during the activities and at restaurant.

The place may not suite to the needs not of folks looking for resort experience or too much activity, but provides more of laid back and relax experience

Would love to visit again and soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalit_pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBramkumar, Owner at Our Native Village, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. Yes we are proud of our food offering as we are perhaps one of the few places where you can get authentic Karnataka cuisine. Expensive is a relative term I guess, as having access to pure home made spices and masalas made by our chef is not something g we can get anywhere. Lots of our guests attach a lot of value to this, as also all the authentic village experiences that we deliver, which gives so much joy to young and old. Cheers and do come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Our Native Village is a 40-45 km drive from Bangalore. You will enjoy the place in group. Very very isolated place in the fields. Good property with environment conservation and re-uage theme. You will a different village (sort of ... no Villagers!) experience. Swimming pool is not hygenic though owner claims otherwise. My friends kids have got severe ear infections. Enjoy the gulli danda, bullock cart rides. Not recommended for single family as you might get bored very soon!.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanjaySaxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CB R, Owner at Our Native Village, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for your review Sanjay. We do have a lot of villagers...in fact almost half my staff are villagers! As far as the swimming pool is concerned, you are completely mistaken about its hygiene levels. Let me explain.
We are all used to seeing pools with crystal clear water. We don't realise that those pools are full of chemicals to 'protect' us from infections. Our pool uses aquatic plants to clean the water, the way nature does in ponds and river beds. What you see as 'dirt' in our pool is zooplankton, which is microscopic vegetable matter which can be injected even by a child safely. We prefer not to add hydrochloric acid to the water to get rid of zooplankton, which is what is done in all pools. Out pool is a design from Austria, a country where they have huge community pools using the same technology. So our pool is extremely hygienic, though it does not look like a regular pool. Which is why we describe our pool as a 'fully natural pond style swimming pool'.
Considering that most of our guests are single families, I am not sure about your closing comment! Having fun needs a mind set, not company, not more families...just a light soul, a gentle disposition, a strong connection to nature, an awareness of our simple origins and an attitude of gratitude !
God bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our Native Village just made our day phenomenal. I booked this resort for celebrating my wife's birthday. I kept this as a suprise for her. I must say that each and every moment spent here was just phenomenal and memorable. We loved and enjoyed a lot staying there for fortnight. They have one of the best crew I have ever seen in my life. All team member in the resort are so humble and honest as they will make you feel that you are not meeting them first time.
Food was very tasty. We liked the ginger tea very much which was secially prepared for us upon request from my wife.
As we both are working in IT firms, so staying there and spending time recharged us. We were fully reloaded with positive energies which is very much needed in these kind of busy life.

Now we are planning for our next visit soon.


Thank you Native Village team for bringing up such a concept.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CB R, Owner at Our Native Village, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
You made our day Ashish with your review...and this is the second time you are doing this. The first time was when you decided to spend a special day like your wife's birthday at Our Native Village. You made our day then, and with this review you are doing it again!!
We always feel flattered and warm when people choose our resort to spend special days. Of late we have had so many folks like you coming here to spend their anniversaries, birthdays, baby showers... Every time we are flattered! So happy you had a good time and even happier that you felt so good about our staff. If you want to know how we train our staff, here is the secret..... we don't train them. We just encourage them to feel with their hearts, smile with their eyes, serve with their souls and treat every guest as their family....that is all. Am glad it is showing. God bless you and your wife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Me and my wife planned to go for our baby moon for a week end after getting tired of travelling everyday and office work. Finally, we decided to hit OUR NATIVE VILLAGE. Not to mention, that was a very good decision. We planned to celebrate Diwali at the resort. Last 5km drive to the place was just awesome.

Starting from the day we called them for enquiry till we came back to Bangalore with loads of memories and peacefulness the hospitality from these guys were outstanding. Ravi, the guide to us helped us everytime and made our stay most comfortable. Lalitha and her husband were very kind enough to take care of my wife health during the stay. Without your support we wouldn't have spent our baby moon in this comfortable way. Note: This is not a place for partying or loud music, If you want to have a peaceful week end without city nuisance then this is the right place.

Being an Architect, i loved the architecture of the place especially the interiors of the cottages, materials used, lighting level achieved was a visual retreat. The bedrooms and bathroom were clean and neatly maintained. I wish we had lamps(kerosene lamps or candles) in the room adding to the mood of the cottages complimenting the village life. But adding to the celebrative mood of diwali, diyas were placed all over the site. Guys, trust me, that was a visual treat not to be missed. Followed by that was Yakshagana performance which i always like to watch made the perfect end for the day. I wish they had some tie up with nrityagram, an another place where i feel the soul in the space. To my bad luck, nrityagram was closed on those two days i was there. :(:(

Pottery, mehendi, kabadi, bullock cart ride are the activities not to be missed, Me and wife enjoyed the fish spa in the pool. We just loved it. Food was good, But i found it lil expensive, might be for the reason they use freshly made spices.. but i still feel the rates are lil towards expensive side. Room service at least for morning coffee and tea would have been more helpful.

Above all, this is a pet friendly place. Pet lovers : DON'T miss this place.

Lot more to write. will do it next time whenever possible..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vinoth Kumar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CB R, Owner at Our Native Village, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
One of the biggest miracles of life is a Mother giving birth to a child. Like I always tell a expectant mother, you are closest to God when you are expecting a baby. You are creating life....this is what God does, right? So all you expecting mothers out there....remember that you are our Gods! Thank you for giving us life. We were so happy when we met you and your wife. Your wife has a nice glow about her, and it was so wonderful to see they way you are supporting her in her creation. We enjoyed your company...so happy you liked our place. Hope to see you all soon with the little baby - our resort has to be the first outing for your baby!!!. God bless you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Must visit resort for every true nature lover. This place is very well maintained and provides you with private space for one's relaxation. Just grab your favorite book, music, and you are all set to relax. The team who runs this place is so very honest and humble you will endorse the saying "True Value for Money" and not to forget this place to be renamed as "Our Native Home" as every person treats you as their home member.

This place is custom built to suit any corporate "Team Activities" as you get absolute privacy and space with little or no distraction from outside world.

Thanks Ram & Lalitha take pride in running this place the way it has to be... you are great ambassadors of hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raghotham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CB R, Owner at Our Native Village, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
So sweet that you titled your review 'Our Native Home..'. In fact the reason we called our resort Our Native Village is because, as a kid the only holiday we used to go to was our native village...those memories are so fresh and delightfully etched in our minds. the distinctive features of all villages including mine were simplicity, honesty and humility. we are doing our best to reflect all these values in Our Native Village. I am so happy that you managed to notice all our positive points while on a corporate visit!! Do come back and enjoy our place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Our Native Village is situated in the middle of farms & grassland. The approach to this is this resort was a like a African safari drive. The has very good resources (clean rooms, neat toilets, washed linen etc.). All the staff members (porters, room service personal, office staff, kitchen staff & activities conductors) were very friendly & provided excellent service. The team also organized a music band which made the evening more memorable.

The initial rate that one pays for is only for Bed+Breakfast+actives, lunch & dinner are not included. The lunch & dinner is A-la carte. The cost of each item is exorbitant. A simple lunch/dinner for two cost between Rs.1500-2000 (on par with rates of some good joints on 100ft road Indiranagar) - a quarter liter or curd costs Rs.72 (including tax) [Note they have there own cows from which they milk & ferment curd - not that it is being transported from the city]. We have a mixed experience on the food, some were very tasty, some dishes were extremely spice & a few were very oily.

Also, we went as group of three families. When we requested for individual bill per family/room, the staff totally mixed up our items when billing both for the times (lunch & dinner). And most surprisingly, once billed it can not be changed/corrected!

Similarly, I found the spa rates also exorbitant. A full body message for 1 hour costs Rs.3500. We did not get our self a message there, so I can compare the features, but typically in the city the cost that I know of is around Rs.1000 to Rs.1500. And with so much competition, there are lot of coupons & discounts for a message in the city.

The weekend we visited, there was heavy rain on Saturday evening, hence we did not have bonfire nor the morning walk.

In summary, I do recommend this place as a one time experience for the ambiance & activities,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank rskaredla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CB R, Owner at Our Native Village, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
I am so glad you found a lot of positives about our resort. It is nice that you were able to experience the delicious food and appreciate it too. Thank you for all your kind words - as I always say to guests, we thrive on warm words of appreciation from guests. Money will come and go, but genuine words of encouragement will always stay in our hearts - thank you again for your kind words.
I want to now clarify some other points you made which are factually incorrect. While a meal for 2 can cost Rs 1,500 to Rs 2,000 at our resort, this amount is directly proportionate to the amount one orders and eats. Typically if people come on a bed and breakfast package, they tent to spend not more than Rs 500 per head per meal....if they spend Rs 1,500 to Rs 2,000 then they are really hungry and have ordered a lot of food. Of course guests have the option to sign into an all-meals-included package also - it is up to every guest.
Other clarifications - A full body massage at our spa costs Rs 2,000 and not Rs 3,500 as you have noted and this is a massage done by 2 therapists simultaneously. Curd costs as much as it does, because you are getting fresh organic, yoghurt from cows that are not injected with hormones and antibiotics!! Every masala and spice we use is home made at our resort, lovingly blended by our chef - something you will never get in any hotel leave alone in your homes!!. Surely you can pay a bit extra for some good health!!!??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
9.6 mi away
The Windflower Prakruthi Bangalore
11.3 mi away
Clarks Exotica Convention Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Angsana Oasis Spa & Resort
Angsana Oasis Spa & Resort
#185 of 659 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Holiday Village
Holiday Village
#163 of 659 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
10.5 mi away
Royal Orchid Resort & Convention Centre
6.5 mi away
Golden Palms Hotel & Spa
Golden Palms Hotel & Spa
#134 of 659 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our Native Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our Native Village

Property: Our Native Village
Address: | Hessarghatta P.O.Box 8802, Bengaluru 560 088, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 804 Specialty Lodging in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Our Native Village 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
India's first and only 100% Eco resort with a fully natural swimming pool and a conference facility. Resort is managed on eco-principles and renewable energy is generated on site. Close to Bangalore, India's IT centre "Our Native Village" is set in serene, rustic surroundings with plenty of fresh air and village ambience. Traditional village games and bullock cart rides, swimming in a natural pond and massages to ease your senses are all offered on this beautiful property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Our Native Village Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing