We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chancery Pavilion
Ranked #84 of 665 Hotels in Bengaluru
Reviewed June 17, 2007

The Chancery Pavilion exceeded my expectations as to the services available at this latest of 5 * properties in Bangalore - priced reasonably with all the amenities that one would want - it is also close to the MG Road/ Brigade road area where all the restaurants and shopping malls are
regards
Richard

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank richardsidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (832)
There are newer reviews for The Chancery Pavilion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

791 - 797 of 834 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2007

I've stayed here twice now on business and would recommend the hotel as a good value, friendly business option. Not as glitzy as the Taj or Oberoi, but good 4* quality.
Highs:
- the fresh home-made cookies and chocolates in the room, great for a midnight feast when you have had enough of curry.
- the friendly staff, willing to fix any issue (e.g. the safe in my room went haywire in the middle of the night, they had 3 engineers in my room within 20 minutes and removed it promptly). Also good turnaround on ironing, laundry etc when in a rush
- the iron and ironing board in the room, very useful

Lows:
- piped music in the corridors, I found this quite intrusive and has to ask for it to be turned off every evening as it could be heard in the room (that said, they always turned it off promptly when asked)
- smallish rooms - the standard rooms are not huge although perfectly adequate
- noise, one night there was a party by the pool with loud music until about midnight.

All in all I find this a good base when I am in Bangalore and for the price (about $130 a night at the moment) it is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Possom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2007

We stayed in the Chancery Pavillion for two days over the Christmas break. The hotel was practically empty which was good for us. The staff were on the whole always courteous (one girl at reception refused to let us make a quick local call). The rooms were large and had all amenities that we got in 5 star hotels that we had recently stayed including chocolates in the room. There was an iron in the room which is an unsual. We had a room that was facing the pool which was nice. There was building works going on & we got a personal letter from Management apologising about this when we checked in - but for the time when it mattered for us ie: after 9.00pm it was no problem.

The breakfasts were the best we have experienced in any hotels we have stayed. There was a huge choice of foods and the staff were very helpful.

As mentioned we were there off-peak. They mentioned that from mid Jan they were booked out - so we can not comment on how things would have been when hotel was busy.

We got a good deal on the internet so all in all a good experience in a brand new "5 star" hotel in very expensive Bangalore. A bit far from the airport but close to MG road etc.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MayaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2006

This is a brand new hotel and has great potential. Like other reviewers I would agree that it is more like a good 4 star than a five star hotel.

My review:

Staff - very friendly and welcoming - liked the flexible check-in and check-out times which is great when most european flights land in the middle of the night.

Rooms - modern and very functional. I personally liked the rooms, I had a couple of minor issues with my room in particular and these were fixed within 24 hours. What I would expect of any 4 star hotel. My word of warning is avoid rooms on the high floors because the hotel is still under going building work and I think floors 6-9 are still being fitted out which means the 5th floor gets alot of noise - even at weekends.

Lobby Bar - quiet and comfortable while waiting for colleages. Waiter was a little pushing in trying to sell you additional drinks.

Restaurants - this hotel has two. The larger of the two (where breakfast is served) is terrible and should be avoided at all costs. The smaller of the two has a fantastic choice of dishes and the food was great. Service here was also very good.

Main Bar (down stairs) - This bar is either closed for a private function or dead and I mean dead. It is shame because it would be quite nice and the bar staff are fantastic.

Room service - never tried it so can't comment.

Gym - not finished when I was there

In summary - this hotel has a few problems to address but should be a good choice when these are fixed.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, TX
14
Reviewed June 27, 2006

Reasonably priced but not 5-star as they claim. Food is very diverse and good quality. Rooms are acceptable but the bathrooms are too small and the beds are VERY hard. The staff is extremely friendly and I would rate the service as exceptional. Still, it's no Leela.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2006

I recently stayed at the Chancery Pavilion & was expecting the worse. Fortunately, the bad reviews I'd seen prior to my trip were in relation to The Chancery. The Chancery Pavilion is a new 5* hotel recently opened in April 06.

The location was good - not far from MG Road & the main centre etc. All the staff were very friendly & courteous. In some ways the staff perhaps were trying to hard to impress & the hotel was always requesting completion of surveys, etc. However, I was more than happy to provide a good review.

The rooms were modern & functional with a sofa for some extra room. There was only one restaurant open in the hotel but it had a good choice for breakfast (included in the rate) & evening meal. Room service was also quick.

My only concern was that most of the staff were seeking tips for the slightest action. For example, I requested some shampoo for my room as it had not been replaced - the member of staff who brought me 2 bottles wanted a tip!

However, I recommend this hotel as a good alternative to the other main hotels in Bangalore on the basis that it is NEW/modern.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Bob666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank Hugo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChanceryHotels, General Manager at The Chancery Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Richmond Town
The Chancery
The Chancery
#177 of 665 in Bengaluru
301 reviews
The Pride Hotel
#46 of 665 in Bengaluru
763 reviews
The Elanza Hotel
#58 of 665 in Bengaluru
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Bengaluru City Centre
#43 of 665 in Bengaluru
562 reviews
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#9 of 665 in Bengaluru
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chancery Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chancery Pavilion

Address: 135 Residency Road, Bengaluru 560025, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#59 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
#92 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range: $70 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chancery Pavilion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chancery Pavilion is a 225 room, 5-star hotel set on an elevation amidst the heart of Bangalore's central business district on Residency Road. With its close proximity to key places of interest, The Chancery Pavilion is the perfect destination for business travelers, tourists, medical visits and even quick getaways. With state-of-the-art banquet facilities spread over 20,000 sq. ft. this hotel is the ideal place to facilitate corporate workshops, wedding receptions or even informal gatherings. Signature restaurants offer the finest food and beverage experience serving Indian and global delicacies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chancery Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chancery Pavillion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing