We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful Heritage Space”
Review of Jayamahal Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jayamahal Palace
Ranked #317 of 854 Specialty Lodging in Bengaluru
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Stayed here for a few days part of my wedding party and the what strikes you immediately about the place is the charming if small palace that radiates a very Victorian feel, and the manicured gardens in the surroundings and the great outdoor restaurant really goes a long way into ensuring a true experience of royalty.

Stayed in the Peacock Suite in the main Palace, and I liked the fact that it had a tinge of groundedness despite it's apparent grandeur. Beds can be a little harder than you'd like, and maybe some parts of the hotel might need some more attention and mending but overall, being in a place like that surrounded by greenery on all sides really pushes away any form of stress and let's you soak in Bangalore for the beautiful weather city that is. With Ample Balconies and Courtyards all around it's a great place to even take a leisurely walk around with.

The Cantonment railway station is pretty much walkable distance from this place and 1km away even from the farthest gate. Located in close proximity with great food and shopping and markets around the area, and yet manages to be a peaceful oasis at the end of the day!

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbafna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 76 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2010

I LOVED this hotel! It's got a great pool, very inexpensive, lots and lots of acres for children to play in. Has a lot of ambiance and way off the road so you don't hear traffic. We were In India for an adoption and the staff here completely spoiled us. The food was excellent and the people just went out of their way to help us. We can't recommend it highly enough!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank one4all1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Hotel is in 20 acres, contains some beautiful trees and offers tranquility. Can even hear calls to prayer as well as trains coming and going since the train station is just a couple of hundred yards away. Slightly shabby in appearance the hotel could stand a coat of paint.

We had a room measuring about 6x9 metres with a bed the size of two doubles next to each other. This bed, however, was covered by a single matress and a single sheet. Situated on the third floor at the top of the stairs, getting to and from the room offered a bit of welcome exercise as there is no lift. The room has double doors with steps leading to a large terrace complete with table and a couple of chairs. There are also steps leading down to a bathroom: tub with shower over, 3 drains in the floor, plenty of space.

There are other rooms in the hotel that are smaller than this one with none of the charm or character.

Breakfasts were adequate. Service was so-so to very good. One morning I had to ask three times for tea. One afternoon four of us were at a table in the bar/restaurant area and we ordered tea for four. It took twenty minutes to arrive and turned out to be coffee. We told the waiter and he insisted it was tea. The issue was not addressed until after another fifteen minutes I asked what he wanted to do about the matter and by then he thought he might find us some tea but I told him we were tired of waiting. I told him we were not paying for something we didn't order and we left.

Dinners were good and so too was the service. During the six nights of our stay we must have had two dinners in the hotel.

But perhaps the worst service issue happened with the man managing the front desk. We had a flight to catch at 0630 so ordered a taxi for 0430. He assured me the night before that the taxi would be there at 0430. It eventually showed up at 0445 with no discernable working seat belts in the back seat. We got to the airport at 0525 and were lucky the plane wasn't very full.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buddingtonfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

The old building of the Jayamahal Palace hotel is a picturesque from the outside. The hotel is set back from the road on extensive grounds. My room was in the annex and the room was a very average hotel room . The hot water was not working in the bathroom . The room was gloomy with only one small window which looked out on a construction sire with piles of dirt and rubble.This was a disappointment as I picked the hotel because of its gardens. The hotel seems focused on its catering business. The lawn was roped off in preparation for an event. Breakfast was served in a sort of tent with a blue tarp for the roof. It looked like they ordinarily had a buffet breakfast setup but it was not being used. The service was extremely slow and the selection of breakfast food was meagre.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidusaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

The over all stay at his hotel was excellent, staff very helpful, rooms were a bit dated but clean a good size. but the stand out service was the food served from the kitchen, just Delicious. well worth a stay, the compound removes you from the craziness of Bangalore streets.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallybigfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Choose definitly the Royal Suite. Golden bathroom and the most beautiful terrace on the wonderful park. The place is a real Bird Sanctuary!

Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank ArunaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We stayed here twice during our trip to Inida, when we first arrived and just before we left. We selected Jayamahal as it seemed an ideal place to crash out after/before a long air journey - and we weren't disappointed. The building itself is a charming old mansion and its surrounding gardens are beautiful. It is a haven of peace in the centre of a busy city. Food was wonderful, we ate snacks in the bar, meals in the restaurant and a barbecue by the swimming pool. This latter is ideal for lazing around during the day as well, never too crowded, large enough to swim a few lengths in clear blue water or just to cool off if the sun becomes a little too hot. Service everywhere in the hotel was exceptional, reception couldn't do too much to help us, arranging transport as required and even recommending the best places to shop and working out an itinerary for us.
The only reason that I can't rate this hotel as totally excellent is that the first room we stayed in was in need of a little redecoration, although it was spotlessly clean. The second time we stayed the room was excellent. But overall, if you want a relaxing base in Bangalore, this must surely be your choice.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josephineump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
2.4 mi away
The Signature Inn
The Signature Inn
#126 of 681 in Bengaluru
169 reviews
9.7 mi away
Holiday Village
Holiday Village
#162 of 681 in Bengaluru
161 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Elanza Hotel
The Elanza Hotel
#59 of 681 in Bengaluru
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Treebo Orchard Suites
Treebo Orchard Suites
#6 of 854 in Bengaluru
192 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Bangalore Hotel at Brigade Gateway
14.3 mi away
The Windflower Prakruthi Bangalore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jayamahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jayamahal Palace

Address: 1 Jayamahal Road behind the containment railway station | Behind the Containment Railway Station, Bengaluru 560046, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 854 Specialty Lodging in Bengaluru
Price Range: $41 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jayamahal Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jayamahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jayamahal Palace Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing