We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place - Spirit & Passion is missing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Our Native Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Our Native Village
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Place - Spirit & Passion is missing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nice place - neat & Clean , in the midst of nature. Difficult to find a getaway like this in Bangalore. Takes about 90 Mins to reach - roads are good - last 1 Km is mud road. Quaint and serene setting.

Rooms are spacious & large & clean (No TV) - Solar Powered but water is hot.

Food is spartan - healthy - less oil - not spicy ( which is good) - no curd or milk products served. We had to request the manager for milk for the Kids - and they did oblige as an exception.

Nice place to hang around for a day - no activities other than a Bullock cart Ride

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vak1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    120
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
169
53
6
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Level Contributor
164 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

We wanted a weekend break close to Bangalore.So, we decided to stay overnt at Our native village which is abt an hr's drive from Bangalore,very close to Nrityagram/Taj kuteeram.The route is nice,the roads are decent for the most part.The last stretch is called -the savannah-has a few mtrs of grasslands.They shld have a sign at the very end,since we took the wrong fork,turning rt instead of left.The staff were very welcoming.The whole place looks quaint-a lot of greenery.There are 24 rooms in all-we had a nice double room ,they are furnished with lovely wall paintings-worli, madhubani etc.. clean and simple rooms with no tv/wireless,only intercom.Balconies are nice ,but since railings are low,kids need to be watched over.Bathrooms are clean with basic organic toiletries.We loved the books provided in our room.Nice touch.There are dogs,kittens ,hens,geese,ducks,rabbits in the resort freely moving about,but quite harmless and unintrusive.The staff were splendid entertaining our boys with kite flying,cricket,catapulting,spinning tops etc.We also enjoyed visiting their organic farm where they cultivate papaya,tomatoes,bittergourd,sapota etc.My hubby and older son enjoyed their ecofriendly pool,which they said was clean (though they had some frogs and insects for company)The rooms were insect free since they are smoked periodically with neem/sambrani.They do have a spa for massages which we didn't try out.We enjoyed a bullock cart ride and a bonfire .Other activities include biking around the woods and trekking/bird watching which we didn't have time for.Of course,the resort claims the best activity is to do nothing (which I did a lot of and found relaxing:))Coming to the food,it is interesting .The concept is vegan -no milk/cheese/curd/butter.They allowed the boys to have milk.But they substitute peanut butter curd for curd,coconut milk for milk, jaggery for sugar,tofu for panneer.Unpolished red rice is used in idlis and dosas/idiyappam.Ragi is used also.So,our kids found it hard,though we liked it.It would be nice to have organic food without the vegan concept.I love curd and milk,so my belly started reacting with all the nut overload.I did suggest to the staff to have organic vegetarian food instead of strict vegan,so that longer stays are possible.Overall, a fabulous eco friendly experience.Very hospitable unintrusive staff,so anyone looking for a weekend of peace can find it here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rampriya2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kodaikanal, India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

From the outset the resort holds its promise of being green, clean, vegan-friendly and offering the most relaxed atmosphere for healing and recharging oneself!
Extremely friendly staff add that special touch. The place is thoughtfully designed and much care has been taken to adding all the eco and sustainable options to this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wingsnwheels86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Its bout 2 hrs drive to this place with the last 20 minutes on a trail ..had gone with friends and taken up 2 rooms ....from the moment we entered these guys were always smiling and eager to assist. The rooms were nice ....would like to have my room like that. True to the name it was nature friendly in all aspects. Food was a big plus ....different types of meals were presented in the 2 days that we were there. Met the owner as well when she was there ....she was taking personal inerest in seeing how r things moving in her kitchen ....quite sure that added to the food we ate. Stuff to do for kids is also there and my nephew went beserk trying to fly a kite ...nice place. Views from balcony can be looked at as it was just an open ground mine faced.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aboozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Ask for a break and you may get it.Ask for a blast and you may get it. But this is one place where you go for an experience and you will get it ( which is rarely the case). The place is very beautiful. This is not so far from the city yet, the only sounds you hear are that made by their farm animals. Stayed there for two days but longed to stay more. The food was really good and very healthy. The staff was very warm. I could not end this without mentioning about their main chef Ambika.Felt really nice talking to her. Also Sudarshan and couple of help staff ( Don't know their names) were so nice to us, sharing their experiences in the resort.

The place was very good, no doubts about that. Its just that i felt it was priced a bit on the higher side.

Bharath

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bharath_chakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

We had stayed in ONV in jan and went back last week for a 5 night stay. Its one of the most memorable holidays which we both have ever taken. The place is a beauty and is filled with positivity.
One has to stay to understand the place. The food was amazing though it was satwik food.
After a couple of days stay we were calling the staff by their names.
This place is a gift .

Do visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikhil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

I came here for an entrepreneurial networking-plus-workshop event over a weekend. The place and its facilities are exactly what the management describes: eco-friendly! For some reasons, when I checked in, there was some plastic bags, paper, and an empty underwear box lying on the floor and the table in my room, although the double beds appeared to have been made. However, the surrounding rural landscape is amazingly green, the air so clean and the atmosphere wonderfully tranquil. It was a pleasant surprise to know such a well-maintained and eco-friendly place could be found in rural India. Road signs to the resort are often tiny and can be easily missed, so pay extra attention if you drive there. Note that it is very close to the famous dance village Nrityagram.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngnfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
10.3 mi away
Clarks Exotica Resort & Spa
Clarks Exotica Resort & Spa
#45 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Windflower Prakruthi Bangalore
7.0 mi away
Angsana Oasis Spa & Resort
Angsana Oasis Spa & Resort
#192 of 649 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Holiday Village
Holiday Village
#167 of 649 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Resort & Convention Centre
7.1 mi away
Golden Palms Hotel & Spa
Golden Palms Hotel & Spa
#126 of 649 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our Native Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our Native Village

Property: Our Native Village
Address: | Hessarghatta P.O.Box 8802, Bengaluru 560 088, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 795 Specialty Lodging in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Our Native Village 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
India's first and only 100% Eco resort with a fully natural swimming pool and a conference facility. Resort is managed on eco-principles and renewable energy is generated on site. Close to Bangalore, India's IT centre "Our Native Village" is set in serene, rustic surroundings with plenty of fresh air and village ambience. Traditional village games and bullock cart rides, swimming in a natural pond and massages to ease your senses are all offered on this beautiful property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Our Native Village Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing