We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A boutique ashram with kind and dedicated staff in peaceful settings. Delicious Vegetarian food. Serious Yoga.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shreyas Yoga Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2011

If I could give a 6 stars rating to the staff at Shreyas, I would. The service is a truly personalized one. The location is extremely quiet and peaceful. The vegetarian cuisine was delicious (for a non-vegetarian like me) and I was not at all surprised to learn that the retreat received the prestigious "Relais & Chateaux" rating!

One has to be serious about yoga and be open to meditation to fully take advantage of what Shreyas has to offer. The "wellness consultation" at the beginning of the stay might not be very thorough, but the yoga teachers were excellent. Both the group and individual lessons were excellent. The meditation classes were eye-opening. Again, thanks to excellent and knowledgeable staff.

I lost my suitcase in Dubai airport on the way to the retreat and the staff went out of their way to help me get comfortable in the meantime. They offered to take me to the village nearby for shopping, followed-up with the airline on my behalf, and when the suitcase finally arrived, arranged for transportation to Bangalore Airport and back free of charge.

I have to agree with other comments about the rooms (cottage garden, in my case) needing a slight touch-up to really live up to their 5 stars "luxury" standing (and the 5 stars price tag!). The same would apply to the spa, which, in my opinion, does not meet the 5 stars rating. But again, the kindness of the staff, coupled with the soothing ambiance, really makes up for these small shortcomings. The setting is lovely - nice lush and fragrant gardens are the perfect backdrop for a "soul retreat".

I hope that the retreat will not change in its essence. It offered the peace and quiet I really needed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NoMaDia9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
There are newer reviews for Shreyas Yoga Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 289 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2011

The attention to detail in order to make your stay as pleasurable as possible is second to none. All the staff offer are wonderful , discreet & polite service.
The garden cottages have tent-like roofs & semi outside bathrooms, & are furnished with all you need for a very comfortable stay.
The beautiful grounds add to the peace & tranquility. The on-site organic farm plays a major part when the chef plans the daily menus producing delicious food.
If you are looking for a natural, unspoilt wellness escape with no sound of mobile phones, MP3 players or signs of laptops go to Shreyas.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophia2467676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Mostly everything about Shreyas - the atmosphere,the surroundings, the service, the food, the staff, the yoga, the spa, the personalised attention - was perfect (the rooms and furnishings may soon need a retouch but as it stands, its great). I loved it. No better way to end the year, i am convinced. Its not for everyone though. You have to be prepared for the quiet and the solitude, the vegetarian cuisine, the dry (no alcohol) environment, and be committed to putting some effort into the yoga and meditation sessions. If quiet and relaxation is what you are looking for, this is the place for you - alone or with a partner (but do spend some time alone if you can). Nothing i can say will justify the beauty and calmness that is the essence of Shreyas except to say thanks to all those associaetd with it for making my imagined perfect vacation a reality! I very much hope that you dont advertise the place too much as part of its charm is its exclusivity!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S2008051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We stumbled upon Shreyas while looking for a relaxing break away from the madness of Bombay. This amazing retreat tucked away at the outskirts of Bangalore was quite a find! We had a blissful 4 nights and 3 days, having opted for their Yoga Retreat package. This included everything from yoga lessons, meditation lessons, a massage, and meals! And don't worry about forgetting everything you learn at this amazing yoga retreat, they provide a personalized yoga book and meditation CD on check out. Not only that, they also surprise you with a rose, a bottle of mineral water, and homemade, healthy cookies!

Shreyas is so thoughtful that you can pack light and be assured all your basic needs will be taken care of... they provide bathrobes and slippers, towels and toiletries, and even books and DVDs. Their home theater is awesome as are their yoga lessons and meditation sessions! They have their own garden where they grow fruit, veggies, and even rice organically and that's mostly what's served to you in their dining hall. The place is completely vegetarian and doesn't permit alcohol, so it's ideal for people trying to detox! I am a vegetarian so I loved the food, but even if you're not, you're sure to enjoy their gourmet meals, be it breakfast, lunch or dinner. And don't be surprised if you buy their cookbook just so can recreate the culinary magic back home!

Shreyas has yoga lessons, meditation sessions, a home theater, a library, a steam room, a spa, a gym, a pool, and a jacuzzi... everything you could ask for and more! You can even jog along their track that winds through the lovely resort and take a tour of their organic garden. While the cottages (12 in all) have Wi-Fi, they don't have TVs or provide newspapers to your cottage, but that isn't something you'll miss in the midst of everything else going on there.

What makes Shreyas really stand apart is the staff! Everyone is awesome, from the guys in the dining room, to the yoga and meditation instructors, from the doctors to the guys who help you in the home theater, to the guys at the office and the ladies who handle the spa. There's noone who will make you feel like you're being a pest, they're always smiling and always willing to help! It's a serene beautiful place and the people who work there just make it that much more delightful with their amazing attitude towards work, towards the guests, and towards life.

If you opt for a yoga or wellness package, you'll be in store for a doctor's consultation to determine your lifestyle and fitness, personalized yoga and meditation sessions, and even a say on the kind of food you'd like. The chefs are amazing and are on par with the chefs of some of Bombay's best restaurants! The yoga instructors are amazing and pay attention to detail. The massage therapists are so gentle and amazing at what they do that your tension will just melt away! And the rest of the staff is just always smiling and always willing to help. The Shreyas experience is a must-have experience for everyone, young or old!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank radcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

This time we just wanted to spend some time away from the busy city. Shreyas, always provides us the opportunity for some time to reflect and charge back, to get away from it all and appreciate the peaceful surrounding and a balanced ecological environment.

Last time it was the excellent yoga sessions and instructors that helped us and learn more. Never disappointed and we will be back again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManMeh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

If you every need some time out from life or to rebalance yourself a bit, this is the place to go. A week at Shreyas will leave you feeling completely rejuvenated. The food is absolutely delicious, and the atmosphere is incredibly special - but what really sets it apart from other hotels is that the majority of the staff have worked there for a long time and there is a real sense of community. The first two times I went with a friend, but this last trip I took my two teenage daughters, and it is now up there as their favourite place to stay too!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Shreyas Retreat is a rare place and one with utter integrity. The place itself is a blissful retreat amid a coconut grove and 25 acres. The garden tents are gorgeous and the team of staff are charming and thoughtful and provide an amazing service. Blink and your room has been tidied and your slippers turned in the right direction. I began to think that there were fairies here, working their magic, as the service so discreet. Yoga beginners will be nudged at their own pace and in no way feel out of place. The food is simply sublime.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 665 in Bengaluru
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Angsana Oasis Spa & Resort
#191 of 665 in Bengaluru
419 reviews
The Taj West End
#16 of 665 in Bengaluru
1,584 reviews
Golden Palms Hotel & Spa
#130 of 665 in Bengaluru
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shreyas Yoga Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shreyas Yoga Retreat

Address: Gollahalli Gate Nelamangala, Bengaluru 562123, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 824 Specialty Lodging in Bengaluru
Price Range: $359 - $583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shreyas Yoga Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 25-acre luxury Yoga retreat on the outskirts of Bangalore in South India. Shreyas is a member of Relais & Chateaux, a collection of the finest hotels worldwide. Rated as one of the finest Yoga retreats in the world, Shreyas is an exclusive boutique property that caters to a maximum of 25 guests in a luxurious and serene environment. Shreyas offers Yoga & meditation sessions, Gourmet organic vegetarian cuisine, Nature farming, Community service and Voluntourism, Ayurveda & Spa treatments, cooking classes and village tours and various packages like Wellness for the Soul, Yoga Retreat, Ayurvedic rejuvenation, Weight Management, Silent Retreat, Culinary Experiences package, etc round the year. We aim to demonstrate that Yoga can be learnt and practiced by all, irrespective of age, health and faith. Guests of all levels of experience from beginner to advanced are welcome at Shreyas, and yoga classes are customized to suit their requirements. Hatha and Ashtanga Yoga are practiced at Shreyas.Shreyas offers many activities for fitness, rejuvenation, relaxation or simply laying back and recharging their batteries away from the stresses of daily life. Our massage center offers expert Balinese, Thai and Swedish massages, body scrubs, aromatherapy and more. Guests can enjoy a leisurely swim in the infinity pool or lounge in the deck chairs with a book from our extensive library. A gymnasium and a 3-kilometer jogging trail await guests wanting to stretch and tone their muscles, and cricket enthusiasts can head for the nets where a professional bowling machine will test their batting skills. Enjoy a relaxing soak in the Jacuzzi or the invigorating steam room. And for movie buffs, there are over 500 movies in the Home Theatre for your viewing pleasure. Sound meditation and chanting classes are also available. Guests are also welcome to connect with nature and try their hand a farming in our sprawling nursery and vegetable gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Shreyas Yoga Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shreyas Yoga Retreat Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing