We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bangalore's Best Kept Secret”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Terrace Gardens Guest House
Ranked #15 of 553 Bengaluru B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Bangalore's Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Terrace Gardens Guest House is a wonderful B&B. We stayed here for 8 nights. We had a great time. The environment is very homely. The staff makes you feel at home. They are very accomodative and supportive. Our experience exceeded all our expectations of a B&B. We would rate it a 5-star. Next time we are in Bangalore, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ehsan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terracegardens, Owner at Terrace Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review.
Reviews such as yours gives us the impetus to keep bettering ourselves in every which way we can. Thank you once again and look forward to your next stay with us.
Warm regards from,
All at Terrace Gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    44
    14
    2
    6
See reviews for
25
26
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lille, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights at Terrace Gardens in the main building. The main asset of this place is definitely its charm and its quietness, despite its very central location, which is another advantage. We enjoyed to sit at breakfast or during the day on the lovely terrace. Another good point is the home made breakfast and the possibility to have food there, or to bring your own food from outside.
We booked a standard room and were upgraded to an executive. The room was clean and had some charm. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was big. However, we imagined a bigger room since it was an executive. Though nice, the room could also deserve a light refreshment. Last thing, though executive, the bedroom didnt have amenities we could expect, such as a fridge for the mini bar (drinks were on a table so were warm) or an iron.
The staff was kind and helpful, however, service could be improved in a few ways. First, the staff doing the room everyday didnt replace automatically the bathroom items when one was used, such as toilet paper or soaps. Second, we experienced twice some mistake with the minibar checking, and were asked to pay for water we didnt use. Last but not least, we were told while checking in that the hotel didnt accept credit card, though the website was saying the contrary. Happily my husband, who is Indian, owned an indian debit card, but it is a very bad surprise for international travelers.
Overall a good place to stay for a few days to enjoy Bangalore and to have a good rest.


  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fbaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terracegardens, Owner at Terrace Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review and feedback.We are happy that over all your stay was a pleasant one in Bangalore and we look forward to your next visit
I have personally seen that your issues regarding replacements of toileteries etc is being managed properly by housekeeping staff . Regarding credit card acceptance we accept all Visa Master and Amex cards at terrace Gardens. In some cases such as yours we have faced problems if it is an international debit card which does not get approved due to some issues with the bank.
Thank you again .
With warm Regards,
Proprietor.
Terrace Gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed at one of the three suites available at the Guesthouse. Very comfortable and equipped with not luxurious, yet reasonable amenities. The pros include extremely friendly team - really an asset, from the owner to the doorkeeper - and good prices; it's really valuable money. Nice breakfast; handy laundry service.
The cons would include a complicated wifi access that demands a local cell phone to be installed - the owners and employees were always ready to help, but yet it's uncomfortable to ask for someone's cell phone number to receive a SMS with the password. Nevertheless, speed and signal were good and the service was included. In one day there was lack of water in my room, but checking with other guests proved it was a punctual problem, quickly solved.
I'd definitely recommend Terrace Gardens, and indeed have already booked it for a future trip scheduled to Bangalore again.

Room Tip: Suites are very spacious, but I've booked a regular room for next time in Bangalore. Has everyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renato S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terracegardens, Owner at Terrace Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Mr Renato,
Thank you very much for your very kind review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to your next visit.
Warmest regards,
Mrs Shankar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Terrace Gardens has been a haven in Bangalore, located in the heart of the city yet removed from the hustle and bustle of the busy city streets. Located in a green neighbourhood, the serenity of the impeccably maintained BnB surrounds you in a therapeutic cocoon of luxurious gardens. The lady of the house, the proprietor Ms. Kausalya K. (and the entire family) adds her(their) personal touch to the experience of the guests, which is very different from the commercial non-personal hotel/guest house set-up.

The breakfast on the terrace (in the heart of a garden), with a live counter dishing out authentic South Indian as well as Western menu options is a fantastic kick-start to any day. The staff is extremely helpful. The room and the service is spot on in terms of hospitality, making our stay super comfortable and relaxing.

We felt we were in a home away from home, in a retreat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dithi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terracegardens, Owner at Terrace Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Dithi,
Just wanted to thank you for your very kind review. We thoroughly enjoyed your visit this time also and look forward to your next visit.
Best from all at Terrace gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in the 'annexe' part of the guest house.
Gentlemen at check in was very professional but could've benefited from being a bit friendlier. The guy that showed us to our room, and helped us out a few times during our stay, was a bit nicer!
Room was clean and plenty big enough for two friends. The whole place felt very homely, we had breakfast one morning on the terrace of the guest house which was fantastic and so relaxing!
Great value for money as you get a super breakfast too.
The location is great and you can walk to most parts of the city from here, a rickshaw to the train station is about 1/2 hour - but mainly due to awful traffic!!

We did have one issue upon checkout, we were told to pay more money for taxes, but as we were in such a rush and leaving very early to catch a train, we didn't have time to check this so ended up paying. As it turned out we had already paid this in our deposit and when I emailed them to tell them they were very efficient in refunding my card.
We are grateful for this, but again the manager at the time had no sense of urgency in helping us out and was far from friendly.
Overall however it was a great stay and I would recommend this to people who want a few days in a hotel close to the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoKP84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

The establishment had a very friendly, kind and homely atmoshere. It concerns both the kitchen and accommodation. It was clean and confortable.The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I really felt being a part of a loving family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dezider_stefunko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Centrally located, beautiful and a very cozy environment. The service was fantastic, lovely room with a garden view, clean modern bathroom, fresh linen/comfortable bed, delicious breakfast served in the garden and an amazing "hostess with the mostess"! In a nutshell, a very HAPPY place to be. Definitely going back. 5 stars all the way!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheDivster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
juSTa Off MG Road, Bangalore
juSTa Off MG Road, Bangalore
#50 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Richmond Town
My Fortune Bengaluru
My Fortune Bengaluru
#19 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
juSTa MG Road, Bangalore
juSTa MG Road, Bangalore
#55 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Trinity Suites
#8 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Casa Cottage
#63 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Gardens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Gardens Guest House

Property: Terrace Gardens Guest House
Address: No 15 Terrace Gardens Guest House Brunton Cross Road, Bengaluru 560025, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Gardens was established in the year 1996 as Bangalore's first and only Bed & Breakfast. Situated in the heart of the city, it was started with a view to provide quality accommodation with a homely atmosphere. We have also been featured in one of the Japanese travel guides and the Lonely Planet for our service, Cleanliness, Location & value for money accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Terrace Gardens Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Gardens Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing